We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have just got back from 10 days at the Astra Village and it really is perfect.
The location is slightly elevated from the coast so there are amazing views of the sea and surrounding countryside, with the only sounds from the balcony being the goats in the evening and the cockerels in the morning, oh and the odd plane but that's graet fun and not a disruption at all. The hotel is spotlessly clean with a maid service everyday. There is also a fridge, safe and air conditioning, all at no extra cost-often an expensive extra . Also we had little extras like washing up liquid, tea towels and jay cloths in the kitchen area, not that very much washing up went on, but it was handy for washing up the wine glasses!! Often on other holidays we have had to go to the local shop to buy all of that sort of stuff. Also there was pump soap in the bathroom and small bottles of shampoo etc. The photos on the web site are a little out of date, it is even better than the pictures show with white sofas to lounge around on round the pool for drinking wine and reading books, which we did most days.!! The staff even change the covers on the cushions nearly every day , amazing.The food, well where do I start! The lunches you need to experience. Not expensive, huge portions and all freshly prepared. Enjoy the greek platter with a litre of house white, bliss. We ate in the evening for about 20/25 euros , starters, main course and wine.There is a little mini market next door where you can stock up on water, crisps etc, - - say hello to Anna, wonderful smile and so friendly. Opposite the hotel is a car hire place - -130 euros for a small car for 4 days. and there are about 4/5 tavernas all within walking distance of the hotel.
We didn't quite believe all the other amazing reviews that have been written about this hotel before we arrived but now understand what it's all about. One of the best holidays we have ever had, thank you to everyone at the Astra Village Hotel. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louDorsetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 413 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

We can only repeat what everyone else has written about this hotel,it really is a little oasis,breakfast has a great choice,nobody books sunbeds and there are plenty umbrellas, all the staff cant do enough for you(Tom has left) and Hotel and pool are spotless and clean.We like going to the beach and there is a beautiful beach a few minutes walk away.The beach has won a blue flag award and it is obvious why,they keep it immaculate.Other reviews remark about the airport being close and the planes really do provide entertainment flying right over the beach and are not a nuisance.We ate in the hotel and also walked down to Ammes Restaurant both were really good (we tried Paradise but wouldnt recommend it).We did the bus tour of the island through tour operator instead of hiring a car as we were only away for a week and it is a beautiful island,wish we had booked 2 weeks

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from a weeks stay at astra village and rate it the best we have stayed at in greece so far! The hotel grounds are well keeped and the pool area and reception are spotless. the room was good with a great view of the gardens sorrounding the hotel also good shower.
A car hire is a must to see the island as the hotel is in the middle of nowwhere,
the local beach is nice but nothing special, there are two tavernas nearby the first one you come to the food isnt good but the rose is! and the next one is good all round, the the best locally for us was acropolis which was a short drive from the hotel.
kefalonia as a whole is beautiful with great roads with great views but lacks the villages of corfu possible due to the earthquake in 1954.

KEFALONIA = ASTRA VILLAGE= GREAT HOLIDAY!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

There is a complex comprising the pool, restaurant overlooking the pool , pool bar with widescreen TV, indoor bar also with TV, reception area & a comfortable lounge area with computer internet access & another widescreen TV. Rooms are in two story houses dotted around in the gardens. The pool is not heated but the water is very warm & there are plenty of sunbeds & parasols. The outer bar area has comfy sofas with lots of cushions, ideal for spending an afternoon reading in the shade helped by lots of cooling drinks & yummy snacks. The help yourself breakfast is superb - 4 different fruit juices, nescafe coffee and chcolate & cappuchino & various kinds of tea. Then there are an assortment of cereals including muesli,dried & crystalised fruits including apricot, dates, banana, pineapple & mango. Large bowls of Greek yoghourt both plain & flavoured plus a large bowl of fresh fruit salad. Of course there are sliced meats & cheeses and then the hot selection of eggs (boiled, fried, omelette, scrambled) plus 2 kinds of sausages, baked beans, tomatoes, bacon, fried potatoes, creamed mushrooms & then (phew!) pain au chocolate, various cakes & pastries, croissants, at least 4 different kinds of bread, toast, preserves incuding honey, pineapple jam, other jams & chocolate spread!!! The restaurant serves some good evening meals, beautifully presented & very delicious. Of course prices in the hotel are a little higher than local tavernas but you won't be disappointed & there are a few tavernas down the road near the beaches ( the best is the second on the left with blue & white stripey chairs & a windmill in the garden). The hotel has a small shop run by a lovely lady who also does the Greek dancing on the weekly Greek night. Opposite is a mini market with most things you will need & next door to that is Greekstones car hire - very efficient & reasonable rates but best book in the UK via email as larger cars in short supply. They will quote all inclusive rates & do not take a deposit - you pay in full when you get the car. We explored most of the island by car but perhaps because of the earthquake in 1953 there aren't many quaint fishing villages like on other Greek islands. Tour company recommends Fiskardo, which wasn't damaged in the quake, but we preferred Asos - gorgeous. Hotel is very near airport - 5 mins in car & you can see runway from the swimming pool balcony but this is fascinating! There are few flights & hardly any noise. A steeply shelving but sandy beach is 5 to 10 mins stroll downhill & has sunbeds, lifeguard, parasols, beach shack serving drinks & snacks. There are other beaches closeby but you will need a car or can hire a mountain bike from the hotel. Hotel staff are without exception very helpful & friendly. & everything in the hotel is spotlessly clean. This is a family run hotel & Irene the manageress speaks excellent English. You will also see her mother, father & brother there together with a cousin who is in charge of the restaurant & his brother who runs the bar! Then there is Tom who mans the bar during the day & appears in the restarant in the evenings - a treasure! ! Entertainment is VERY low key consisting of the weekly Greek night ( staff dancing to recorded music but they involve you too & it's quite fun after a few drinks), & weekly live music from a very likeable duo.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnekaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Had a lovely time at the Astra Village May/June 10. Rooms were very clean; well above typical Greek standard. Food was of a very high quality though would have been expensive had we not been half board. We were slightly disappointed with the choice of evening meals but you couldn't fault the standard. We had a car for the duration which was both necessary as the hotel is a bit remote and also very worthwhile as the island itself is beautiful. What made the trip for us though was the friendliness of the staff at the Astra Village. Tassos, Kostas, Caroline, Efi and particularly Tom were excellent company and all very proficient at their job. They're probably under-valued by their management but it doesn't seem to worry them. As most people have said, the proximity of the airport is not an issue at all. All in all, a lovely place. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetenWend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Just got back from a two week stay at Astra Village. We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we are so glad we did! We travelled with a 3 year old and a 4month old so booked a suite. Room was good, really clean, spacious with a kitchenette. The closeness to the airport meant the transfer time for minimal, and the planes didn't bother us at all. We found the location perfect for travelling around the island. The pool was lovely, really quiet and the restaurant was very good. Also there is a shop on site selling groceries/ice creams/etc. Would recommend hiring a car to travel around the island particularly with little ones. The tavernas are lovely and beaches beautiful. People very friendly to children also. Avithos Beach sort ride away and is beautiful, clear waters and two very nice tavernas nearby.
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Myself, husband & 11 year old daughter recently stayed at Astra and a great time was had by all. The hotel is very close to the airport - so no long transfers. You did see and hear planes but they were not invasive and created a little excitement when they came into land. The location certainly has a rural feel to it. We hired a car or 3 days and this was definately worth is - as the island really is beautiful.
The hotel itself is very well maintained and offer a relaxing, friendly, not in your face, service. There is a real family feel and because of its size you get to know the people that work there, my husband got on very well with Tassos, the bar man, perhaps beacuse he spent so much time at the bar! We ate in the restaurant once and the food was good, also good quality are the snacks that you can eat at lunch time. I would think that if they offered these snacks - baguettes, pizza etc later into the evening they would get more custom.
There are 2 restaurants in very easy walking distance, the first one that you come to is okay, the second 'Ammes' we loved, waiters were friendly and the food was excellent, They hold a Greek music night each Thursday which we attended and really enjoyed.
The room that we had in the hotel was spotless, cleaned regularly with controllable a/c. It was somewhat small but to be honest we didn't spend much time in there! There was a shower over a bath - unusual for Greece! There was also a small kitchenette area - can' t see anyone cooking a 3 course dinner here but fine for cooking snack, I would imagine - we are out every evening so didn't give it a try. A fridge is provided.
There are beaches walking distance and other beautiful beaches within driving distance.
The hotel pool was the favourite haunt of our daughter, it was very relaxing sitting around the pool with a cool drink in hand reading a book.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TedSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
6.4 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
16.2 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sami Beach Hotel
Sami Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sami
294 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
Kefalonia Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Argostolion
208 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Village Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Village Hotel & Suites

Address: Ammes-Svoronata | Kefalonia, Svoronata 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range: $65 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astra Village Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Astra Village Hotel Suites & Spa extends over 20 acres of green land on a gently sloping hillside stretching along a sunset-facing sandy beach, overlooking the sparkling Ionian Sea.Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically perfect premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kindhearted people with a tradition of excellence in service are dedicated to your well being. So, whether your idea of the "perfect holiday" is relaxing on the beach to the rhythm of gentle waves, enjoying the stunning view from your pool parasol or exploring the delightful island of KEFALONIA, Astra Village Hotel is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astra Village Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Village Hotel Svoronata
Astra Village Hotel And Suites
Astra Village Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing