We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service-very welcoming staff-beautiful resort”
Review of Avithos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avithos Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service-very welcoming staff-beautiful resort”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this resort with my wife for 5 nighs in September and we loved every moment of it! The facilities are really good and the gardens with the pool set the scene for a very relaxing holiday. Enjoyed reading a book by the pool and loved the cocktails during the evenings. The beds are really comfy and all the staff are very helpful and always smiling.
A thourougly enjoyable experience. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    60
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
180
222
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamar, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A tropical outdoors setting framing a nice pool and bar area. Bougainvillaes and many other flora adding colour and coolness to the area. Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Thank you Nikos for that big smile and that little ekstra service you give customers! You really left an impression on us. The rest of the staff are also very friendly. If you don't mind not having much of a sea view than this is best place for a relaxing holiday. Many beaches and dining in the area - some of them at walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sudha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week in September and it was the nicest place I have personally stayed. The apartment was faultless, absolutely lovely bathroom with decent shower, comfortable big bed and nice patio area. Staff were very helpful, picked us up from restaurants in the evenings, helped us hire a jeep and ordered taxis etc. The area itself is very quiet perfect for a relaxing break, svoronata beach is amazing we spent most days down there and you can walk it easily - nice bit of exercise!

Really recommend this resort to anyone :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn_88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What struck me first about this charming little resort was the beautiful gardens. The vibrancy and use of traditional Kefalonian decoration really lets you know you are in a beautiful part of the world. The rooms are large and well maintained, and the brothers Nikos and Vasili who run the show are always helpful and polite. Nikos suggested many restaurants, all of which turned out to be lovely. Christina was also always helpful.

This is a great place to unwind, it is peaceful but not too isloated, with many beaches, and restaurants around. I like to walk and run, and there are plenty of good walks nearby too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KElizabeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashurst
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We simply can't wait to return to this wonderful property. Situated in a rural area, the facilities here are second to none.

From the welcome we received on arrival, each and every day the friendly staff greeted us with smiles and the utmost kindness. Nikos and his brother Vasillus run the site and nothing is too much bother for them, Angela at the poolside bar is always happy to serve and is a mine of information on Greek cooking. Our room was cleaned every day by Jonida who supplied clean linen every 2/3 days, the service we received from her was excellent.

Contrary to what a previous review says the linen and towels are of top quality and spotlessly clean (any interested visitors should make a point of totally disregarding that particular review as we can tell you first hand and after numerous visits the review is a load of codswallop, obviously written by someone with malicious intent, please ignore it it isn't true).

The gardens are well laid out and tended constantly by Niko - don't try to walk with him, the man is lightening fast! As for the pool, well we are both keen swimmers and this has to be the best maintained and cleanest pool we have ever had the pleasure of swimming in. The exercise certainly helped a little to counter the good eating.

There are numerous restaurants in the area all within 4-6 minutes drive, in our opinion the best are Fois Restaurant run by Nicky and Spero Fois - try their briam as you'll be back for more. The other restaurant is at Avithos Beach, Enetiko run by Dmitrius.

The room we had is a maisonette which was very spacious with a large balcony overlooking the gardens, vineyards and olive groves. The sunsets are sensational. Compared with other self-catering facilities we have experienced in the past the cooking facilities are very good we even managed a couple of good meals including stifado and briam.

We'll conclude by stressing how friendly everyone at Avithos is, it was a genuine pleasure to visit and meet these lovely people. We are now looking forward to June when we know we will have another unforgettable holiday.

This place is simply the best is Cephalonia, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a week at Assos before and early morning flight off the island. we were pleasantly surprised by this resort. It was great value with good sized rooms and a nice pool.

Location for the airport is excellent- only a 2min drive away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouLou158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First of all : every good review is true about the Avithos resort.
It was our 11 th visit in Greece and 2 nd in Kephalonia, Svoronata.We booked the room in the site of the resort. It was a very affordable and extraordinary offer for the early birds. This place is ideal for relaxing because is far from the busy cities however it has good relatively central location to explore the island. Car is necessary but there are many car rental possibilities.(We gone by our own car.)The resortand it's environment is beautiful just like on the photos but the trees have been grown and there are more comfortable sunbeds by the pool.Receptionists are very helpful in booking ferry tickets, extending our stay etc.The room was a 2 bed studio with excellent cooking utensils : microwave oven with grill, fridge and enough cutlery and plates. The beds are very comfortable and wide. The room service was excellent. We had our own breakfast because we prefer the very fine greek food.There were many mosquitos for this it would be better to have mosquito net in the windows and the terrace door. We had mosquito repellent in the room and in the terrace too. We used AC too nightly against them ( it was included in the price). The pool is really clean and big enough to swim. The lady working in the pool bar is helpful too to make us grilled feta cheese which was very tasty and could be always on the menu. The furniture, colours and the flooring is stylish everywere patricularly in the lobby and reception.All in all we had a very relaxing days in the Avithos resort and will advise it for our friends. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
783 reviews
15.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
259 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
24.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avithos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avithos Resort

Property: Avithos Resort
Address: Avithos Village, Svoronata 28083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avithos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avithos resort is an apartment style hotel built in the traditional Kefalonian style, set in spacious gardens and grouped around a large freshwater swimming pool. The resort is located in southern Kefalonia close to Avithos beach, 10km away from Argostoli. This is a lovely, fertile region where olive trees and citrus orchards abound. The coastline faces the tiny island of Dias and offers magnificent views to the island of Zakynthos across the channel. The resort's location makes an ideal setting for a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Avithos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avithos Hotel Svoronata
Avithos Resort Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing