We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year in Jeonju” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jeonju Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jeonju Tourist Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Jeonju
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Year in Jeonju”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It was comfortable and adequate for our needs our room had it's own bathroom with overbath shower, wc and washbasin. It was a 'wetroom' type bathroom. We had clean towels every day. The room was heated with underfloor heating and was comfortably warm for the time of year as the temperature outside was -6C. Breakfast at the hotel was disappointing as there was little in the way of european food. Koreans seem to eat 'soup' for every meal, which was good at other times if the day, but not for breakfast. The staff were very helpful and tried to understand our English. There was one male member of staff on reception who had enough English to be able to give us information we required about travelling back to Seoul. This hotel is very centrally located and close to shops, restaurants, etc.
The Korean people largely are very helpful, polite and generous in every way. Taxis are very cheap and the best way to get around Jeonju with the help of addresses written in Korean to show the taxi driver, most of whom use sat-nav and will put in details of your destination. One taxi driver who had no English went out of his way to find our destination by asking other taxi drivers for help while we waited in the car, then nearly went off without his fee as he was so happy to have found us our destination.
Eating out in Jeonju is inexpensive and very healthy and enjoyable once your pallate has got used to the different tastes. There are a few european recognised eateries in Jeonju such as Dunkin Donuts, Outback Steakhouse and Strabucks and sometimes you just want to eat something a bit more familiar. There is a plethero of small inexpensive restaurants just around every street and backstreet, so seek them out for the real Korean experience.
Seoul is a wonderful experience and a must for any visit to South Korea. There are war memorials/museums, palaces, shopping malls where you can shop till you drop especially if you are a techno freak. Seoul has a wonderful underground system and once you have mastered the underground plan it is very easy to follow. Again this form of transport is very cheap and you can put your ticket back into the machine for a refund of your deposit once your journey is complete. There is an express bus service from Incheon Airport to Jeonju, drop-off is at the Core Hotel which is where you pick-up the bus to go back again, there is a ticket booth here and you can book in advance. The journey takes about 3 hours with a comfort stop mid-way. The cost of a single journey was 29,000 Korean Won which is about 16.50 GBP. Buses leave very promptly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel is fine. It's hard to get excited about it, but it does the job. The front reception is rather grander than the rest of it, but the rooms while rather small are neat, clean, and comfortable enough, though you can tell the hotel could do with a renovation. They provide an internet LAN cable on request; no wifi is available. The breakfast is very basic. It's a 10 minute walk to the main shops of Jeonju, and probably 20 minutes to the hanok maeul. It could have been a little more central, but it was fine, and I was happy enough with the experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
558 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is a no-frills place but conveniently place, not far from the hanok village nor from many restaurants and shops. The staff is pleasant and the internet connection excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
275 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

This litle hotel got everything right. From the moment we walked in, they were welcoming and helpful. I was a little nervous as I had just ridden with the oldest taxi driver in the world (who literally fell asleep at a red light), and within minutes they had us checked in (early) and comfortable. The lady who worked the counter during the day was incredibly patient and helpful. She armed us with maps and gave us good directions to everything we wanted to see. The location is great. The hotel is on a quiet street near the Chinese part of town and within walking walkign distance of the Hanok area. The FREE breakfast is basic, but tasty. The rooms were clean and spacious. The lonely planet calls the interior retro, but I think it's a good retro. Definitely a bargoon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshiewoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night in April and paid US$45 for the night - the rate included free breakfast which we didn't take advantage of because we had to leave quite early. The room was quite basic but suited us for the price as we were in Jeonju to visit the Hanok Maeul (village). We were within walking distance of the Gaeksa district - full of shops and restaurants, the Jeonju stream which is lovely to walk along and the Hanok Village. Don't miss the cafe 'Coffee & Panini' in the street behind, we found Jeonju quite charming and wished we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyBoo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeonju hotels
0.1 mi away
Jeonju Yeonghwa Hotel
Jeonju Yeonghwa Hotel
#1 of 22 in Jeonju
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gung Tourist Hotel
Gung Tourist Hotel
#7 of 22 in Jeonju
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roni Tourist Hotel
Roni Tourist Hotel
#3 of 22 in Jeonju
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wooshin Hotel
Wooshin Hotel
#16 of 22 in Jeonju
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.1 mi away
Benikea Jazz Around Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pungnam Tourist Hotel
Pungnam Tourist Hotel
#14 of 22 in Jeonju
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeonju Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeonju Tourist Hotel

Property: Jeonju Tourist Hotel
Address: 22, Jeonjugaeksa 1-gil, Wansan-gu, Jeonju, Jeollabuk-do 54999, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeollabuk-do > Jeonju
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Jeonju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jeonju Tourist Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Jeonju Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing