We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you only read 1 review - make this it!!”
Review of Sotiris Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sotiris Studios
Ranked #1 of 5 Svoronata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If you only read 1 review - make this it!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I am not one for normally writing or posting on sites such as these but just before my families annual trip to sotiris studios I decided to look up this site out of curiosity. Having spent the last 6 summers at sotiris studios I knew what to expect but then I saw there was 2 poor reviews and had to read them, I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion but these are bias and totally untrue!!! fact.

Terry and his family have made us feel welcome, no like family since the day we met them and although I would like to think it is just us who gets this treatment I know they treat everyone the same. Yes their is a little airport noise from time to time but nothing bad- apart from that their is nothing that I could say bad about the place or the guys. And the claim that the rooms were unclean and needed cleaning is just a lie as I have never NEVER seen such dedication to room cleaning and service - fresh linen every day, free books to read and plenty of sun beds, hotel is set in lovely green gardens that are tended daily. There is a kids pool and table tennis to keep kids happy. There is nothing to much for Terry and the family to ask of them they will bend over backwards for you to make your stay the best it can be. The pool has been re-modelled and lined recently and the bar alway a great place to chill out and chat til late. The food is fantastic and the Burgers and Pizza's amazing as is Maria's specials. The beach is just down the road and not even 10 min walk, and Lacie is 15 mins away and a very short (cheap) cab ride. Lacie has bars and lovely places to eat as does Agostoli the Town centre a mile down past Lacie, wether you want a quiet pool beach holiday or loud active one I can think of no where on Kefalonia I would recommend more than Sotiris Studios, infact the fact that most of the business these guys get is returning visitors speaks for itself. I do not know where 'alc123' and 'anne60Scotland' stayed but it was NOT in the Sotiris StudiosI know. I get 2 week holiday a year with my family and it mean the world to me and I certainly would not take them to the place these 'people' described. Sotiris Studios is a wonderful family run business on a wonderful Island. Trust me stay here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marces72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    64
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
137
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I read the reviews on here before booking and would say that they give an honest impression of the Sotiris Studios. We got a good deal for 2 weeks through Manos and I would say that we got value for money. This is basic greek accommodation. If you have stayed self catering in Greece before for a similar price, you will know what to expect and will not be disappointed. People have commented on the cleanliness, but I found this better than other places we have stayed. The rooms were cleaned well between stays and daily. You can't expect 'hotel levels' of cleanliness! The rooms were a good size, as was the balcony which had views of the sea and was great for watching the sun set. If I had a choice, I would rather be in the block with the sea view, than the block with the pool view. We also had a double bed which is quite unnusual for Greek SC. The room was fine for our stay, no problems. Its aspect means that it is nice and cool during the day, though it did get very hot at night. The A/C is 5 Euros per night. We did not use this, but looking back, it would have been a good idea for the first few nights until you aclimatise. The location meant that the airport transfer was quick, (10 mins). Opt out of this if you get the choice. Even at peak season, the planes are not a problem... in fact it is quite exciting watching them come in. Sundays and Tuesdays are the busiest with a plane coming in about every half hour during the day. There were no night flights. The resort is very quiet... we were not quite preparted for how quiet it was. However, there really is everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The pool is a good size for the amount of people and for most of the time there were sufficient sunbeds, although half way through our stay, several large groups began dominating the pool area and sunbeds were being reserved with towels on from very early in the morning. I have never seen it quite as bad as this and some people were aggressively territorial about their sunbeds! We found it wasn't the Germans, or the dutch, it was the Norweigans!! The British were pretty bad too! The most annoying thing was that you'd wander down at 9.15 am to get a couple of sunbeds and there'd be none left, but nobody was actually using them, there was just towels on them. So you'd sit and wait for one to become free. Some families didn't make it down to use 'their sunbeds' until midday or three in the afternoon, in one case. This really did spoil our holiday in the last few days as because there is so little to do in the resort, you are forced to spend a quite a bit of time on site. I guess this was more down to the particular group of guests rather than it being the fault of the owners, but I feel that they could have discouraged people from doing this, by putting up signs or speaking to some of them as it was bothering a lot of people. I've posted a picture of the sunbed reserving!!

We did not hire a car, as we didn't fancy driving on the roads, but I would recommend you do this if you are able to as you are a bit trapped and isolated otherwise. We went on one trip through the tour operator called, 'Sunseekers' this was a ride on a glass bottom boat to the beach at Xi, where you have a beach BBQ. This was 60E per adult which we thought was quite steep, especially with the current exchange rate, but we felt it was worth it. It would suit couples and families with children 8+.

There is not a lot to the 'resort'. The beach at Ammes is very nice. It's about a 10min walk away. There were always plenty of sunbeds to hire. 6Euro for 2 sunbeds and a parasol. The beach was nice and sandy, though the sand very hot! The beach and sand were very clean - much cleaner than many Greek beaches. The water shelves gently, but can get quite choppy. The beach to the right is steeper but has an unusual sand plateau about 50m out that is great for playing frisbee etc on. There are 2 restaurants along the sea front. It looks like big things were once planned for the resort, but nothing happened. The restaurants were fairly empty on our visit, despite it being the height of the season. The food was very nice and was a reasonable price.

The Sotiris has its own bar, restaurant and shop. The family are wonderful. Very welcoming. They speak excellent English and as other reviewers have said, they really make it a nice place. The shop has most things you will need at a reasonable price. The service at the restaurant and the bar are excellent. Maria's sons work very hard. There is a good choice of food to suit all tastes and there is plenty of simple/English food for younger children.

Although we were a couple, we were in the minority. As we travelled during the school holidays, most of the other holiday makers were families. This meant that the pool area was noisy at times and the pool was often crammed full of forgotten inflatables!

Further up the hill, there are some other appartments called the Astra. It's quite posh in comparison, but you are free to use the pool area there. We hung out there on a few days because it was much nicer! The restaurant there serves very nice food, though a bit pricey and we found the service there to be appalling! There are 2 more shops next to the Astra where you will find anything else that you need, including a good range of souveniers and inflatables! Again, we thought the prices were quite steep here, but were nothing compared to the prices at the airport where we paid 5 Euros for a small glass of draft beer, 3Euros for a bag of crisps!!! Take your own food/drink to the airport, if possible!

The walk up to the village of Svoranata is supposed to be nice, but we got lost! There's not supposed to be that much up there. There is a cash point located at the airport. This is about 1.5km away. It took us about 45 mins to walk there. Or if you have a car/hire a taxi, you could go to Lassi/Argostoli.

We really did have a fantastic time, and would not hesitate to reccommend the Sotiris Studios.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matildathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We visited Sotiris Studios this year and have only been back home 3 weeks but wish we were back by the pool.............the studios are basic - but clean - we had double and single bed but large spacious room, equipped with all you need in small kitchenette with full size fridge - air con works well - all apartments have a good view of sea or pool, and view out the back is over Olive groves and towards mountains. Pool and surround clean tidy and very pretty and always plenty of sun loungers. Bar well stocked (try the Frappé!!) and there is restaurant with good menu and plenty of choice from breakfasts, burgers, pasta, pizzas right through to Greek dishes, Greek salads........nice and well used (by me) ice cream freezer, also small shop with basics plus fresh bread every morning.....overall all prices are not as bad as we feared .....(however fuel is 1.60 Euros) and also haggle on car hire! We ate in Sotiris half time and cooked in the room a few times plus found few local tavernas tho i do recommend a car and roads are quiet and not a problem ............whole family mum, dad and 3 sons very polite, very knowledgeable and will help with anything - we were greeted on arrival and nothing too much trouble. We have been to Kefalonia 6 times and have to say this is the best accommodation we have stayed at and the best thing is it has good atmosphere in buckets - very very friendly and plenty of people to chat to in evenings and around pool by day - tv at bar showed world cup matches and music on in evening wont disturb you if you stay on balcony - had no issues at all ......we haven't had such good atmosphere in any other places we have stayed ....so top marks to Sotiris Studios and we would def go back. Kefalonia is a beautiful island and it is still possible to find rural unspoilt Greece - visit Assos, Myrtos, Argostoli and the museums, plus Sami and sit near the fresh water lake on the sea front at karavomylos and take in the view. Also a road that runs from Argostoil towards Fiskardo over the mountains is amazing - and for total rural and amazing views go from Agia Efimia up the hillside and to Fiskardo and take in the view to Ithaka - stunning.............also for bird watchers see bee eaters and Sardinian Warblers at back of hotel in fields at about 8pm !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorfolkAlison17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed here for one week Whitsun Half Term with two children 11 and 9. I think the fantastic rating this place gets, is, as the reviews suggest, down to the friendliness and willingness to please by the owners; there is nothing extra special about the apartments themselves. Appreciated the change of bed linen halfway through the week, although this is the first self catering apartment I have been to where there was absolutely nothing left from previous occupants e.g salt, pepper, washing up liquid, dishcloth. The small shop by the bar was good for buying fresh bread everyday and the price is the same as the small supermarkets five minutes walk away. Some might find the constant playing of pop music by the pool irritating, and the loudness of the once-a- week Greek Night (which by c. 10.30 had become Elvis and the Beatles) loud if you have small children/babies, but it did not go on too long). Again, planes not a problem. Remember to take your own pool towels! Despite proximity to airport E15.00 flat taxi charge as previously suggested but walking in heat with heavy luggage not for faint hearted.
If you are going this year (2010), all prices about same or more than the UK - nearby beach charges £3.00 for an ice cream! Only bargain E4 for 1.5 litre retsina which we like - an acquired taste I know. Recommend nearby Astra Village restaurant, and a very beautiful private garden c. 200 metres away, free to visit, signposted near the beach. Beware the mosquitoes - worth buying a plug in deterrant.
Greekstones car hire £87 (E100) for three days,( Hyundai Athos).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soomark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very nice hotel in a very nice area. The staff is very friendly and makes u feel welcome

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
Thank Hinken00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croston, Lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Irene and I had a fabulous 2 weeks with the family and enjoyed every minute. Possibly the best testimony of all was that everyone that we met there who were only on a weeks holiday were very envious that we were staying for TWO.
The rooms are fine and value for money, the pool bar is brilliant and most importantly, they have a telly that is constantly on Sport (mainly football!!) - great for the World Cup. Even better is that there is now another telly available so you can watch two matvhes at once - heaven!!
Maria (the mum) is a fantastic cook and you must try her Cephalonian Pie - it's brill!! Terry, Tony and young George are always available and will help with anything.
All in all it's a great place to Chillout and NO - the planes are not a problem
Enjoy a visit and say hello from us!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crostoncritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We enjoyed our 2 week stay at the Sotiris studios and it is in a very peaceful location apart from the few minutes a plane lands. However we enjoyed watching the planes and never found the noise too loud or disturbing. The Pool area and gardens are clean and tidy but I do have to say that our room wasn't cleaned very well at all. The bins were changed daily and beds and towels changed but the room floor, bathroom floor and sinks never got touched.
I would still recommend it to friends though so don't be put off, we told the rep so hopefully it will be sorted.
Beds are very firm.
The village is very small and the choice of tavernas limited but there were 2 good tavernas on the beach road 10 minutes away and a couple more about 30 minutes away. If you hire a car drive down to Avithos beach in the evening and go to Preview - very good local food, all homemade.
Also when you hire a car to see the island and get to bigger supermarkets try a night at Jerrys in Katelious.
Buses run daily into Argostoli but the times aren't very helpful. The best you can do is 10.30 from the resort - last bus back leaves Argostoli at 2pm. Long enough for lunch and a quick shop.
Nice cake shop in lakithra

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#6 of 7 in Svoronata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
11.9 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leivatho Hotel
Leivatho Hotel
#39 of 140 in Cephalonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
16.1 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 7 in Svoronata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotiris Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotiris Studios

Property: Sotiris Studios
Address: Svoronata | Kefalonia, Svoronata 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotiris Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sotiris Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotiris Studios Svoronata
Sotiris Studios Hotel Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing