We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great food, outstanding spa. Highly recommended for those near Montreal or Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sacacomie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sacacomie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, outstanding spa. Highly recommended for those near Montreal or Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just spent 3 days at hotel sacacomie in between visiting Montreal & Quebec City. We booked a 3 day package through trail finders which included dinner, bed & breakfast, access to spa & beaver & beat watching. Also car hire was included. The spa was amazing, the best I've ever been to & the food was in abundance & of a very high standard. The bar was pretty pricey but not unusual for Canada. The service could do with improvement at reception, despite not being busy it took a while for anyone to tend the desk & the activities desk was the same. The restaurant & bar staff were really friendly & offered great service so it's a shame the reception staff let them down. The rooms are functional, could do with freshening up the decor. Overall the package we got was great value for money & would definitely recommend this hotel & location to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and Marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We do have more than a thousand employees and most of them are very friendly. Renovations are planned for the next month to refresh the hotel.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    317
    197
    83
    47
See reviews for
313
509
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

An extraordinary address to relax! Well, make sure your GPS knows the address, it might be difficult to find, since it is a jerkwater village in the middle of nowhere. The building in itself, made of wood, overlooks a lovely lake and you should absolutely choose a lake-view-bedroom to enjoy it. However, be prepared, even though it is remote place dedicated to relaxation and spa, to hear your neighbours. Since everything is made of wood, insulation is not at its best. Better to ask for a bedroom on the top floors. We stayed two nights there and tremendously enjoyed the hotel and its facilities: the spa is fantastic and it was absolutely marvellous to enjoy a book in front of the relaxing room's chimney. Same during the evening, in the lobby, on your way to the dining room, you were welcomed by a fire in the central chimney and it gave to the whole place an extremely cosy atmosphere. Food served at dinner was enjoyable, although service might be rather low, despite staff eagerness to make you feel comfortable. A must-stop address when touring Québec!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glas you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in the midst of the forest on top of the lake with a wonderful view.

The hotel is build almost entirely of wood. In the lobby there is always a cosy fire.

There are a number of nice trails with different difficulty levels (some being rather roads) and some marvelous viewpoints. Most of the time we were completely alone in the wild! However there are many signs and no danger of getting lost. At the latest in two days they are all done.

Rooms are nice and wooden with a rather small bath. The wood does not isolate sounds well, so you better bring ear plugs.

If you take half board you get a nice 4 course menu for 58 CAD.. If not, there is only the one restaurant and a main course starts at 30 CAD.. A 1dl glas of wine is 10 CAD. All prices plus taxes and tips..

The spa is beautiful but small and also costs 40 CAD extra

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for you comments. It is always a good idea to take the full or half board when you come to Sacacomie. As we are far from most of the distributor, it’s the cost to pay to be in the midst of the forest!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The woman at the front desk was competent but certainly not welcoming. And the two women at the activity desk were, well, one was weird and one was in a big hurry! The bartender was in no hurry to take our reservations for dinner... But except for those 4 people (that we encountered within minutes of arriving!), everybody else was very very nice and welcoming.
The room was spacious and clean. No TV.
The food was good but the not the duck, too cooked. Big portions.
Wifi was excellent!
Spa was nice and relaxing.
Beach was fantastic. Calm, quiet, enough chairs for everyone. Actually, I don't know where people were... The hotel was supposedly full but it felt empty...
Motor boat ride was fun.
Walking the trails was perfect. Only did 2 short ones but can imagine how wonderful it would be to leave for a day trek.
The guide for the 'stories and legends evening' was perfect!! Thanks Michael! Lots of fun around the fire, drinking hot chocolate and eating marshmallows!
Just be sure you are fit enough to go down to the beach and come back up! Quite a few steps! If you have mobility issues, this place is not for you.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goworldmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you had a good stay overall. About the stairs going down to the beach, we do offer a transport for people who have a mobility issues.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had 3 nights at this property as part of a self drive tour of the Province of Quebec and chose this hotel from the reviews, the opportunity to look for bears and beavers and also the all inclusive package available. The service we received when we arrived was not the most welcoming we have had, a grumpy local sums it up. We were taken to our room, which was much smaller than we expected. Whilst the room was clean when we arrived, for the 3 days we stayed, apart from making the bed I am not sure what housekeeping was undertaken, the room was not hoovered.
However these negatives were outweighed by the positives. These were the location of the hotel, from any of the public rooms you had a great view of the lake and the local scenery. Both breakfast and the evening meal was superb and although the hotel was very busy the restaurant staff were very friendly and we did not have any issues regarding the service. One night we had a bottle of wine but we felt that after adding on the taxes and service charge it was not good value for the cost.
As part of our package we has access to the Geo Spa and this was fabulous, the various facilities were well maintained and no children were allowed. We felt that having plastic wristbands put on downgraded what was a very good facility. The hotel also had a nice beach although we found that there were not enough chairs/beds the time we were down there.
The highlight of the stay was the beaver and bear watch. The elderly guides were very knowledgeable and the fact that we had to sit for over an hour in a bear hide to see a bear showed that these were wild animals. There were also a number of well marked trails which gave us the opportunity to walk round the local area during the day.
We cannot comment on the overall value for money as the hotel was part of a self drive package and not split out separately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and Marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The wristband is to facilitate the access control as people pay for the days and they can leaved the spa and come back later, especially if the are sleeping in the hotel.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We (4 persons) stayed 4 days at the hotel and had booked the package including half-board, spa, beaver/bear tour and canoes/kayaks. Breakfast and dinner were delicious with enough choice for our stay. 2 of the meals changed daily. We tried every day a different meal (4 course) and were delighted. It was fine French cuisine, a difference to what we had outside of Quebec. Reading some of the negative statements about the food I feel as if they're talking about a different place.
Price: this is not a log cabin in the woods but a fine hotel in a rustic style with many amenities.
Booking the package is recommended. If I book a hotel I can see what is the price and can still take it or leave it. So I can't understand the complaints.
The site of the hotel is terrific and it's kind of secluded which is great. If I go out for nature why would I need a TV (Internet is there, complimentary).
We had a lakeview room and enjoyed the view on waking up and at all times of the day.
The hotel has got its own rustic charm, so much wood outside and inside, very nice!
Beach: The way down to the beach is worth while. The hotel is situated on a hill. So it should be clear that one has to go down and up all the way. Whoever is not able to do this has chosen the wrong place. But all this can be found out in advance.
If you book the package you can use the canoes as long and as often as you wish. It's just wonderful to do canoe trips around the lake. Towels and drinking water is provided at the canoe site. Restrooms are also there.
The bear/beaver tour included in the package is also great. We had to drive a vehicle ourselves which was a lot of fun. (The ranger driven vehicle was full)
Spa : Pools and sauna were also included.Great! The only negative point was the size of the indoor pool. That was really tiny.
Everbody of the staff was very friendly.
If you go to a comparable hotel in Europe with a comparable package you would pay much more.
Conclusion: We were very satisfied!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mulatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and Marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

First of all I would like to congratulate the photographer who took the pictures posted on the hotel's website because they are amazing, something the hotel is not.
I stayed there for 2 nights with my husband and 2 children aged 9 and 11. To make my review simple, I'll tell you about each feature on a separate line.

Location: The nature surrounding the hotel is breathtaking.
Room: Nothing like the picture you see on the web site. We had no flowers, no TV, no air conditionning (although we didn't mind that one much since we had 2 fans in the room), no alarm clock, no mini fridge, no microwave, poor lighting and cheap bathroom. We definitely expected more when we paid over 300$ a night for a regular room with breakfast. It did not feel like we were in a luxurious hotel at all.
Food: The food was good but not excellent. We had 6 meals in total.
Staff: Although the staff is friendly, they are not well trained, and don't look or act professional.
Terrasse: The terrasse is the best part of the hotel when it is not raining.
SPA: Very good.
Indoor Pool: Has a maximum capicity of 10 (yes ten) people in a hotel of hundreds.
Entertainment: You better bring your own entertainment with you in case it rains. There is a pool table, a foosball table and a video game but you have to pay to use them. Remember that there is no TV in the room (but there is one in the entertainment area for all to use) and the hotel does not have board games that you can borrow.
Beach: The beach is very clean and has very comfortable lounging chairs as well as an unsuppervised hut with clean folded towels, life jackets and water. You can use the kayaks, canoes and pedalos at no extra cost. You have to go down the mountain to get to the beach using a wooden path that inlcudes 150 steps, definitely not recommended for the elderly since the way back up would very strenuous. I would recommend that they add a snack bar at the beach.
Gym: There is no gym.

I would go back to this hotel only if I had to pay a reasonable price which is not the case right now. We definitely felt that we didn't get our money's worth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelloverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane G, Sales and Marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We can read good positive points on your stay at Sacacomie. On the other hand, we are very sorry that your stay was not to your expectations. Sacacomie has more than an hundred employees and most are very professional and qualified. We are sorry that you haven’t met them. Concerning the way to the beach, we offer transport up and down for people with mobility issues. Please be sure that all your comments will be treated to improve our customer services. Prices are dictated by the market and always at a higher price during the peak season. Our woodlog building is very attractive but also need constant maintenance. Therefore, we are planning major renovations next month that should solve few details that you are mentioning about. Sacacomie is a breathtaking site as you mentioned, but also weather dependant of Mother Nature. We hope to see you back sometime.
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
11.9 mi away
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Le baluchon Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in St-Paulin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge des Pins Rouges
Auberge des Pins Rouges
#3 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
23.4 mi away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#1 of 2 in Grand-Mere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
#2 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
#1 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.6 mi away
Serenita Spa Auberge
Serenita Spa Auberge
#2 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacacomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacacomie

Property: Hotel Sacacomie
Address: 4000 Yvon-Plante Road, Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec J0K 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sacacomie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacacomie Lodge is a door to nature. Nestled in the heart of the forest and bordering the Mastigouche wildlife reserve, it overlooks a majestic lake whose shore extends for more than 42 kilometres. In this enchanting site where nature reigns supreme, the log-built blends in harmoniously with the scenery offering amazing hospitality. Rustic outside and welcoming inside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sacacomie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacacomie Hotel Quebec
Hotel Sacacomie Saint-Alexis-Des-Monts, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing