We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to be properly on holidays and feel perfectly at home...”
Review of Sotiris Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sotiris Studios
Ranked #2 of 5 Svoronata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How to be properly on holidays and feel perfectly at home...”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I always intend to write reviews but never quite get my act together to do so. Sotiris and our chilled Kefalonia holiday however deserves one, so here it is.
My friend and I planned this break so we could spend a week relaxing somewhere new and enjoying a little sun. Us having a week, whilst her parents joined us at the same place staying for 2 weeks. We had no real intentions of Kefalonia, but availability and cost dictated, and so we landed in Svoronata at Sotiris Studio’s- which fit the bill perfectly.
The Airport is indeed close, easy walking distance, but the few flights didn’t bother us and ‘spot the plane’ was a fun poolside game. As most reviews mention the family who own Sotiris make it what it is. A morning chat with Maria, and often a hug, puts a spring in your step; whilst the men of the family are reassuringly present all day long.
The complex is ideal; clean compact and comfortable. We had separate studios, a bit of a luxury but ending up costing much the same as to share. The rooms were large and although fairly basic had everything you needed to cater for yourself- and more than enough scope for 2 or 3 sharing if wished. We rotated patios the nights we did cook for ourselves or when it was cloudy, and enjoyed looking out to sea and watching the activity round the pool and bar. The music, mentioned in some reviews, didn’t bother us at all and was actually welcome since we didn’t bring our own. Once you shut the doors you can’t hear a thing. The pool itself and the loungers were perfect for hanging out in the sun. With it being late September it was quietening down so we never had a problem finding a spot. Whilst we were there there was a mix of singles, couples and families of ranging ages.
The bar was a good and frequent venue for chatting to the family and other guests, many who had visited before, and for making sure thirst didn’t get too severe! Terry was very helpful and gets extra points for continually referring to us as girls! Being end of season we seemed to miss the entertainment mentioned in some reviews, but had no problem making our own. Food is readily available; we only had one (tasty) evening meal on site but by the end of the week were regularly partaking of Tony’s scrummy breakfasts (well brunches in our case). We think George may have had to order in extra eggs just for us!
Away from the complex Ammes beach is very close, pleasant and quiet with the sea being a nice change from the pool. There are 3 restaurants (one being the hotel up the road) within easy walking distances and another handful slightly further away around the village. The 2nd restaurant (O Milos with the windmill) along the front is particularly good and it is worth leaving a decent tip just to sample the ouzo and watermelon. In the day there is plenty of walking to be done around the area (or running in the case of my brave friend). For any longer than a week’s break car hire would definitely be recommended to get out and around the Island whilst using Sotiris as a base, something we’d consider in the future. We booked with Coop holiday’s which was all very smooth, although returning guests seem to book flights separately and arrange accommodation directly.
We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to spend a holiday in Kefalonia; particularly those wanting a relaxing quiet week whilst feeling part of a little community, a base to drive around and explore, or a mix of both.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj-on-getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    69
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
144
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

stayed at sotiris with 2 girlfriends. Minutes from airport which for us was a bonus, did not find aircraft a problem at all. You really do need a car to explore the island and for supermarket shopping as local supermarkets are really sparce. Room basic but clean and was adequate for our needs. If you expect luxury this is not for you. We were greeted by George and his brother Terry who very quickly sorted out a problem with our room as we had requested 3 single beds which the tour operator had failed to mention. The meals at the bar are good. We really enjoyed the Cocktail happy hour. Marvellous. Kefalonia is wonderful island and I am looking forward to revisiting as there is still so much to explore.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavarottiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

What a fabulous holiday and wonderful studios. Clean, spacious and everything we needed for a week in the sun. The pool is cleaned daily, as are the rooms. The bar and restaurant served just what we needed at very reasonable prices. The mini market stocked all the essentials. The family who run the studios are so welcoming and you feel part of the family from the first moments there. Very quiet at night and during the day - the planes don't disturb at all - just amuse you and become a bit of a novelty. It's a little noisier on a Sunday and Tuesday as commercial flights come in but that goes up to about 3 planes a day!

Ammes beach is a 5 minute (if that) walk away and is sandy with loungers and parasols - just what you need for a day on the beach - and there's a beach kiosk with drinks and food. What more could you want?!

Definitely recommend Sotiris Studios to anyone who wants a totally chilled out and relaxed holiday - not for those seeking wild night life!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Just got back from Kefalonia, WOW!!! My partner Irene & I had the best time ever. The Family who run the Sotiris Studios are quite simply WONDERFUL, and we can't wait to go back, it's just a shame that we have to wait till next year.

What can I say about the accommodation & service? Yes the accommodation was basic but we have stayed in many other greek hotels and we found this one, to be one of the best. The service we recieved was exceptional, we were made to really feel like a member of the family.

Mum Maria is one of the lovliest ladies we have met & went out of her way to greet us every day.

Dad Sotiris and the boys Terry, George & Tony are complete gentlemen and so helpful and hardworking. Nothing was ever too much for them and they gave us lots of good & helpfull tips which really helped us to get the most out of our holiday.

The atmosphere at the hotel is brilliant and very friendly. We made lots of friends on holiday, a big hello to Terry & Jeanette.

We have fallen in love with Kefalonia & The Sotiris Studios and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdnIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We have just had one week at the sotiris studios and I will have to say it is a slice of real greece. The accommodation is great, We had an apartment overlooking the pool. The pool is spotlessly cleaned every day. It was beautiful. The layout is very cosy and the pool bar is always open for anyone in the area. The service and friendliness of the greek family who own it (Maria, Tony, Terry, George (and not forgetting Sotiris the dad) is first class. They really make you feel at home. You can get breakfast lunch and dinner at anytime and you must try Maria's specials! Svoronata is quiet so not a place for party animals. If you want to chill out in a peaceful setting then this is the place for you. Thank you Sotiris, Maria, Tony, Terry, and George. Maybe one day we will come back. Love Carol/Mucka xxxx

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthangel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn,Herts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for nine nights During August.

The family who run the hotel are very helpful and friendly and are happy to give you useful advise of trips to take around the island.

We hired a car for three nights and I would recommend this for a part of your trip to enjoy the island as the hotel is near a few resturants etc but for more of an experiance you will need to venture further out.

Hotel is 5 minutes form airport which does not have a lot of planes leaving / departing but when they do they fly very close we we actually enjoyed and it was intersting to watch - especially when you are in the sea and they fly over you !

Hotel rooms are basic but we only prepared a bit of breakfast in them and ate out. The hotel had a resturant where we had some good meals and good snacks. Bar is open till 12 ish and has cocktails/local beer/ wine etc. Pool is nice and cleaned every night. A nice hotel with brilliant family running it - would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am not one for normally writing or posting on sites such as these but just before my families annual trip to sotiris studios I decided to look up this site out of curiosity. Having spent the last 6 summers at sotiris studios I knew what to expect but then I saw there was 2 poor reviews and had to read them, I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion but these are bias and totally untrue!!! fact.

Terry and his family have made us feel welcome, no like family since the day we met them and although I would like to think it is just us who gets this treatment I know they treat everyone the same. Yes their is a little airport noise from time to time but nothing bad- apart from that their is nothing that I could say bad about the place or the guys. And the claim that the rooms were unclean and needed cleaning is just a lie as I have never NEVER seen such dedication to room cleaning and service - fresh linen every day, free books to read and plenty of sun beds, hotel is set in lovely green gardens that are tended daily. There is a kids pool and table tennis to keep kids happy. There is nothing to much for Terry and the family to ask of them they will bend over backwards for you to make your stay the best it can be. The pool has been re-modelled and lined recently and the bar alway a great place to chill out and chat til late. The food is fantastic and the Burgers and Pizza's amazing as is Maria's specials. The beach is just down the road and not even 10 min walk, and Lacie is 15 mins away and a very short (cheap) cab ride. Lacie has bars and lovely places to eat as does Agostoli the Town centre a mile down past Lacie, wether you want a quiet pool beach holiday or loud active one I can think of no where on Kefalonia I would recommend more than Sotiris Studios, infact the fact that most of the business these guys get is returning visitors speaks for itself. I do not know where 'alc123' and 'anne60Scotland' stayed but it was NOT in the Sotiris StudiosI know. I get 2 week holiday a year with my family and it mean the world to me and I certainly would not take them to the place these 'people' described. Sotiris Studios is a wonderful family run business on a wonderful Island. Trust me stay here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marces72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#6 of 7 in Svoronata
139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leivatho Hotel
Leivatho Hotel
#38 of 140 in Cephalonia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baha Ammes Apartments
Baha Ammes Apartments
#3 of 7 in Svoronata
98 reviews
11.9 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotiris Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotiris Studios

Property: Sotiris Studios
Address: Svoronata 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotiris Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sotiris Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotiris Studios Svoronata
Sotiris Studios Hotel Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing