We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ok!”
Review of Hotel Sion View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sion View
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not ok!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked a tour from Yogyakarta to do the Bromo sunrise. After 13 hours in a bus we arrived at Sion View. It was our only option when we booked. The room was very small, the bed was not clean (I think they don't wash the fake Louis Vuitton blanket that lay there) and we indeed spotted a beetle as well. The shower was cold. You cannot even name it a bathroom because it was a small room with a toilet and shower on the same place, no seperate space for the shower, just above eachother. No toilet flush, only water and a small bucket for flushing. Very noisy, you can hear everything and everyone in the other rooms. It was horrible!! Worst place ever I have spend the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnemiekeDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    10
    13
    70
See reviews for
4
50
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is massively overpriced and extremely poor quality. The breakfast is beyond description. Cold greasy gluggy nasi goreng tasting distinctly stale. When the water did not work for a whole day I requested a discount as the room rate was for a room with hot water. They refused until the found that my friends worked for the tourism department then changed their tune. If you want to se Bromo or attend the wonderful Jazz Gunung festival you would be well advised to seek any hotel but this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andycharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Probolinggo hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wasn't expecting much as it's so remote and you don't come to Bromo for luxury.
But this place is filthy, the room stinks, the beds are dirty and there's nothing redeeming about this place whatsoever.
Spend as little time there as possible, and head down to Yoschi's Hotel for decent food and drinks...this place is disgusting.

Room Tip: None. No good rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we did a tour from Yogyakarta to Bali. When we booked the tour in Yogya, they asked were we wanted to stay and after reading reviews on tripadvisor we choosed to stay at Yoshi's. When we arrived at 9.30 pm they dropped us off at this horrible place and told us that Yoshis was fully booked. Hotel Sion view is the worst hostel/hotel i have stayed at in South East Asia. As told we arrived very late and was hungry but the kitchen was closed and we could not even get a cup of noodles (they could not boil water?!). The room was dirty, full of spiders and we couldn't take a shower because there were almost no water in the pipes. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The only good thing about this place is... um... is there any?....

- Very dirty bed. I had to sleep in my sleeping bag on the bed.
- So noisy! We tried to sleep early to catch the sunrise, but somehow we could even hear our nextdoor neighbor having convesation

well, at least they have warm water. But you need to open the door while showering, since the burner was so close to your head, you can smell the gas pretty strong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akuorangutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We got this hotel as part of a tour package.

It was 6.00pm when we finally reached Sion View guesthouse just a few kilometres away from Mount Bromo. It was pitch dark everywhere with only the flickering lights illuminating the guesthouse. Night is surprisingly long in Indonesia. A typical day with the sun rises at 5.30am and the night falls at 5.45pm does make you wish to just hide at home in the comfort under the shelter.

The guesthouse was empty as we choose to go on a low season to avoid the crowd. Beer was the first thing we ask for and thankfully it wasn't hard to get, even though we are in a Muslim country. It does come to our surprise that the beers were un-chilled and not served with ice. I suppose it is not necessary when it is as cold as 8 degrees celsius. We sat out in the front yard brazing the freezing cold chucking into our beer and with an iphone piping music in the background against the silent night. The full moon brightens up the pitch black sky and we just sat there gazing up and admiring the million of dazzling stars set upon the sky.

I suppose if you manage your expectations, you will find this hotel or guesthouse rather comfortable.

For the record, the room and the shared toilet were clean, bedsheets are neatly tucked in, towels are dry plus the water heater is working.

As the guesthouse uses 'gas' water heater, the fire in the heater will turn off automatically after a few minutes. The trick is to just turn on and off the tap whenever the water turns cold in order to reignite the fire in the water heater. Another way is to filled up a bucket of warm water before shower and use it in order to prevent the hassle of turning on and off the water tap.

I reckon this guesthouse is definitely good enough for a night stay.

Room Tip: If you require anything, just ask politely, the staff there are more than willing to please despite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Danzelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here as part of our Bromo tour. Small basic room, barely enough floor space to put our bags on the floor. No flush toilet. Sink and mirror in the room itself rather than in the bathroom. Hot water in the shower. One thin blanket on the bed, though we asked for another and got it. Towels and toilet paper provided. The included breakfast was white bread with jam, choice of coffee or tea. Not sure, but this seems like the average for this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Probolinggo hotels
21.0 mi away
Bromo Permai I
Bromo Permai I
#7 of 11 in Probolinggo
259 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hary's Homestay
Hary's Homestay
#8 of 11 in Probolinggo
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clover Homestay
Clover Homestay
#1 of 11 in Probolinggo
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
SM Bromo Hotel
SM Bromo Hotel
#3 of 11 in Probolinggo
50 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bromo Sunrise Homestay
Bromo Sunrise Homestay
#4 of 23 in Probolinggo
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ratna
Hotel Ratna
#12 of 23 in Probolinggo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sion View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sion View

Property: Hotel Sion View
Address: Jl. Raya Bromo | Desa Wonokerto-Ngadisari, Sukapura, Probolinggo 68284, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Probolinggo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Probolinggo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sion View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sion View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sion View Java/Probolinggo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing