We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hogbo Brukshotell
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$137
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic CH(Gavle)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
$132
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
440
169
50
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
169
50
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingthe cottagesmain coursetwo nightsbusiness tripa nice place to stayclean bathroomgreat restaurantbaconbusiness roomsteam roomcross country skiingcakessmall poolbreadall kindshigh quality
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 676 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have stayed here a few years ago. It was already a nice place to stay, but this time, I really enjoyed staying at the hogbo bruk!

The room is quite basic, I have to say. It's quite Scandinavian. Very simple.
But the restaurant, little shops, and the park...all of them are really SO lovely.
I found the place has improved in many senses last few years.
The Personnel were even friendlier than before as well.

If you have a holiday in Sweden in this area, you should definitely stay at hobo bruk!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louloulechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during midsummer holidays. The hotel has a very good internet site, so I will not repeat what is already mentioned there.
One Haag to note that the hotel takes advantage of beautiful and serene surroundings that do not belong to they hotel. Proximity to the large midsummer gathering is a plus. You can enjoy now activities nearby like canoe riding, nice children playground and cut wood for drilling. We especially liked the children's mini-zoo. They had sheep chicken, hampster, rabbits ans geese. The playground and the surroundings were clean.
The rooms were extremely dull. The breakfast was average on an international scale however better than other Swedish hotels. Just like other Swedish hotel no AC. No real room service. No lunch on Sundays or major holidays! Bikes for rent are available but not with saddle for children. Very small pool with difficulty getting towels. The world's smallest gym with only three machines ans three dumb bells. Green wet and dry sauna with the former being mixed, although very small.
You will not hate the place but you will not long to come back to.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank screenname060309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

have spent a week in Högbo for business and have fully enjoyed the stay. It was just snowing so a bit freezy altough we got one of the cottages some 500 m away from the central building. But a perfect place also in those conditions. Have been there also in summer and enjoyed that as well.
unfortunetaly at a business trip there is not much time for leisure but Höbgo offers good possibilties for outdoor activites on the lakes, in the snow and a good golfcourse with 18 and 9 holes.
The kitchen there is really good - if find it dangerous because the desert buffet in the hotelrestaurant forces me to book the menue everytime.
The service could be a bit better for a 4* Hotel - we were not offered a lift to our cottage altough it was clear that we had no car - we needed to ask that they take the luggage to the rooms (we did not want to carry it through the snow ..)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseLeidenschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

It was our second time at Högbo Brukshotell and I was actually a bit disappointed with the accommodation. We stayed in a "business room" in the main building.
The room felt a bit dated but it was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy, so far so good. The bathroom was another story, at first it looked clean (but a bit boring) but the shower showed severe sings of mould. Actually, the shower/bathtub faces a window which is not water protected. Over the years it had created some serious damage to the window and the tiling. There visible mould around the window and one can only guess what's growing behind the cracked tiling I guess that many of the rooms are of the same layout so other rooms surely have the same problem.
On our first visit we stayed in one of the cottages which felt a lot nicer and and more up to date. They are also quite a bit cheaper.
Enough about the accommodation. One of the main reasons for going to Högbo is the food!
We enjoyed the "gourmet package" and it was all very good. A nice menu to choose from and also both a delicious cheese buffet and perhaps best of all; the dessert buffet. Simply fantastic!
The staff at Högbo is also very lovely, always very nice and helpful.
In all, Högbo is a nice place to spend some quality time. But go for the cottages rather than the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

My partner took me here for my birthday as a surprise. I couldn't recommend this place high enough. We stayed in one of the cabins which was basic but very nice and clean. The grounds on which the Hotel is situated were so picturesque. The staff so friendly and helpful and the food to die for! I would recommend the pudding buffet, its all you can eat and I really enjoyed it! This is a fantastic place to get away and have a romantic weekend or to bring a whole family as plenty to do.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews