We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnylea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnylea Resort
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our stay here was fantastic perfect spot right on the water. Cottages are clean and cozy great place for families to stay. Kids enjoyed all the amenities from the pool to the boats to the giant sandbox and playset. Community fire pit was a great idea as you get to know those staying there as well. We stayed in cottage 2 which was a 2 bedroom and perfect spot lakeview right outside the front window. Kids had a blast and didn't want to leave and neither did we. We also met the owners Hap and Shirl and shared a few drinks with them what a great couple we really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend to anyone considering visiting the area.

Thanks again
Rob and Cathy

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnylea, Owner at Sunnylea Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks Cathy for the great review. Always happy to know our guests enjoyed their stay and that we were accommodating to them and made their visit more enjoyable. Your family was well liked by us as well. We look forward to your return visit next year.. Shirley and Hap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great place to stay had the best time and was treated like Family every one should try this resort the owners are the best. Fishing was good even at this time of year lots of places to go boating Cottage had every thing you would need Love this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnylea, Owner at Sunnylea Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the fishing is always great on our lake. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our stay at sunnylea was a great time , fishing was good , rented one of there boats that was of great running order, at sunnylea you can be as relaxed as you want or be involved with many activities included in your stay.. The owners here at sunnylea are very personable and willing to make your stay as good as possible ! Cottages here at sunnylea are very clean and rustic and affordable , hope to make a yearly vacation spot !! S Morton :))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shandamorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnylea, Owner at Sunnylea Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks S Morton, so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us and feeling welcome and enjoyed the cottage. We try to make everyone feel like they are at home and can relax at the pool or in their sun chair at your cottage and find activities to make their stay memorable. We are waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a wonderful place, with great people surrounding you! The owners were very friendly and helpful. The other guests at the resort were very sociable and nice to be around. We spent the daytime around the nice clean pool, and nights at the warm fire, our stay was well enjoyed. We especially liked the full size BBQ's that were set up for our use! Our cottage was very clean and we loved the rustic feel. The yard and waterfront were very well maintained! Only problem we encountered was that we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The cottages are very clean and comfortable. The grounds are well taken care of. The owners are wonderful people and care about the resort. There was lots to do with the pool, paddle boat, row boat and boat rental. The bonfire is a wonderful way to end the day! We had a lot of fun this week and hated to come home and back to reality! Thanks Shirley and Hab, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnylea, Owner at Sunnylea Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Shelly and Steve So glad you had a great week here - you were awsome guests as well and we enjoyed having you stay at our little piece of heaven. Thanks you for the nice review - we appreciate it very much. Looking forward to seeing you again next year and thank you as well for referring your friends who have also re-booked for next year. Shirley and Hap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great place for everyone to have fun and prices are great too. Owners are friendly and clean grounds pool very nice too. Canoe are free to use and a big sandbox for kids and playground. They have boats to rent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnylea, Owner at Sunnylea Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Looked like you had a great time at Sunnylea Resort. We try to provide as many activities as possible so there is something for everyone to enjoy while they are staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This resort has many advantages other housekeeping cottage resorts or single cottages don't have: the grounds are very well maintained and very clean, the cottage that we stayed in was very clean and cozy, and it was pleasant to be there; the resort has extra amenities as a pool - true, small, it doesn't work for laps, but for playing with the kids is fine; the pool area is tastefully done with lounge chairs, flowers, bar plot, thermometer, clock; there are people who clean and maintain the resort hired by the owners; there are a number of interesting things to see and do in the area (they can be accessed from another resort/motel etc); there is a kid's playground, sand box, table tennis, horse shoes.

The obvious disadvantages for me:

- too close to highway 400 - about 500m. I could hear the hum of the highway from my bedroom and had to sleep with window almost closed;
- motor boats leaving and coming or hanging with their motors on by the dock: the smell of gas penetrates around the resort, as well as the noise. If you are looking for a calm place surrounded only by nature, that is not your best bet;
- the beach is small and the water is full of weeds - unswimmable, if you care for that (I do).

- And the Core of the Matter: dealing with Shirley. I did not appreciate the way Shirley does business from the very beginning - she had sent me confirmation for two nights instead of one, for double the price, which she corrected after I called her second time. That was OK. Next, she specifically indicates on her web site and confirmation email, that they prefer payment in cash. In many places like that, when you pay in cash, you can negotiate not being charged tax - the tax is for the government after all, but the government will not know about those cash payments that people prefer because they don't have to declare them as income. Shirley collected all the cash, the price + the tax, and didn't even give us a receipt! Since we were leaving on Monday of a long weekend, and it was likely that there weren't people coming after us, I asked her if we could stay a couple of hours longer past the 11 am check out time. She said she will check and will let us know. I was wondering where she would check, because we were already in the office, and one would expect that any booking information was kept there; but of course I couldn't know for sure. When I called her initially on the phone, she knew right away she had available cottage for the two days/one night I requested, and which number the cottage was. My friend and I decided to go back to the office and at least ask for receit. Shirley wasn't pleased about this, said we cannot use the receipt for tax purposes, and gave us a piece of paper that you and I can print out of our own printers, and wrote the amount we paid on it - no number, no copy for her, basically just a fake piece of paper to shut us up.
She also said after that, she checked and there were other people coming to our cottage after us - so we do need to leave the cottage at 11 am, but we can stay in the resort. We already doubted that, but decided to follow the rules - we were out of the cottage the next day by 11; however none of the cleaning staff rushed into it to clean it and no other people showed up until we left about 12:30...I thought that our request wouldn't cost them anything extra and will make it more convenient for us to use up the morning, have lunch and then leave - it it appears that we had annoyed Shirley with our request for a receipt and she had reciprocated by refusing a simple convenience for us.

I am definitely not going back there - Ontario is huge and there are so many other nice places to stay.

If you mind being charged tax that is obviously pocketed by the owners, and dealing with an unpleasant woman that doesn't seem to care about your impression of the resort, then you'd be better of finding another one of the multitude of choices in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnylea, Owner at Sunnylea Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I am happy to see that this women appreciated our clean resort and amenities. I am not happy that she can assume that we operate our business as she did and post it on a public forum. We do not pocket cash - we are just trying to keep credit card costs down. I did let them stay on the property after check out time - my computer with my schedule is not kept at the front desk so I did not have an immediate response but did let them know within minutes that people were coming in but that they could stay and use the facilities so I do not understand why she assumes I was not being helpful. She should not assume things and post it as fact - I think that is called slander. She did not confront me with her concerns so I had no chance to respond to her to clear up her misunderstandings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Severn
0.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.4 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muskey's Landing
Muskey's Landing
#4 of 4 in Port Severn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnylea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnylea Resort

Property: Sunnylea Resort
Address: 117 Port Severn Rd, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Severn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Port Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnylea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN ALL YEAR - Enjoy the area’s favourite waterfront housekeeping cottages with full kitchens stocked with everything to cook and eat with, gas fireplaces in most cottages, deck, picnic table and barbeque on park-like surroundings with in-ground swimming pool perfect for a relaxing get-a-way. We offer some of the best sport fishing for bass, pike, walleye, huge muskey or pan fish, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, outdoor games, bon fires, lots of relaxing and lots of family fun. Activities include 14' boat rentals, kayak, canoes and paddleboats, beach volleyball, children’s playground with ping pong, basketball, tetherball, lawn games, horseshoes, bon fires, and many near-by attractions including boat cruises, riding stables, ATV Trails, golfing, historical sites, Casino, Wye Marsh Wildlife Centre, Ste. Marie, The Martyr's Shrine, Big Chute Marine Railway, great restaurants and much more. Free WIFI available. Bus service by Ontario Northland.In the winter enjoy ice skating or hockey, try some ice fishing, go snowmobiling from your door, try some snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, horseback riding or dog sledding, there are 2 downhill skiing or snow tubing locations minutes away and Wye Marsh Wildlife Center in Midland which are both great for the kids! So come on up to Muskoka where our friendly staff are here to serve you and make you stay most memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunnylea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnylea Resort Port Severn, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing