We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet Again !”
Review of Avithos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avithos Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet Again !”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having visited Kefalonia annually since 1985 (usually twice a year), we have seen many changes, made many friends, and stayed in various wonderful apartments, but the Avithos Resort with it's facilities and meticulous management surpasses all. We have this year completed our 10th. visit to the Resort, and were accompanied by our daughter and two grandchildren who live in California (the girls are aged 12 & 10 and this was their 3rd. visit). The Resort is superb for them with it's large pool and many nearby safe beaches for sea swimming, which we all enjoy. The attention and help given to us, and all their clients, by every member of the staff, ensures that every visit is a pleasurable experience. The reception staff, Nikos, Vasili, and Christina are always ready to greet the visitor every time one passes, to advise on places to visit,or on tavernas for good food (and there are many nearby), or just to have a chat.
Our visit with the family was in June but we are already booked to return at the end of August.(this time unfortunately without the family as they have gone home to America)

Room Tip: A good variety of types of apartment -- All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greekophilesince1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    62
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
189
228
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is our 3rd year back to the Avithos Resort - we found it by chance the year before when we had a villa round the corner and just wanted a luggage room for the day and yet, we found a total oasis of relaxation (and the SECOND largest pool in Kefalonia!), stayed for the day for a look around and instantly fell in love with the place!

So we've now spent the past 3 years back each July. We travel as a family of 7 (mum, dad, 2 x kids and 3 grandparents) and we stay in 2 of the maisonettes which are perfect for us. The pool is huge and the grounds and apartments are always kept spotless thanks to the fantastic team that Nikos has. Nikos and Christina always look after us and help you with anything you need. Katarina is always a pleasure to chat to at the pool bar in the evening (think my son has a crush on her) and Angela works flat out in the pool bar at lunchtimes - please try the Kefalonian Rigadana (sp?), it's a bit like a Greek brushetta - and the chips are scrumptious! Angela knows as soon as i approach the bar that i'll be placing an order for an ice coffee and is always happy and helpful.

We have now raved about the Avithos Resort for the past few years, to the extent that some families we got chatting to this year and last had read my previous reviews (see i am a real person who actually goes to the resort!!). Also, we have 3 sets of friends and their families who have also fallen for the resorts charms and have visited also - huge pressure for us that they liked it, but then who wouldnt!

Top tips would be;
Restaurants & Bars -
1. The 2 Tavernas on the Avithos Beach do great food and the beach bar is very 'Cafe Del Mar'.
2. Butlers Restaurant in Lassi has the most amazing underground bathroom/museum
3. Da Veronicas has a fantastic snazzy chill out bar with a kids activity area to keep the munchkins occupied whilst you can peruse the huge cocktail list.
4. Palatino up near the Castle of St George has the most amazing meze food (please try the baked aubergines....mmmmm)
5. Premier in the square in Argostoli does nice food, caters well for kids and does the most amazing array of ice creams possible
6. Not sure of the name of the restaurant but it's in Argostoli overlooking Lixouri - it's very swish and has chill out sofas behind glass walls. The food was lovely and the setting just amazing. Cocktails are about 10euros so it's not the cheapest place but the location makes it worthwhile.

Beaches -
1. Avithos - great atmosphere & our favourite, this year quite a few stones have kicked up near the shoreline but it's still an amazing beach. Best beach bar on the island!
2. Trapezaki - very chilled out and very sandy all the way out - nice rustic beach bar and great snokelling.
3. Ai Helis - like Trapezaki and the opposite way to Avithos about same distance
4. Kaminia - a large stretch of beach which is very wild and free - lots of sunbed options at different stages on the beach but the one we went to they are FREE
5. AntiSamos - pebble beach but stunning location and great snorkelling (and pedloes)
6. Aghia Thomas - very small coupe of beaches but lovely and sandy - also has a rock platform formation which you can dive off with a ladder for climbing back up
7. Katelios - we didnt go on this one but it's on the way to Kaminia and looks lovely
(Myrtos is pretty from the look out but shelves off considerably and biggish waves so not good for small kids)

Excusions;
1. Captain Vangelis Ithaca Trip from Skala.
2. Assos and Fiskardo are nice little fishing villages worth a visit

You wont regret staying at the Avithos Resort, it's an extremely relaxing place and you'll feel welcome from everyone there.

I've posted some photos and a video - although the video was taken on our last morning there so the apartment looks a bit messy - i should have done it as soon as we had it cleaned!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaikouramonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Kefalonia, a perfect 2 week break at the Avithos Resort. Kristina, Nikos and his brother (Vasily hope I\'ve spelt correctly) are a wonderful team and were always ready with a smile and advice and tips on the best beaches/restaurants to be found on your travels, and offering a lift if required. All of the staff are superb, the rooms are kept immaculately clean, and the gardens which are so well tended to, are a dream perfectly framing the magnificent pool area and snack bar, where Angela made a wonderful Greek baguette (my husband has craved them since). Car hire was made incredibly simple and exploring the island was a dream come true all the magnificent beaches of which our favourites were Pessada, Antisamos and Myrtos (blown away by the view) and Ai Helis, however we have left some to explore on a return visit which I hope will be next year. Thoroughly enjoyed eating at Esperides, Dum Spiro, the Akropolis (and popped into Crazy Georges for enormous glasses of wine) and the restaurants at the Avithos beach. We also managed to catch the turtles in Argostoli and strolled around the shops enjoying coffee in the cosmopolitan square. We drove up to the national park for amazing views of the whole island and stopped off at the Robolo winery (a necessity you understand). My favourite spot was Assos, so pretty, will return just to spend more time there, my husband\'s favourite spot was Fiscardo and my daughter enjoyed the tiny coves at Pessada, the water is beautiful to swim in.. When we left on 30 June it was the usual mad panic at the end of term and I\'m delighted to say we returned home totally chilled and relaxed and suitably bronzed and eager to return again very soon. Thank you to everyone at Avithos for making our stay with you so memorable and enjoyable :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've never felt inclined to write a review before but Nikos and his team deserve to be recognised.
I stayed here from 11th July for originally one week with a friend. Surrounded by stunning scenery and pure luxury I couldn't bear to leave so did a Shirley Valentine and stayed an extra week on my own!
I have never stayed anywhere like this: it truly feels like a home from home.
The place is an absolute haven and cannot wait to return.
Jeanette. (11th - 25th July 2013)

Room Tip: I chose a ground floor room. The gardens are stunning and you have the option to move in or out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Where should I start to describe my recent holiday at Avithos Resort.

You arrive and you are welcomed as if you go and see your own family.

The stuff is the friendliest I have ever encountered in any hotel I have been so far. Nikos will take care of everything and help you with whatever you need, from restaurant taxi or trip bookings to picking you personally up from the beach and shops if you wish.

The resort is kept in a perfect state, everything is so well maintained and clean.

The rooms are very spacious and have everything you need for your vacation.

The best thing me and my fiancee agreed on is certainly the pool, it is just amazing, always perfectly clean and always at the right temperature.

Breakfast is served until late so you can sleep as long as you want and still enjoy all the fresh fruits an juices even if you got out of bed a bit later.

I think the only thing they could improve is the Wifi around the property, but I am sure Nikos is already working on it as he is aware of every single detail.

I would recommend this property to everyone I know in search for a nice relaxing holiday with perfect service.

Thanks again for having us, we had a amazing time

Roman & Erika

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed here three times now and absolutely love it. It's like coming home. Nikos and Christina and all the staff make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. As soon as we step off the plane we relax knowing everything has been well organised and the hire car is waiting for us and we can't wait to get to the resort! Looking forward to coming back again soon. Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue3758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My 23yr old daughter and I stayed for a week at the beginning of July at the fabulous Avithos Resort. We chose the accommodation after reading the great reviews on TA and believe me, they are all true! I had emailed Nikos in advance after reading about him on the site and he kindly organised for someone to collect us from the airport and bring us to the Avithos. Really quick transfer, about ten minutes [but you will not hear an aircraft there!]. The Hotel itself is spotless, stylish and contemporary, lounge is air-conditioned and cool. The pool area is well laid out with a super pool bar which has a good selection of drinks and bar snacks. The breakfast room leads out onto the terrace by the pool so you can choose to have your breakfast either inside or out. Buffet style, the choice is super including hot cooked breakfast if that is your preference.. We cannot fault the team at the hotel. Nikos and his brother Vasillis were available to assist when required, and as I had decided not to drive on this trip, they were more than happy to run us to the mini market, beach or taverna if we wished [although they were all withing walking distance]. Most people do seem to hire a car if they stay in Svoronata, as it is a rural location, with about 6 or 7 good tavernas close by. If you are looking for buzzy night life and bars, then this is not the place for you. Quiet, tranquil and yet with all amenities, I really cannot fault this place. What my daughter referred to as 'proper Greece'. There are three beaches within 10-15 minutes walk. Our favourite was a walk through the olive grove to the right of the hotel, and then left at the wood shack until you reach the steps down to the beach. We stayed in an upstairs superior studio and had many a pleasant evening sitting on our balcony underneath the starlit sky with a glass of the local vino! The studio was spacious with air conditioning. The kitchenette is well supplied should you wish to buy supplies from the mini market and cook for yourself. We chose to eat out each night and really found all the local tavernas to be good. Our particular favourite was the Esperides which is closest to the hotel and sits in an Orange Grove. Great grill house, you get a free ice cream with your bill! Costas who runs it with his cousin is a great guy to get chatting to and will recommend some good choices. Wine there is pretty good to - and only a short stagger back! Fois restaurant has live music on a Saturday night and both tavernas down at Avithos Beach have great authentic Greek food. If you are going down to the beach in the evening and are not driving, I would recommend asking Nikos or one of his team to drop you off and pick you up - its pretty dark on the road as it is so rural, although it is perfectly safe - just take a torch if you fancy the walk! Oh and I forgot to mention the superb Kristina on reception. Friendly and helpful, she organised our taxis with 'Mr. George' when we had a trip into Argostoli. In conclusion, this is a perfect base if you are exploring the island, and a faultless place to stay if you want a quiet, relaxing and beautiful holiday, - we will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are really well appointed, but we had an upstairs corner room facing the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeashoreM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
15.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
285 reviews
24.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
496 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avithos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avithos Resort

Property: Avithos Resort
Address: Avithos Village, Svoronata 28083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avithos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avithos resort is an apartment style hotel built in the traditional Kefalonian style, set in spacious gardens and grouped around a large freshwater swimming pool. The resort is located in southern Kefalonia close to Avithos beach, 10km away from Argostoli. This is a lovely, fertile region where olive trees and citrus orchards abound. The coastline faces the tiny island of Dias and offers magnificent views to the island of Zakynthos across the channel. The resort's location makes an ideal setting for a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avithos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avithos Hotel Svoronata
Avithos Resort Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing