We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sep-13 just back from 10 day stay”
Review of Avithos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avithos Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the first time I have felt compelled to leave a review on somewhere we have holidayed - and thankfully in a good way. We travelled to Kefalonia as a couple in our 30's - having visited many of the other Greek Islands, this was our first time in Kefalonia - and what an absolute gem. We really loved the Island and the Avithos Resort. We were looking for an "away from it all" relaxing time after a difficult year and were rewarded with exactly that. So relaxing - from the beautifully kept gardens, to the large, clean room, the wonderful pool, huge and clean, plenty of sun beds, friendly staff who catered to our every need, running us to the Avithos Beach taverna when asked, organising car hire, collecting us from the airport (arranged via email prior to our trip) and arranging a taxi for us to back to the airport. I really would recommend both the Island and the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, sun, sea, sand holiday - as someone else said, if you want night clubs and raucous nights out then this isn't the place for you, but that is actually part of it's charm - we loved it !

Room Tip: We had a superior double on the 1st floor which overlooked the mountains - room was very large, grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chick811972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 527 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Avithos Resort hotel is excellent. The staff are very friendly when you get there. Because the hotel is down a small windy road one of the staff actually comes to pick you up in a car from further down the road because the coach can't go any further. The receptionist Christina was very friendly and takes you personally to your room while someone else brings your luggage. This is not like a typical hotel setting which makes it even nicer. The apartments are set in different buildings I think no more than 2 or 3 per building. Each one has its only balcony or patio area and the buildings are set in lovely gardens. You can sit outside and you might see a couple of people walk by to say hello to but it feels very private.
The rooms are quite big for Greece and have a small kitchenette with a hob and all the utensils you need for self catering. The bathroom was nice with a shower which had a proper glass screen, certainly better than a lot I've experienced in Greece. They also provide small bottles of shampoo/conditioner and shower gel. Our towels got changed about 3 times a week but poolside towels can also be requested at reception.
It is only 10 mins drive (2km) from airport but do not let that put you off as you hardly get any noise from planes (most on tues or sat) but its good fun to lay on the beach and see the odd plane take off and they're not THAT close that sand is flying everywhere etc.
The pool is very large (one of the largest in kefalonia I believe). There is a pool bar which serves snacks during the day (club sandwich is very nice) and stays open serving drinks till midnight but this is not the type of place which has rowdy groups of people so you don't get any noise from the bar.
We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was buffet style served from 8.30 -10.30 and had a great choice from toast, croissants, pastries, fruit, yoghurt etc to eggs bacon and sausage (Greek style not English). I can't think of anything that was missing actually and you can sit out by the pool to eat it, just be prepared for the wasps!
Svoronata itself is very quiet but perfect if you're looking for a quiet get away from it all holiday. There are a handful of restaurants scattered around all within about a 10 min walk and one bar (see top tips for more info).
If you want to see more of the island you definitely need to either hire a car or go on the island tour both of which can be booked through the hotel. We did the island tour which went to Mrytos beach (photo stop), villages of Assos and Fiscardo at the north of the island (both lovely), Agia Efimia for lunch (nice but not as picturesque as Assos or Fiscardo, Messalini lake, Drodarati cave, Saint Gerasimos monastery and last on the tour some wine tasting at the Robala winery all for 22eur pp.
There are a few sandy beaches within about 15-20 mins walk or 5 mins in car from hotel. We walked to Avithos beach which is a 15 mins walk, ok going down but slight incline on way up which I can imagine would be worse in July or Aug temps. There are 2 nice tavernas down by the beach and a snack bar. The water is turquoise and you can go out very far until it gets deep so it would be great for children to paddle.
I would recommend the Avithos hotel and resort for families or couples looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday not large groups of young people looking for a lively holiday. Would I go back? Yes most definitely we just don't usually as there are too many countries/places we want to visit!

Tips
Restaurants we ate in
Akropolis- very nice food and friendly service plus a Greek night
Dum Sprios - again very good food and friendly service
Muses - nice food but not as busy
Esperides - very quiet when we went but was busy in other nights again good service and nice enough food
One bar which stays open till late and you can watch football is Crazy George's excellent little bar (only one from what we saw) George the owner is very friendly and becomes like a long lost uncle by the end of the holiday!
There is also only one supermarket near to Crazy George's but served everything you could want such as bread, butter, snacks, cigarettes, alcohol, sun tan lotion, snorkels and inflatables etc.
Take a torch as there are no lights on some of the roads from the hotel to the restaurants.
There are no cash points in Svoronata, you have to go to the airport or Argastoli (capital) or lassi which are about 20-30 mins drive away so take plenty of cash!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank scouseimposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In need of a relaxing and restful holiday, our stay at Avithos Resort was exactly that, and more.

The transfer from the small airport to the resort was nice and short. The resort is situated in a quiet location allowing the relaxing to begin as soon as you get to the resort.

Once you have settled into your accommodation, the choice is yours, either start your stay relaxing by the large very inviting pool, or go explore the beautiful island and incredible beaches.

Car hire can be arranged via the resort reception, and worked out very competitive. Nikos, who runs the resort with his brother Basilis, would also arrange a lift to and from the nearby beaches, if the walk was too much for the older or unfit guests. The two nearby beaches are quite small, Avithos beach having two restaurants, one a traditional Greek restaurant, the other offering more fish dishes.

Car hire, day to day enquires, info on the island were covered very well by Christina at the reception. All the staff at the resort were very pleasant and helpful. They also kept the resort very clean and well maintained.

The accommodation had a well equipped kitchenette, with fridge, microwave twin hotplate, so if you wanted to have your own meal to eat on the terrace outside your apartment, you could.

There are plenty of local restaurants in the area, that can be reached either by car, or one that was within easy walking distance. Great when it has been a very hot day!!!

If you decided to stay and chill by the pool, there is a poolside bar that would serve snacks (cooked or cold) and a variety of welcome cold drinks and ice cream for the younger guests.

The pool is the focal point of the resort, but is tastefully enclosed in a well landscaped area giving shade on one side of the pool, along with very colourful shrubs and trees all round. There are plenty of sun loungers with parasols to use, allowing the shade during the midday sun.

The pool has good sloping steps into it allowing the children easy and safe access in and out of the pool. it goes from shallow at the steps to deeper in the middle to far side for adults and good swimmers. There is a little shallow pool next to main pool for the toddlers.

The paths and walkways to the various apartments are bordered by well kept landscaping and grassed area outside some of the apartments. This all gives for a relaxing and pleasant surrounding.

If you have hired a car there is plenty of parking at the front and side of the resort. There is a shady area on the opposite side of the road to park the car if needed.

If you do hire a car there are plenty of wonderful beaches. A trip to Fiskardo at the north of the island is well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Apartments are on ground and first floor. All areas seemed to be quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireContango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent a week here at the end of May, start of June 2013 as part of a wedding party, the wedding taking place in villas nearby. Nikos, the hotel manager is a very warm and accommodating (ordered in particular beverages for the bar for us, convinced Crazy George's bar to open especially for us to watch the British Lions v Barbarians match), was always on hand with information or just a good chat at the pool bar late in the evening.
I would recommend the time of year that we went as the resort was fairly quiet, which suited the families in our party well. Plus in these months the temperatures are roughly in the range of 27-34 celcius, very pleasant, particularly for dining outside in the evenings.
There were plenty of restaurants nearby but if I was staying for two weeks you'd probably want a little more variety, having said that Greek food is so good I wished I could have gone back to a few!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A long overdue family holiday was well spent at Avithos. Great location with 2 beaches only 5 minutes away, someone is always on hand to drop you off and pick you up if you don't have a car. The facilities are great, lovely pool and bar open all day and late in the evenings. Rooms are great, have black out curtains and aircon make it a good nights sleep. What really makes the difference is the 5 star service. Everyone just wants to go that extra mile to help you. Really fantastic and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mediatomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

the hotel hasn't any view at all. everything was ok, except the breakfast . in the room was mention that the breakfast was untill 11.00 but when we arrive in the restaurant (10.20) we found that it was untill 10.30. and the brakefast tables was almos empty. when we asked to be refilled , the weiter told us that it was too late. we stay in the hotel 1 week and the breakfast was stopped refilled before 10.00. we complain both to the one weiter and to the reception, but they was both arrogant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DIMITRIS_DON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I have just returned from an amazing 11 day holiday at Avithos Resort. If you don’t have the time to read through this review then let me summarise for you – if you are planning a holiday to Kefalonia, stay at Avithos Resort, stop looking for any other hotels, you will not be disappointed.
We took the (very) early Rynair flight from London Stanstead into Kefalonia. Three hours later we touched down and as we cleared passport control and collected our suitcases the transfer service was waiting for us in the arrivals area (arranged by Nikos the manager of the resort for us). The transfer was 15 euros each way for our whole family. We were encouraged when the taxi driver said we were going to a great hotel. 15 minutes later we arrived at Avithos Resort. I like other reviewers were concerned about noise in being so near the airport, but I promise you, you will not be disturbed at all. There are only a few flights in and out of Kefalonia each day anyway.
We were greeted by Christina who checked us in and showed us around the hotel, and then to our room. We had booked a maisonette which was very spacious with a mezzanine floor that had the largest double bed we have ever seen. The room included a small kitchen area that was useful for light lunches etc. The bathroom included a bath and shower which we were thankful for with two young children.
The swimming pool was amazing, and got massive thumbs up from the children. As the legend goes, it is the second largest pool in Kefalonia. There is a separate shallow toddler pool as well. There was more than enough sunbeds, and the early morning fight for sunbeds didn’t exist. There were more than enough for all the residents. The poolside bar was great, prices were reasonable, and each beer was served in an ice cold glass. We ordered a lunch snack a few times from the bar which was nice, with the French fries getting a thumbs up from the whole family.
The resort grounds, as other reviewers have said, are beautiful and the gardener should be really proud of his hard work. Just outside our room we had a pomegranate tree and a lemon tree full of fruit.
A car is essential in my opinion. My wife is pregnant with our third child and visits to local restaurants, beaches and mini market were a bit of a slog in 35C heat. However, Nikos and the team were not going to let this be a problem and offered to give us a lift whenever we needed it (which we took advantage of for a few days until we got a car). We booked the car via Nikos for 30 euros per day.
The local beaches were lovely, but our favourite was El Helios which was gently shelving and sandy. Snorkeling is a must, as there were fish swimming between your legs everywhere. There were sun loungers and umbrellas to hire for 6 euros per day. The beach bar was good if a little expensive. The Avithos Beach was nice but rockier. However, we did favor this beach in the early evening, as the beach bar was a great place to watch the sun go down, before you wander up to one of the two beach restaurants for an evening meal.
Turning to food, we ate out most nights but on two occasions we bought a takeaway from a local restaurant (grilled chicken / pork / Greek salad / pittas etc.). We ate at the two beach restaurants and preferred the upper restaurant (Avithos Preview), but there wasn’t much in it. We also went to Esperides, Captains Table and Premier in Agrastoli. All meals were nice, if not similar in menu options. We tended to order a few appetizers with bread to start, have a main meal each, two rounds of drinks and an ice cream for the children for dessert. Meals tended to be about 60 euros per night. Our accommodation booking included a buffet breakfast, which was very good with all tastes catered for (continental, traditional Greek dishes, fresh fruit, nice coffee and even bacon and eggs).
After a few days we began exploring the island and visited:
• Antisamos Beach – stony, but wow. You will not forget your swim here.
• Mrytos Beach – you won’t forget this view
• Assos – A wonderful small fishing village with a small beach. This was our favourite day out.
• Melisani caves – Amazing colours and a fund trip in a boat into the caves.
I could go on, but am now wishing I was back in Kefalonia rather than in rainy England. To conclude the resort is brilliant for a family holiday or for couples who just want a relaxing escape. I’ve got to say this was the most relaxing holiday we have had in over 10 years. A large part of this is due to the attention to detail and level of customer service provided by Nikos, Christina and the team. You will not be disappointed, and I can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
15.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
520 reviews
14.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
346 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avithos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avithos Resort

Address: Avithos Village, Svoronata 28083, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range: $72 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avithos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avithos resort is an apartment style hotel built in the traditional Kefalonian style, set in spacious gardens and grouped around a large freshwater swimming pool. The resort is located in southern Kefalonia close to Avithos beach, 10km away from Argostoli. This is a lovely, fertile region where olive trees and citrus orchards abound. The coastline faces the tiny island of Dias and offers magnificent views to the island of Zakynthos across the channel. The resort's location makes an ideal setting for a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avithos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avithos Hotel Svoronata
Avithos Resort Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing