We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view into the caldera”
Review of Lava View Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Probolinggo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lava View Lodge
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A basic 2 star hotel perched on a lava uplift in the middle of a former "super volcano" with a wonderful view of the volcano caldera. The rooms are clean and basic. No heat and the nights can get cold on the top of the caldera. No internet. Good multi ethnic restaurant. And did I mention the view. But from what I saw the Lava View is as good as it gets way up there. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 504 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is a good choice if you want to see the sunrise at Mt Bromo. The staff has been very efficient and helpful in helping us book a driver from Surabaya and a tour to Bromo. The hotel (not from the room) is overlooking the Mt. Bromo and the view is beautiful. The rooms are basic, but clean. Do not forget to bring warm clothes, our room was a bit cold during the night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This place offer a bird eye view of Mount Bromo, Mount Batok and Mount Semeya. You can catch the sunrise & sunset here. It also offer the nearest route by car or by horse to & from a day tour of Bromo.

As usual, these mountain hotel here does not upkeep their rooms, facilities and cleanliness. Treat it as a night stay over.

The restaurant food is good for both Asian and Western tourist.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank thisisjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After my visit to Cartimor Homestay, this place seemed like 'heaven'.

The room was bigger. It came with simple amenities, toiletries (soap, shampoo, shower cap, toothbrush) and a small tv. I thought the staff were friendly and helpful. The only concern I had was the bathroom which we had problem getting the hot water shower to function well. It was a challenge to turn on the heater, and a greater challenge to adjust the water to the right temperature. It would either be too hot or cold. The restaurant did offer quite a widespread of choices for our dinner. Breakfast was simple but good enough for us.

The place offered a direct view of Mt Bromo which would be the highlight of the place. We were able to catch the beautiful sunset there. If they fix up the bathroom, I wouldn't mind returning .. :P

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank oliviamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The view on the other side of the road is great, but that was the only advantage of this lodge.
The room was spacious but it give an out of date feeling. In the evening there was a lot of yelling outside going on for hours. This combined with the loud (and poor) live music from the restaurant did make earplugs a must. The worst was the light outside by the door. This was shining on the bed.
My evening meal at the restaurant was poor; parts where badly cooked, some parts where cold, parts where leathery and the whole was tasteless. The breakfast was much better.
The reception was closed in the evening. No wifi.
The lodge was overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The only reason for staying here is its location and breathtaking view of Mt Bromo.

Booked via phone, which we found here: http://globaladventureindonesia.com/lava-view-lodge
Had trouble getting thru the line and they didnt even ask for credit card details. We reached there at 9pm, wondering if they actually booked 2 rooms for us. Thank goodness they did. Almost SG$100 per room. Pricey considering the basic room.

Restaurant closes at 10pm. Food - nothing fancy. They didn't inform us there was a complimentary buffet. We had ordered and paid for Soto Ayam..and realised that they were serving the same dish on buffet menu. Should have informed us huh? A way to earn extra $? :p

Do bring along your thick jacket and gloves if you cant stand cold. You can rent jackets and purchase gloves though. Hotel staff will show you how to on the heater. A must know! A room with basic amenities. Definitely not for you to sleep comfortably in cos it will get freezing cold in the late night and early morning.

Jeep to Mt Bromo and the horseride can be booked there. Jeep Rp500,000, horse Rp150,000 per person. Trip to Bromo to view sunrise starts at 3.30am.

For Muslim travellers, there isn't a qibla' sign in the room. But they have a prayer room (Musollah). Ours was just beside it. For morning prayers (since you have to do it at the viewing point), bring along your prayer kit. I just prayed at an empty space. Maybe could ask the food stalls if they have a space.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sumarni05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Location: I chose this lodge only because of its location at the rim of the crater where you can have the best view of the sandsea, Mt. Bromo and Mt. Batok.

Hotel Staff: The Receptionists and the hotel's staff were quite friendly.

Room: The standard superior room was a very basic room with king size bed, blanket, coffee/tea maker, TV, hot/cold shower, clean towels and bedroom slippers.
At night was very cold and the blanket was not thick enough that I had to use the bed cover on top of the blanket. The toilet was quite clean.

Breakfast - buffet breakfast was ok not to many choices.

Room Tip: Choose the room with hot shower as the water is as cold as ice water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benbeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Probolinggo hotels
0.3 mi away
Bromo Permai I
Bromo Permai I
#7 of 13 in Probolinggo
285 reviews
21.1 mi away
Bromo Park Hotel Probolinggo
Bromo Park Hotel Probolinggo
#2 of 13 in Probolinggo
57 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hary's Homestay
Hary's Homestay
#8 of 13 in Probolinggo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Clover Homestay
Clover Homestay
#1 of 13 in Probolinggo
84 reviews
2 mi away
SM Bromo Hotel
SM Bromo Hotel
#6 of 13 in Probolinggo
62 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Tentrem
Hotel Tentrem
#3 of 13 in Probolinggo
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava View Lodge

Address: Cemorolawang, Probolinggo, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Probolinggo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Probolinggo
Hotel Class:2 star — Lava View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Lava View Hotel Probolinggo
Lava View Lodge Java/Probolinggo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing