We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic forest retreat.”
other travelers have booked this property
View to TV and Stove in Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to TV and Stove in Lounge
Large corner sofa in Lounge Small decked garden accessed from Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View to TV and Stove in Lounge
Large corner sofa in Lounge
Small decked garden accessed from Lounge
Golfing around Ellis Lodge
Kitchen view of double oven electric range cooker
Kitchen view to sink and stable door access to rear garden
Dining Table  with view to Dining room TV and patio doors to decked garden and outdoor eating area
View through dining area to kitchen
View from dining area to outdoor dining and BBQ deck
Bedroom 3 with view to en-suite
Bedroom 3 en-suite
Bedroom 3 en-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 with view to en-suite
Bedroom 2 view to dressing table
Ground floor Bedroom
Ground floor Bedroom en-suite
Ground floor Bedroom view to en-suite
Outdoor dinning with view to dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TonyE72
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic forest retreat.”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Comfortable,clean and cosy. A perfect base for exploring the whole of the forest of Dean and surrounding area. We had a great stay again and really didn't want to go home. Looking forward to returning soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant accommodation”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A big thank you to Ellis Lodge for a wonderful stay. The owner responded promptly to my booking request, and when asked for additional information was extremely helpful and friendly. The property was spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. We were three couples and Ellis Lodge worked extremely well for our party with each couple having their own en-suite. The dining area and lounge is lovely for a family group, and the log burner added an extra special touch. A big thank you also for providing a lovely Christmas tree. We would definitely recommend Ellis Lodge and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn S
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Elilis Lodge is a beautifully appointed, modern house in a great location. Literally a stone's throw from the Forest of Dean, and being dog friendly, it is a great place to stay with your pooch.
Great value too.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korzkar
Derfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in the UK”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a group of four including me and my husband, my daughter and my mother. We found the accommodations average for UK standards but pretty basic for US standards. We expected to have written instructions for the appliances as we have had with rentals in the US. The mattresses were small, thin and equivalent to a crib mattress (no comfort). The kitchen had basic cutlery, plates and cups. There were no seasonings, oils (everything stuck terribly to the pans as they are not coated), extra paper towels, etc. Also had no wash cloths, hand soap in bathrooms, or extra toilet paper which was expected. The washer/dryer was below par by being extremely small, inefficient and harsh on clothes. There was no grill to be found. Although spacious and clean according to UK standards, it was still a bit of a disappointment.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outdoor_J...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Ellis Lodge”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a fantastic bank holiday stay in Ellis Lodge celebrating our friends 30th birthday. The lodge is only a short drive from Symonds Yat Rock. The lodge is modern and well looked after, we enjoyed using the wood burning stove on a chilly evening and even managed to get into the garden for a bbq.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam N
1 review
“Lovely place for Easter break”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, the lodge catered for all our needs. Kitchen / dining area was well set up and it was great to be so close to forest walks and attractions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing