We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly idyllic stay with terrific hosts”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

View of the cottage from the pond area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage from the pond area
Double bedroom Garden view in the winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
View of the cottage from the pond area
Double bedroom
Garden view in the winter
Dining area in the lounge & through to the kitchen area.
lounge south facing & looking onto the 1 acre of garden.
View of the garden in the spring.
kitchen.
2nd bedroom with 2 single beds.
Garden in spring
Garden in the summer
Garden Summer House
Garden pond in the spring
View of cottage from the garden.
View of cottage from the garden summer house area.
Dining area.
Pond area by the garden summer house.
View of the pond from the top garden.
Spring lambs in the field..
Patio area.
Pond view towards the summer house, middle lawn.
Winter 2018
Middle lawn area looking towards the summer house.
Orchard to the side of the cottage
Buttercups in the field to the side of the garden.
Top lawn area
Lower lawn area.
Baby hedgehogs in the middle garden 2018
Spring lambs in the field nest to the garden.
Ducklings by the pond.
Baby rabbit on the step by the summer house.
Ducks on the millstone in the top garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Xi'an, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A truly idyllic stay with terrific hosts”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My sister and I were looking for a cottage as a base while we visited the Cotswolds, and found this in Orchard Cottages in Gloucestershire. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly face welcoming us, showed us around and had everything ready for our tea upon arrival. The cottages are very clean, in a great location, and Clive and Kaeren are great hosts who are there for anything you could want, with great tips on where to eat and what to see, when asked. They never steered us wrong, but were never intrusive. The place is perfect for a quiet stay and the birds and bunnies are very entertaining. We had a great week and I really hate to leave. I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to have a lovely holiday in the English countryside.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable after a day of hard travelling. Helpful hosts.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Many thanks for your review.
Best wishes Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W
1 review
“Highly recommended - lovely stay with excellent hosts.”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here for three nights with our 12yr and 13 yr olds. Located in the village of Corse, it is remote enough to be peaceful and close enough to Gloucester centre for shops. Clive ensured that we were warmly welcomed and then, crucially, left to settle in and enjoy the clean, cosy, and well-equipped cottage. The gardens are spacious and well maintained and children are encouraged to play with a variety of toys in the summer house. We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.

Highly recommended and we would definitely book again.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
We would love to see you all again one day.
Thank you for the review.
Regards Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peetersfa...
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nine little ducklings..”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A gem found in the Forest of Dean! The warm welcome by our hosts Clive and Kearen, the flowers and the cake made the start of our visit very pleasant. The cottage is very well equipped and set in a lovely garden. The children enjoyed playing in the garden and feeding the little ducks. Corse proved to be a good starting point for various trips. Had a lovely time!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, our hosts.
Liked least: One day of rain (but the sun can't be booked in advance!)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
The ducks now have ducklings of their own !!
Thank you for your review.
Kind Regards Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A fantastic holiday, Orchard cottage was very comfortable, and the grounds very peaceful We loved seeing all the birds especially the ducks; Clive and Karen were delightful hosts and we shall definately try to go back

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
It would be so nice to see you back one day.
Many thanks for your review.
Best wishes Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireC19...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was lovely with such a beautiful garden and really friendly hosts. It is a good base to explore the Cotswolds, Forest of Dean, and the Malverns. The children loved playing in the garden and seeing all of the wildlife coming up to the cottage doors. We would definitely come again.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and wildlife
Liked least: The weather could have been better!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed the garden.
Best wishes Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sol269
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely peaceful setting and very hospitable owners!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've just returned from a 4 night stay in Orchard Cottage and we had a lovely time. The accommodation was spotless, modern, bright and well equipped. The large garden provided hours of entertainment for our two (6 and 8 year) old boys who loved cycling around the large pond. Watching the many different birds, ducks and moor hens was lovely and the owners were perfect hosts! It was also a perfect base for visiting the 'forest of dean' and the many nearby attractions including close proximity to Gloucester. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pond and size of the garden.
Liked least: No black out blinds, skylight very bright in the morning
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Many thanks for your review.
Kind regards Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millstran...
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant location and a beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The bungalow was immaculate and very spacious, it had all you need for a short break. A beautiful dining/lounge area with views to the pond. Very enjoyable to watch the ducks and many birds on the patio. It is a lovely location seemingly remote yet a shop within walking distance and road links easily accessible. Clive and Karren were very friendly and helpful. It is a lovely bungalow to stay in.

Date of stay: December 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Many thanks for your review.
Kind regards Clive & Kaeren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing