We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and peaceful break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Acorns

The Acorns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Acorns
Main bedroom, WC & wash basin ensuite, superking size bed Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
The Acorns
Main bedroom, WC & wash basin ensuite, superking size bed
Hot tub
Lounge with wood burner
Kitchen
Dining area
Family room
Main bathroom
Private enclosed patio
View from the drive
View from the garden
View from garden and main bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hammvz
wednesbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and peaceful break”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed August bank holiday weekend and the weather was beautiful which helped us enjoy the local area we went to coleford , perry grove railway , Ross on wye , and symonds yat.
House was relaxing and peaceful lovely big comfy bed and everything you need for a break away from home . Hot tub was to hot for the scorching weather ha ha ! Would be ideal in our 'normal ' British weather . Sarah's sons were lovely little hosts showing us the farm. Their dogs were lovely coming in and out of the house to see us (they used to sit at the door until called in bless them ) Sarah baked a cake one day and offered us some , our boys enjoyed it and was such a thoughtful gesture .
We used the local pub for lunch dog and muffler and another pub for a drink with a children's playground think in was called the new inn .
It was so nice to go to sleep with no street lights shining through or traffic noise and we all slept soundly .
Thanks for a lovely stay my husband wanted to take Murphy home !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2017
I'm so glad you had such a nice time. You definately had the best of the weather!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne T
1 review
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very quiet relaxing home .all amenities in the home .fab to have the hot tub .lovely friendly local pub .we would definitely return to Acorns if we visit forrest of dean again the host's were very helpfull and friendly ,and there children was on hand too .along with friendly animals .and great to have fresh eggs each morning for breakfast.many thanks Sarah.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debla73
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a Gem of a find!”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage on a small farm, with beautiful views. Lovely comfy beds, and hot tub too. Loved having the dogs, chickens and ducks to visit. Perfect for walking too. Pub (Dog & Mufler) is literally 3mins walk, but do book if eating, which I would reccomend, lovely food. Cant wait to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Thanks so much Debbie. Hoe to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil C
Wincanton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to stay
Very welcoming and children and dog friendly.
On arrival was greeted by Sarah and shown round. The bread,milk, butter and eggs ,were a godsend and very much appreciated.Everything was peaceful and relaxing and very comfortable even Harley our dog had a great time .Would recommend for lovers of nice and relaxed peace and quiet.
Were going to book again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Thank you, we'll look forward to seeing you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarahshor...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a week in the country”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely 5 days spent at the acorns, the owners were welcoming and warm and my little boy enjoyed the big garden and farm animals, everything you need for a toddler, so helpful having a highchair, cot and toys at the property. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed all the local sights. Highly recommended for a couple or family. The giant bed was amazing especially as it was very warm when we stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Unpredictable wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing