We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful Olive barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Olive barn
Beautiful Olive barn.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Beautiful Olive barn
Beautiful Olive barn.
Christmas Cottage
Stunning Christmas cottage next door to Olive barn
Beautiful bluebell woods 20 minutes walk from the cottages.
Relax in this beautiful vintage style bedroom.
Bedroom
Living room
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
On the left The Old Store Barn  & Court Cottage
Blakeney
Five minutes walk into the beautiful country from the cottages.
Dog Friendly ....Stanley ..... Does not like Arthur the pig.
Clana .......... 15 mins from Blakeney
Beautiful wild garlic and bluebells five minutes walk from the cottages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
juliewG21...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great stay!”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just spent the most relaxing week at Olive Barn. The cottage is fabulous with everything you could need, a real home from home. We have 2 large dogs and David was most welcoming and informative on where to go. So many wonderful walks and dog friendly pubs. We look forward to returning!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
1 review
“Great short break”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great base for all the area has to offer. We had a friendly welcome; we'd come knowing what we wanted to do but if not David is a great resource for places to eat and walk. The barn was well-equipped for a short break, comfortable and homely to come back to after a good day of walking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would recommend

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Michelle thank you so much we loved having you you're wonderful dog stay.
Thank you for leaving the cottage so lovely clean and tidy
We look forward to seeing you guys again in the foreseeable future.
Regards
David & AJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevie-Ja...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect little retreat”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Upon arrival, we were pleasently surprised with the privacy and the tranquility of the cottages within this beautiful village complex.
David was on site to greet myself and my two dogs. Felt very welcome minute we stepped into the complex to the minute we left

The little barn was full of charm, with all the homely finishing touches. The fresh flowers and all the little extras made us feel completely relaxed.

The walks are outstanding, within 10 minutes from the cottages.

Myself and my two jack Russell's will definitely be returning!

Thankyou David and Angela, and Stanley the jack Russell for a magnificent, memorable stay!
We can highly recommend olive barn!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Stevie ^ thank you for that wonderful review we look forward to seeing you guys again in 2018
Regards
David & AJ
Stanley x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hola-2002
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One to forget ...”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We made a late booking for a weekend getaway, looking for a dog friendly cottage so we could chill and our dog could relax.

I was a bit shocked when we arrived to find the cottage is in a housing estate behind a village shop. Two big electric gates with what can only be described as a holiday camp sign on them. We entered and parked in the yard and went into the cottage.

A few moments later the owner walked in to the cottage and started going through the rules. It turns out it's a pet friendly cottage for his dog and family not for ours. We were told that the dog can't go upstairs, I understand that, also that you need to go out of the big electric gates and up the lane to find some grass - started to worry me, then he said if the garage doors are open, his dog is in the yard and best not to go out to avoid a confrontation.

Right at this point we looked for the garden, and there isn't one. Basically they have fenced off a bit of the car park and put a table and two chairs on it. If your dog needs a number 2 you have to go out to the lane - great in the middle of the night.

So the cottage is small, feels a bit fake inside, plastic flowers and plastic olive garlands. A very small wall mounted TV, bright orange carpet and then to top it all off a plastic sliding door on the bedroom.

For balance, the shower room is ok.

I rarely make a mistake on my choice of property's and this was my first. We left after 1 night, even though we'd paid for 3. Couldn't bare staying there 1 minute more than we needed to.

The owner refused a refund, so to the owner please use the money and buy some authentic fittings and real flowers so other travellers may benefit.

You may have guessed I wouldn't recommend this place....

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
David Steel from Warwick
That is a very unfair & untrue review
However I have allowed this review to go public!
We can only assume people will look at our outstanding track record,
With this company and others.
By the sounds of things you did not receive the refund you requested and rightfully so.
your delusions of grandeur became apparent not only with ourselves but with the company you booked through.
We are more than certain that people can see right through this !!
Best wishes
David j g mills
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion...
1 review
“Perfect cottage for two”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Olive barn is a really nice cottage in the forest of Dean, perfect for a couple. It is close to many amenities including forest bike trails, a steam railway and wonderful views of the severn estuary from nearby Lydney.
The accomodation has everything needed for a brilliant holiday break. The owner David was very friendly and has a good knowledge of the local area. A good fish and chip shop can be found within easy walking distance in the village, together with an Italian restaurant. A nice pub is also available locally and does themed food evenings.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Thank you guys for the lovely review we hope to see you again in the foreseeable future
David & AJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenwW9...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Olive Barn - Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage was beautiful, a real home from home, and the location was great too. A well stocked shop and Italian restaurant / take-away close by, with a dog-friendly pub just up the road. Olive Barn is the perfect base for exploring the Forest of Dean, with loads of walks and attractions nearby.
I would highly recommend this cottage for a romantic break, where you can do as much or as little as you want, we'll be returning again soon.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Thank you for that lovely review
We would love to welcome you all back in the foreseeable future .
Regards
David & AJ
Stanley the jack Russell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H
1 review
“Olive Barn Forest of Dean”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage was fantastic with some great little touches from the owner to make it feel like home from home. Everything you could think of was there to make our stay perfect.
The village had everything you need for a short break from a well stocked convenience store right next to the cottage to a village pub where we enjoyed a great Sunday roast to one of the best Italian restaurants we have been too which is only a walk across the road from the cottage.
Would highly recommend this cottage for a short break to enjoy a comfortable home and local facilities to the surrounding area where you can walk and walk
We will certainly be returning

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Thanks guys
Hope to see you again in the foreseeable future.
Regards
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing