We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanak Retreat Bali
Nearby Hotels
The Hamsa Bali Resort(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
$26
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Damai(Lovina Beach)
$334
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Mangga Sea View Resort & Spa(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
$35
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$21
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$23
$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
Pandawa Village Villas(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
$42
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$29
$28
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
276
39
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
39
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice paddiessanak retreatsunrise and sunsetspent nightslocal communityin decemberan amazing viewremote locationbedroom bungalowstunning locationour honeymoonmakes you feelcooking classcoffee plantationnice poolfell in loveour entire stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 326 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Sanak is one wonderful creation. It is a natural, rustic but luxurious and immaculate retreat which does the right thing on every level.
The restaurant is a lovely place to spend time overlooking the pool and rice paddies. The food is fabulous and is locally and ethically sourced - some from their own veggie patch and the rest from the best producers from the jungle down to the north coast.
The beautiful new timber bungalows are serene and kitted out with eclectic decor including some tribal artefacts.
Sanak is integrated with the local village with a long term philanthropic objective - they have put more of the story on the website since I was there, it's worth reading.
The service is very attentive yet human - you feel like part of the big family very quickly. Being a small resort you become acquainted with the other guests, and my kids quickly paired up with other kids. My 6 year old son even had a daily afternoon petanque game with a French dad - it is that kind of place.
The spa is a must - they use jungle spices and other local natural influences, and the massage was THE BEST EVER.
You can do nothing, or sign up for the various activities. We want to do the adventure buggy thing next time....next time will be soon!

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom villa with pool looks amazing. It's at the end of the small resort between the spa, veggie patch and rice paddies.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Camilla

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
You obviously fully enjoyed your family stay a Sanak Bali and explored our retreat as well as its genuine surroundings.
I shared your enthusiasm with Chef Putu, Ibu Kadek & Octa at the Spa and the whole Sanak family who made your north Bali experience memorable.
Besides your son might have asked you by now to build a Petanque field in your backyard!!

Thank you for mentioning our website, not only an informative display about Sanak retreat Bali but also an open door to the Balinese culture and traditions.

We all hope to hear from you in the near future and most of all we are looking forward to welcome you and your loved ones again and again at Sanak, your home in north Bali.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I can confirm the positive reviews of this little resort. After staying in the crowded south and the wiltingly hot northwest, Sanak was finally the Bali experience we had been hoping for. Tranquil, beautiful, first class facilities and service, and a respite from the heat of the lowlands. There is plenty to see and do in the area if you hire a driver for the day. Of the places we stayed around the island, Sanak is the only one we plan to visit again. Note that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, but the nights were cool enough in the mountains that sleeping wasn't a problem. There is no fitness center, but you will get your exercise trekking. The price was fair, but not inexpensive for Bali, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonboat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Dragonboat07


Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali family - Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
It seems that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and this is what we are aiming at on a daily basis.
We are blessed with such a genuine location that our joy is to welcome home each of our guests with warm smiles and a common mission to help you to explore and breath the fresh air of North Bali.
The whole Sanak family wishes to welcome you once again at our Retreat in the near future.

In the meantime I hope you had a pleasant on the island of gods.

Matur Suksma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Living around Seminyak, I went up to Munuk to get away from the city and loved it! The area is so quiet and Sanak is the perfect place to unwind. The bungalows are nicely appointed with great taste, you can swim in the pool and enjoy views of the ricefields and hills (which you can also enjoy from your room!). The restaurant is very cute and the food very tasty. You can see that the team is happy to be here and at your service, always enquiring how you are and if you need anything. Of course, if you want action, it's possible too, they offer a wide range of activities. I played it safe and just went on a walk around the area, through ricefields, meeting the ladies picking the rice, going through coffee plantation and wander in the village. For tourists, I think it's a great stop to see a different side of Bali. Next time I go, I'll stay a few nights to do more of the adventurous excursions.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Soph1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Soph 1605

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
What a pleasure to welcome you and offer some fresh air from northern Bali and smiles from the whole Sanak family.
You obviously had a chance to wander around our retreat and mingle with the local villagers.
I shared your good words with our whole team and they were more than happy to make you feel at home, this is what we are all aiming for.
I am glad that our design in harmony with the ricefields and our architectural uniqueness touched you because we are proud to blend with our environment and offer to our guest the opportunity to discover the true essence of the island of gods.
Feel free to contact me as our excursion & activity program will get better and better.

In the meantime I wish all the best for your future traveling adventures and we hope to welcome you back at Sanak retreat Bali in a near future.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

There is a lot to love here. It's new and there are maybe some bugs to work out, but this is a really, really great place. We stayed here for four days in March after some time in Ubud and this was the perfect antidote to the craziness that Ubud has become. Here's what we loved the most about Sanak:

The setting is just about perfect. You're a little outside of the small town of Munduk and right smack in the middle of acres and acres of rice fields with views of the valley, the hills, a little village ... and rice fields. Every so often you can hear a motorcycle going by on the road but overwhelmingly the sounds you hear are wind, frogs, and birds. This is natural Bali, just like I dreamed it would be.

The service, too, was just about perfect. It's almost a cliche on TripAdvisor to say that the service was great, but at Sanak it was genuinely wonderful; you just really had the sense that the people working there wanted you to be happy. And we were. My hats off to all the staff, just wonderfully friendly people who made us feel at home.

The design and landscaping of the place is really amazing. Someone has a great eye for, well, everything. Lots of art around the space, great little touches everywhere you look. This wasn't something just thrown together to open a resort; someone put a lot of time into the concept and execution. In a word, it was beautiful without even considering the gorgeous setting.

The rooms were great, too - windows opening on all four sides let great breezes through, more great design touches, beautiful wood, luxurious towels and bed linen. Really nice. The pool was wonderful with great views and there was a great reading space above the restaurant where I spent a comfortable, relaxing couple hours during a heavy rainstorm.

And I can't believe I'm leaving the food for last. For a small place with only a few of us staying there the chef did a great job of putting on creative, tasty meals and accommodating our own little quirks about what we like and don't like so much. We ate almost all of our meals there and loved all of them and they were all surprisingly affordable.

It feels almost churlish to even mention a couple shortcomings, but I will anyway. The one weird thing was the price of wine. I like a glass of wine with lunch and maybe a bottle of wine with dinner but the cheapest white wine on the menu was something like US$70, with a single bottle of red wine "only" $50 or so. For a place where the rooms and meals were so affordable, the wine just stood out as excessive, particularly when we know from experience there are perfectly reasonable Balinese wines to be had for a fraction of these prices. Just a suggestion.

One other issue that will sort itself out over time is staff understanding of the activities on offer. There is a long menu of activities - biking, hiking, and so on - but when we asked for a little more information than what was printed the staff really didn't have any information. The bike trip, for instance, is listed as both downhill and challenging. How can coasting downhill be challenging? It turns out there is a good answer. First, a good part of the downhill is on very rough trails, and second, some of it is steeply uphill. We loved the bike trip but would have appreciated a little more information. There were similar issues with a hike through rice fields to a waterfall; both were really great activities, but it would help if staff were better briefed on what to expect.

Those, however, are really minor issues compared to how fabulous everything else is. Trust me, you won't regret a few days - or a few weeks! - at Sanak.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeJim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Mark

This big slice of heaven come from the heart of the whole Sanak family who was delighted to welcome you both for 4 days in our little paradise.
Thank you for you honest praises to our service team, they really enjoyed making you feel at home day after day.
Regarding your little quirks as you said, Chef Putu actually had a lot of fun matching your requests and make sure that each and every meals he prepared would bring culinary memories to you.
You both obviously understood Sanak retreat Bali environmental approach, our mission to blend with the uniqueness of our location in the northern part of the island of gods.

I appreciate your suggestion regarding our wine list and I totally agree with you, keeping in mind that there is over 300% taxes on alcoholic beverages in Indonesia. Anyway within a couple of months your wishes should come true.

I am glad that you took the chance to experience some of our excursions and I apologize for the little quirks as I am at the moment fine tuning our "Explore" activity program.

We hope to bring you even more thrilling memories for your next visit, in the meantime the whole Sanak retreat Bali team wishes you all the best for your traveling adventures.

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Sanak Retreat has made me fall in love with Bali all over again !!! Far from the noisy, busy, crowded Bali has become in the main destination places, Sanak is a little piece of heaven.
Our stay was wonderful and we wish we could have stayed longer ! When a resort is newly launched you expect many things to be improved but I must say it was difficult for all of us to spot any. From the stylish design of the wooden villas, which is AMAZING and so detailed, to the scent of the shower gels and shampoo !!! The team who brought this project to life has done a wonderful job.
We expected something very nice but it was beyond that !!!!
The staff was so pleasant, friendly, welcoming and helpful ... Thumbs ups to the chef, who cooks exquisitely a mix of local and international cuisine. Very high quality, tasty and beautifully presented (and this comes from someone who likes to cook and eat !). We travelled with our 2 children and they loved it. The owner has stacked up plenty of board games for kids. It is family friendly.
Swimming in the infinity pool and be surrounded by rice fields is an amazing experience.
The surroundings, the view, the landscape.... what else can I say ??
Try having a Jamu Mocktail, sitting on the restaurant deck when the sun sets !!! or watch the sun rise from your bed in the villa top bedroom ! priceless !!!
We went on a couple of excursions organized by the resort (beach, hot springs, spice plantation, walk in the rice fields...). It was perfect !
The project to support the local community is beautiful. These are people who walk their talk and you really feel Sanak is a family. Moreover it is affordable !!!!
This place is great ! we love it ! we rave about it and will surely be back soon.

Room Tip: The resort is in the middle of rice fields and all villas have both sun rise and sun set. Since the resort is small, not much chances for too much noise. Our villa was number 2 and was quite quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptitaventuriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanak Retreat B, General Manager at Sanak Retreat Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Valmarin

Greeting from Sanak Retreat Bali-Handpicked with Humanity in Mind.
Sanak retreat Bali is definitely far away from the hustle & bustle of the south of Bali and we all hope that it will remain as peaceful for many more years.
As you mentioned families are very important to us as we want little ones to naturally find their comfort zone as much as we aim at ensuring that mum & dad find peace among the rice fields.
I am glad to read that you experienced our personalized excursions and discovered how truly amazing Sanak location is.
I can feel that you understood our environmental mission, our involvement with the local community as well as our architectural concept in harmony with nature.
The whole Sanak family is touched to be part of your lasting Balinese memories and Chef Putu is waiting for you to come back to delight you again and again.
Sanak Retreat Bali is your home on the island of gods.

Warm regards,

Matur Suksma

Sanak Retreat Bali General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews