We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence is available in Bungay.”
Review of The Black Dog Restaurant - CLOSED

The Black Dog Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Very sadly this restaurant is now closed, and will not be re-opening its red door in its current form.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellence is available in Bungay.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A busy Saturday night, yet we were made to feel most welcome. What was once a hairdressers and a coal yard has been transformed into a stylish restaurant and has become the living dream of the owner Caroline. Her staff are highly trained, smartly presented and thoroughly attentive to detail without compromising the privacy of diners.
The food was of exceptional quality on all three of the courses and there is a good choice of dishes available. The wine list is also extensive, something to suit every pocket.
We both were unable to resist the Rice Pudding as our final course, buti found the Seafood starter and Beef main course were both delicious and presented beautifully.
I thoroughly recommend this restuarant and it will get even more popular once word gets out, so book well ahead.
Thank you Caroline and staff, we will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Clive, thank you so much for your kind words. really pleased to hear that you enjoyed what we have created here, and we look forward to seeing you both again soon. Its great for the staff to read that their efforts are appreciated, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming host and excellent food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had heard a lot of good reports from friends and they were clearly justified. The ribeye steak was cooked perfectly and the vegetables with it were delicious. We were spoilt for choice with the menu so looking forward to going back to try other dishes. It was also good to have the choice of real ale on the drinks list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Lynda, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your visit to us. Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening, and the excellent Wolfe Brewery beers that we stock. We look forward to seeing you again to try a few more dishes on our regularly changing menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a superb meal at the Black Dog. Thoroughly recommend this reastaurant, delicious food and excellent service. Treat yourself to the passion fruit sorbet, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Stephen, thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor about your evening. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening, thank you. The passion fruit sorbet, made by Ronaldo's in Norwich is indeed sublime, and will be staying on our list beyond the Valentine's menu! We look forward to seeing you both back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
“Nice place, Nice staff.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to the Black Dog on the recommendation of a restaurant owner where we live, and have to say found it very good.
We had a nice start with drinks in the bar area, selected our meals, and was then taken through to the main restaurant.
Ambience was very nice and the service was first class.
The food was not of great portions so if you have a big appetite like myself, this might not be for you, however the food was good and very tasty.
Just a point to note, not much on the menu if you are a Vegetarian.
Overall a restaurant I would recommend as long as you take on board what I have previously said.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Gary, thank you for taking the time to review us on TA, and for being complimentary about what we are doing here. I have taken on board your observations about portion size, and hope that you did not leave us hungry. Feedback from customers to date has been that in the main they find the portions to be a good size when they are eating a 3 course meal, but as a farmer's daughter I am mindful that we have some bigger eaters in the area. I must apologise for the limited choice for vegetarians when you were here, we change the menu quite regularly, and both chef and I were mindful of it that evening. As a general rule however I am very keen to promote vegetarian choices, so if vegetarians are reading this, we usually have a good selection of options to choose from.
Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very enjoyable eating experience. Lucky Bungay!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked a table for 10 people at the Black Dog in Bungay for my birthday recently as a change from going into Norwich and what a little gem we found!!!
We were made to feel very welcome right from the start and we were all very impressed with the light and airy decor. Loved the Star Trek restaurant door and loved the fact that we were centre stage in the restaurant - thanks Caroline, nice touch!!

The table linen and cutlery were immaculately clean and the waiting staff were very smart. They have obviously settled into their roles because the service was courteous and unobtrusive. It was nice to chat to the owner too.
I opted not to have a starter as I had seen the range of desserts, but those of the party that did said how delicious they were. I had duck for my main course - cooked to perfection followed by the yummiest rice pudding ever! Everyone cleared their plates, even the fussiest eater which is a first!

I think that the food was excellent value for money as I have eaten worse meals in more expensive restaurants. The only niggle was that the wine by the bottle was a bit pricey and a wider choice of Rose wine would have been nice, but that did not detract from our overall enjoyment.

I will certainly be going back and have recommended this restaurant to others. Do yourself a favour and go eat here!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Tracey W, thank you for joining the Trip Advisor community to post your first review! It was a pleasure to have you all here for your birthday celebration, and I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed what we are doing, as well as being centre stage on the night.

I have taken your comments on board about the prices of wines by the bottle. We have two wine lists for guests to make their selections from, which offer a range of choices for everyone, including those who wish to select a fine wine, some of which are significantly more expensive. We are fortunate to work with a local merchant who have sourced a delicious Italian red and white for us, which we sell at £14.50 a bottle, (although I appreciate there isn't a rose at that price, we will look at sourcing a lower priced rose to match that price point), of which you will no doubt be aware the VAT man takes his 20%, and this has to be taken into account when we set our prices.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, and thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Dog Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing