We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“must visit”

Madakaripura Waterfall
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Probolinggo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“must visit”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

even it will take quite a walk but totally worth it. the local guide is available for 50K rupiah per person also bring the rain coat with you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank proudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    87
    19
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malang, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waterfall of Rainbow”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The waterfall consist of several small waterfall before the main 200 meter high one. If we're lucky, we get to see rainbow from the waterfall. To get to the main waterfall, you must walk around 800 m to a kilometres from the main gate, and crossing the river at least 6 time. The last 200 m, you'll need to rent umbrella or raincoat if you don't want to get wet because we'll walk very close to the waterfall.
It is said that the waterfall is the place of meditation of Gajahmada, the great governor from the era of Majapahit Kingdom.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was the top experience we had in Indonesia after traveling for 1 month. You have to go! We were there at the end of July 2013.
We never got bothered with guides like all the other reviews and it seemed like they hadn't had tourists there in forever because they were just so excited/shocked to see us. We wanted a guide because we weren't sure where to go exactly, and we loved ours. He held my hand the entire time crossing all the rivers and when we went swimming he took tons of pictures of us which we really appreciated. The experience was amazing having the waterfall all to our selves. We swam to the waterfall, climbed up behind it and jumped through it, it was super strong but an amazing experience. IT'S A MUST SEE! So spectacular.

You can check out my blog post about it:
http://brittanyst.blogspot.com/2013/09/surprise-waterfalls.html

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bbwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Pros: We were quite lucky to see rainbow in the waterfall when we were there. My friend said we were quite lucky as he never seen rainbow at the waterfall before this despite a few visit. We went there right after Mount Bromo and we were there quite early before everyone else arrive. You might need a raincoat if you didn't want to get wet. The trail wasn't well maintain and all you need to do is to keep walking until you see the waterfall. You have to make sure that you walked pass the 7 waterfall before you see the 200 meter high waterfall. Just keep walking! :D

Cons: We didn't want a guide initially but he kept following us until the end. The guide asked for Rp100,000 per person but we settled with Rp20,000 per person. They are illegal guide according to the local.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iuhnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Probolinggo, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great sightseeing..............”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

it is a perfect sightseeing. very different from other waterfall. must cross the river several times. walk very careful or you'll got slip. walk under the 'rain'. climb up the cliff. some adventure you'll got there.
the local guide there are very helpful. you must have them and try to negotiate the price.
wear shorts and slippers. bring some changes and put them in your car.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mahdiyunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madakaripura Waterfall also viewed

Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park, East Java
Probolinggo, East Java
 
Probolinggo, East Java
Malang, East Java
 

Been to Madakaripura Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing