We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serai-nading in Bandipur”
Review of The Serai Bandipur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Serai Bandipur
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bandipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Sometimes one plans a holiday and other times one dreams a holiday, seldom do the two congregate but our stay at the Serai was the perfect break. The property is beautiful, well laid out, quiet with amazing views of the forest and hills. And to complement the facility was the staff and service - excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhilasha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 313 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

The best part of the Serai is that it is in Bandipur not on the outskirts but bang in the National Park and here I come to the most fun I had while on the weekend here. I went for a walk with the in-house naturalist just maybe a km from the boundry of the resort and saw Elephants in the distance, wild hen, many many deer and all in their natural habitat. We saw less animals when we went on the so called guided jungle safari in the morning into the park.
The staff is helpful and lots are local so they know about the forest and the animals and the local folk lore which is awesome.
The resort in itself is beautiful and spread out and all the rooms have panoramic views of the Niligiris and when i was there no T.V's which was superb(I hope its still like that). They have a huge pool with sparkling blue water and a great bar with a view of the forest. The food was super and just thinking of the local delicacies the chef conjured up is making me hungry.
At night if you gaze out of your room on a moon lit night you will be able to see the deer that hop the 12 foot fence and come and graze in the property. If you are lucky you may even get a glimpse of a herd of Elephants outside the boundary wall.
When I went they were still setting up and fixing all the details so the place should be even better now. If you want a relaxed weekend from Bangalore this is the place and for the others if you have the time then go you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of the hills. I guess if you can spend a bit more go for the villas t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virnakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good resort and well done and log huts. Priced on the higher side. Need more activities around. Food can be a lot better. Services is excellent, though

Room Tip: Take the room with food pax option. Rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SubbuJois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Serai at Bandipur is a newly acquired property by Coffee Day Hotels and Resorts. It was initially known as Cicada Resorts. Barely a month old and it was so difficult to get a reservation. The Serai is located very close to the Bandipur National Park and it overlooks the Niligiris. The moment you enter the property you are greeted very warmly by the staff. After a traditional Indian welcome, we were received by Mr. Sanjeev who gave us a briefing about the resort, the Bandipur National Park, the do’s and don’ts etc. His soft spoken voice has a calming effect and you instantly forget about city life and switch to ‘jungle mode’. As you enter this property you are greeted with silence and the cool breeze blowing from the Niligiris. For all you nature lovers, it is an absolute treat.
The road to the resort is a bumpy ride, a 2 km stretch, so be prepared for it. The whole resort has been designed very well and blends with the surroundings. We had booked the Mountain View Courtyard Superior room. The room was very spacious and it had an attached living room. The living room seemed empty with just a writing desk and a chair. We did speak to the GM Mr. Sabu Varghese and he assured us that the next time we visit ‘The Serai’, there would be no room for complaints. They were unable to make the changes as they were fully booked for the season. All the rooms have a balcony with a view of the Niligiris, where one could relax. Each room has a TV but during our stay there was no cable connection, which was a blessing in disguise.
The food is good and the staff at the restaurant are very courteous. They have a good spread and cater to your requests.
The pool is very clean and the view from the pool is beautiful. There is an activity room for children. One could go on a ‘nature walk’ to the nearby villages. They also have a bonfire every night, though there is not much interaction with the other guests. We had gone for a jungle safari conducted by the Jungle Lodges and Resorts, it was a 45 minute drive through the Bandipur National Park but we were not lucky enough to spot a tiger or a leopard.
Our stay at The Serai was wonderful and we will definitely go back when time permits.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SecbadRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Oh it was such a wonderful two nights stay, that we promised ourselves, that we would return to this place more often.
We were booked into a cabin which was facing an electric fence just 25 metres away. And across the fence we had wild deer all over. We were just unlucky not seeing a tigre pass by.
This place is awesome. The rooms are plush, clean and cozy. The Serai has taken over from an old owner, and they have put in the best in this place. We took a couple of Safaris, and it was good.
It has been years since we went out for long walks, and here we did. With the cool breeze blowing, every staff you passed by was courteous and smiling and helpful. We even ventured out of the gate to meet the local villagers and see the lazing cattle. Even the villagers were smiling and nice. Looked like The Serai had even trained the villagers on customer service.
The food - Just great and homely. The chef is a great man from I think Calicut. Every dish he had made was like it was cooked by my mother. There is absolutely no complaint at all.
The pool is beautiful, and worth a swim every evening.
I believe there was a kill by some leopard the night before we left, but we were snugly tucked inside clean quilts, and we did not hear anything.
I recommend this place any time, and I am sure they would be even better in the next six months time, as they are still working on a lot of improvements.
Great place

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms facing the electric fence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I had checked in top catagory of room name as Residence wherein I found after check in Tap of Basin not working,Torn Bedsheet,Sofa Dirty as if not cleand for weeks not only this when I called Housekeeping for empty plates they brought empty cofee mug,I checked in with two children which was pre informed to them but Bathromm had one towel and when asked for extra supply of towel it took them more than an Hour.In short its Worst Property I have seen in India,totally unadvisable for atay better to stay in goverment lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SachinAgarwal_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have a short stay of 1 night in bandipur - The Serai...but it was a happening experience at the resort...wished to stay more...every area is very good...the quality of the food is also good when compared to the location...Service can be rated AAA++, it is worth spending couple of nights..and can have fun with family or friends...

Room Tip: Loghut are very good, a bit expensive, we stayed in Loghut, Courtyard Superior rooms are very good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baquerrashti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandipur
7.2 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
578 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
318 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
5.1 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
1.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur
The Windflower Resort & Spa Band...
#1 of 2 in Bandipur National Park
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Serai Bandipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Serai Bandipur

Address: Kaniyanpura Village, Mangala Post | Gundlupet Taluk, Chamarajanagar, Bandipur 571126, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Chamarajanagar District > Bandipur
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bandipur
Price Range: $201 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Serai Bandipur 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Serai Bandipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Serai Bandipur Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing