We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Gasthoff, Top service and top restaurant and very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landgasthof Baren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landgasthof Baren
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madiswil
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Nice Gasthoff, Top service and top restaurant and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Gasthof because our car was broken for the weekend. Jurg and Eliane organised two nice rooms, we immediately got some excellent idea's for trips in the neighbourhood. The service from all personal is very friendly and high quality. The atmosphere is open you feel 'being at home'. The Gasthoff is clean and very well maintained. The food is top, it was a pity that we could only have diner once in the restaurant since the Fish (for us) and meat (for the kids) was very very nice. We learned also that 'locals' love to eat at Baren at Saterday which is a compliment. For bikers this is also a very good stop since the Gasthoff is part of a larger (electric) biking path. For us a Gasthoff we will put on our list to come back, and then plan for more days enjoying the service of Jurg and Eliane and the beautifull Swiss environment.

Room Tip: We liked that Baren has also a room for 3, for us the advantage our familily of 5 needed only 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_Leyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at this charming hotel on an e-bike trip with my mom and sister last summer. I'm writing a review now because we continue to reminisce about how wonderful our stay here was (and because I meant to write a review a long time ago!). Landgasthof Baren is located right along the Heart Route (an organized biking route through beautiful countryside)and we stayed here after a day of e-biking in the rain. Owners Jurg and his wife Eliane welcomed us like family and immediately brought us hot tea to help us warm up. Jurg then cooked us a late lunch in the charming restaurant even though the restaurant was closed due to it being a Monday. Jurg and Eliane continued to go way above and beyond hosting us like we were old friends. Jurg drove us to the nearby town of Langenthal for exploring/being tourists. We then had a beautiful dinner in the back garden which is an oasis of flowers, lanterns, and cool bike sculptures scattered around the garden.

Eliane and Jurg do everything here with love and Landgasthof Baren was the perfect place to relax and enjoy along the Heart Route. Thank you Jurg and Eliane for being such lovely people and wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlylec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stumbled upon this gem of a hotel in Switzerland. Our experience was nothing shy of amazing. The owners are married and were so welcoming upon our arrival. They showed us to our room on the top floor which had amazing views of the garden and surrounding mountains. Before we set out on our bike ride (electric bikes... so much fun and a great way to see the area and experience the countryside) we had an authentic Swiss fondue on the outside patio/garden area. Make sure you take time to explore the back garden that has numerous bike sculptures, a pond and herb garden (they use the herbs in their restaurant). I also suggest you have dinner at the restaurant, as the food and wine are still making my mouth water! If you want an experience of a lifetime, you must stay here. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephMontini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I were traveling in Europe and had the pleasure to stay at the Landgasthof Baren. The hotel treats you like a 5-star guest, they really care about the people that stay there. The rooms are adorable and you literally feel like you're staying at a Swiss home. The owners are always around and will make sure to check if you're having a good stay.

In addition, they offer these e-bikes if you want to cruise around the Swiss valleys and enjoy endless miles (or kilometers, like they say there) of bike trails. These bikes are awesome and one of the coolest things in Europe right now, make sure to ask them about it.

Lastly, do'n't forget to check out their restaurant - they serve authentic Swiss food with great selection of wines. Again, you'll experience the feel of a 5-star restaurant. Also, If it's not winter, sit outside and enjoy their beautiful backyard with local artwork and stunning views of the countryside.

When in Switzerland, you must stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeMontini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madiswil
3.4 mi away
Hotel Auberge Langenthal
Hotel Auberge Langenthal
#1 of 3 in Langenthal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 3 in Langenthal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gasthof Lowen
Gasthof Lowen
#1 of 1 in Melchnau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#2 of 3 in Langenthal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
8.0 mi away
Landgasthof und Seminarhotel Lueg
11.0 mi away
Landgasthof Kreuz
Landgasthof Kreuz
#1 of 1 in Kappel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landgasthof Baren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgasthof Baren

Property: Landgasthof Baren
Address: Kirchgaessli 1, Madiswil 4934, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Madiswil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madiswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Landgasthof Baren 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Landgasthof Baren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing