We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday at Avithos Resort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avithos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avithos Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday at Avithos Resort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Avithos Resort is lovely, quiet and an excellent base from which to explore the island. Couldn't fault the hotel and all staff were wonderful. Closest beach about 15 mins walk and a fabulous place to relax. Agree with all the positive comments - couldn't be better!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcporthok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    58
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
176
210
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel, venue and staff here totally live up to excellent reviews they have been given - and more. The room we stayed in was superb and spotlessly clean as was the whole venue. There is a magnificent pool with 2 beaches within a reasonable, albeit up hill walk on the return, with plenty of places to eat within a 15 minute walk in various directions. The few planes taking off really do not impact at all so the benefit of being in the hotel so quickly after landing is worth it. There is a small supermarket within walking distance but many may find a car useful but we did certainly not feel it impacted on our time by not having one. Peaceful and idyllic, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Ages was spent on picking where to go for our first trip to Kefalonia and nothing better could have been found.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and it was superb and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Avithos resort for the first time last year and enjoyed our holiday so much we returned for 9 nights this year. It was just as wonderful.

The resort is very well maintained, the rooms are airy, clean and comfortable. We would make our own breakfast each morning and eat on our pretty private terrace. The pool is large and there are lots of comfy loungers scattered around it - we never had trouble finding a spot. Nicos and the girls on reception are warm and friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The resort has recently installed wifi in all areas, which is something that some older reviews mention. If you can hire some wheels, there are lots of wonderful beaches to hang out in (although Avithos beach, which is lovely, is only 15-20 mins walk away). We'd scooter off to one each day and then head to the resort early evening to hang out by the pool. Similarly, if you have wheels then your options for food in the evening widen. We'd visit Argostoli some nights, or stay more locally on others.

It really is a special place - we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButtonMoon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week holiday staying in this lovely hotel. We agree with all the fab comments before us. Some added extras are: the hotel cocktails are second to none. The hotel is located near to a sandy beach with a beach bar that serves excellent cocktails in the evening as you watch the sunset. The rooms at the hotel are cleaned every day to an excellent standard, they even did our washing up for us! On leaving, a taxi was ordered for us and we were offered a complimentary drink whilst waiting for our transfer. Finally, the pool is huge, great for a few early morning lengths. Overall, this is a superb hotel in a gorgeous resort. Definitely recommend a trip to argostoli- the bars there are very classy. We will be returning soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Having examined many reviews before I booked I can confirm that all the great reviews are true!

The resort is within a 5 minute journey time from the airport (no airport noise or plane spotting opportunities) 20 euros in a taxi with a huge swimming pool and kids pool, pool bar and various sitting locations, The pool loungers, sofas and chairs are of high quality . It attracts a mix of cliental and differing nationalities all looking to explore the untapped beauty of Kefalonia.
We usually stay in 4 or 5 star accomodation AI however this resort was perfect as rooms/apartments were huge with kitchenette in high spec with quality fittings , a/c and showers this was not your usual self catering resort. The rooms were cleaned to a high spec daily and the whole resort was spotless. It was more like staying in a Four Seasons suite.
Everyone member of staff was friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

The only negative point as such was that the walk to the beach was around 15 minute and the walk back was up various large hills which having done once pushing a buggy on tiptoe in the heat of the day I didn't repeat. Luckily Nikos and his staff were on hand to drop us down and collect us from the 2 tavernas there. There are also another 3 tavernas within walking distance on flat ground from the resort plus a supermarket.
Wifi free in communal areas

We hired a car via Nikos which was very competitively priced from 30 Euros a day and was so glad we did as we went to explore this beautiful undeveloped island. Can highly recommend a trip to Sami and Antisamos , Lixouri , Vatsa and Trapeziki beach.
Already booked for next month!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastbournian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Can't disagree with any of the great reviews that others have posted. Spent 7 nights at Avithos recently and can't fault the apartments, grounds and pool which are all fantastic. Nicos and the team are all great and really helpful. Good tavernas within walking distance. Fabulous relaxing week, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adavies43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

An oasis of beauty and tranquillity. No attention to detail has been spared. The Avithos is spotlessly clean and the staff are all so friendly and helpful. This is the best place to stay on Kefalonia.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent you will not be disapointed whichever one you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACBrinMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
14.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
7.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
24.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avithos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avithos Resort

Property: Avithos Resort
Address: Avithos Village | Svoronata, Svoronata 28083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avithos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avithos resort is an apartment style hotel built in the traditional Kefalonian style, set in spacious gardens and grouped around a large freshwater swimming pool. The resort is located in southern Kefalonia close to Avithos beach, 10km away from Argostoli. This is a lovely, fertile region where olive trees and citrus orchards abound. The coastline faces the tiny island of Dias and offers magnificent views to the island of Zakynthos across the channel. The resort's location makes an ideal setting for a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Avithos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avithos Hotel Svoronata
Avithos Resort Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing