We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoors location acceptable hotel good breakfast”
Review of Hogbo Brukshotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hogbo Brukshotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sandviken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in a cabin (Hotel Village per website whcih appears a reasonable representation) some yards walk from the hotel which as the weather was in fact very good for the time of year was acceptable, there is no hospitality tray in the room and I wonder how hot food or drinks would be if they came by room service - we did not try as we had taken our own travel kettle. The room felt basic after the other rooms we had stayed in during our trip and we likened it to a travel lodge in scandinavian style from the UK perspective, however the reception was much as usual for 3 star and the breakfast restraurant was nice, the breakfast was an extensive cold buffet plus hot scrambled eggs, bacon, swedish meatballs and waffles if you felt able to attempt the gadget to make them. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night - a must if you do not have access to a car - it was a set menu for a meal booked for us, the salmon/mussles/rice was nice and the dessert was excellent, however the service was very very slow although the restaurant would have known this function was going on and in fact it only took up less than half of the available seating. There are activities in the grounds nearby, however unless these are the reason for coming there is little else to do unless some event is also taking place. It is difficult to say I would return, the event we attended was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip but as we had had access to a better spa (access to the pool was only after the spa had closed or by payment) and saunas in Stockholm I think I would prefer to visit another hotel nearer the coast, in Hogbo Bruk there appears to be little other choice - go for the outdoors activities not for the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaytripperL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 620 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have stayed here a few years ago. It was already a nice place to stay, but this time, I really enjoyed staying at the hogbo bruk!

The room is quite basic, I have to say. It's quite Scandinavian. Very simple.
But the restaurant, little shops, and the park...all of them are really SO lovely.
I found the place has improved in many senses last few years.
The Personnel were even friendlier than before as well.

If you have a holiday in Sweden in this area, you should definitely stay at hobo bruk!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louloulechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during midsummer holidays. The hotel has a very good internet site, so I will not repeat what is already mentioned there.
One Haag to note that the hotel takes advantage of beautiful and serene surroundings that do not belong to they hotel. Proximity to the large midsummer gathering is a plus. You can enjoy now activities nearby like canoe riding, nice children playground and cut wood for drilling. We especially liked the children's mini-zoo. They had sheep chicken, hampster, rabbits ans geese. The playground and the surroundings were clean.
The rooms were extremely dull. The breakfast was average on an international scale however better than other Swedish hotels. Just like other Swedish hotel no AC. No real room service. No lunch on Sundays or major holidays! Bikes for rent are available but not with saddle for children. Very small pool with difficulty getting towels. The world's smallest gym with only three machines ans three dumb bells. Green wet and dry sauna with the former being mixed, although very small.
You will not hate the place but you will not long to come back to.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank screenname060309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

have spent a week in Högbo for business and have fully enjoyed the stay. It was just snowing so a bit freezy altough we got one of the cottages some 500 m away from the central building. But a perfect place also in those conditions. Have been there also in summer and enjoyed that as well.
unfortunetaly at a business trip there is not much time for leisure but Höbgo offers good possibilties for outdoor activites on the lakes, in the snow and a good golfcourse with 18 and 9 holes.
The kitchen there is really good - if find it dangerous because the desert buffet in the hotelrestaurant forces me to book the menue everytime.
The service could be a bit better for a 4* Hotel - we were not offered a lift to our cottage altough it was clear that we had no car - we needed to ask that they take the luggage to the rooms (we did not want to carry it through the snow ..)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseLeidenschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

It was our second time at Högbo Brukshotell and I was actually a bit disappointed with the accommodation. We stayed in a "business room" in the main building.
The room felt a bit dated but it was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy, so far so good. The bathroom was another story, at first it looked clean (but a bit boring) but the shower showed severe sings of mould. Actually, the shower/bathtub faces a window which is not water protected. Over the years it had created some serious damage to the window and the tiling. There visible mould around the window and one can only guess what's growing behind the cracked tiling I guess that many of the rooms are of the same layout so other rooms surely have the same problem.
On our first visit we stayed in one of the cottages which felt a lot nicer and and more up to date. They are also quite a bit cheaper.
Enough about the accommodation. One of the main reasons for going to Högbo is the food!
We enjoyed the "gourmet package" and it was all very good. A nice menu to choose from and also both a delicious cheese buffet and perhaps best of all; the dessert buffet. Simply fantastic!
The staff at Högbo is also very lovely, always very nice and helpful.
In all, Högbo is a nice place to spend some quality time. But go for the cottages rather than the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My partner took me here for my birthday as a surprise. I couldn't recommend this place high enough. We stayed in one of the cabins which was basic but very nice and clean. The grounds on which the Hotel is situated were so picturesque. The staff so friendly and helpful and the food to die for! I would recommend the pudding buffet, its all you can eat and I really enjoyed it! This is a fantastic place to get away and have a romantic weekend or to bring a whole family as plenty to do.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The hotel website promised sheep grazing - "the estate's own silent lawn mowers" - the reality was a noisy mechanical grass cutting machine outside our ground floor window at 7:30 am. And that just about summarised the experience for us. This hotel was like going back in years to our college halls of residence, and not the luxurious experience we were expecting. Specifics: old fashioned decor with two single beds pretending to be a double; bright yellow walls, bedspreads and furniture giving the impression of being trapped in a giant banana; vinyl - yes, vinyl - floors, grey metal doors; plain white tiled bathroom looking more like a hospital bathroom than a hotel one; no fridge or minibar; no individually controlled heating or air conditioning in room; no cable or satellite TV; the ironing board attached to the wall like a weird decorative feature; cheap looking soap dispenser (why? If for environmental reasons, then why the separate six mini bottles of shampoo etc.); the nasty cheap shower attachment. The public areas weren't much better with cheap looking furniture and quarry tiled floors reminding us of a student refectory. The restaurant was undergoing refurbishment, so we had breakfast looking at chipboard hoarding and listening to drills. They were quiet (wonder why?) the night we were there, and had limited staff covering the bar, reception and the restaurant. We ate in the bar (no English translation available of the bar menu) and had beef and potatoes - surprisingly good. However, our dinner plates had not been cleared from the bar 4 hours after we had finished!

It was probably as well that we had been woken by the grass cutter as breakfast service finished at 9:00 and checkout is by 10:00 - we had no problem with that as it happens!

Apart from the meal, other good points included free and quick internet access and the staff who, whilst not numerous, were friendly and extremely helpful. However, overall, the effect is institutional and certainly not luxurious. And at about £185 per night including a bar meal, we expected more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandviken
3.7 mi away
Stadshotellet Princess
Stadshotellet Princess
#2 of 2 in Sandviken
63 reviews
11.4 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Gavle
11.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Winn
Clarion Hotel Winn
#1 of 5 in Gavle
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Scandic Gavle Vast
Scandic Gavle Vast
#4 of 5 in Gavle
384 reviews
11.4 mi away
Scandic CH
Scandic CH
#3 of 5 in Gavle
312 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Norrgarden i Sandviken
#3 of 5 in Sandviken
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogbo Brukshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogbo Brukshotell

Address: 5 Hans Hiertas Vaeg | P.O. Box 136, Sandviken 811 92, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Gavleborg County > Sandviken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sandviken
Price Range: $204 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogbo Brukshotell 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hogbo Brukshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing