We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anna? Who is Anna?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Grove Studios/Apartments
Ranked #1 of 6 Svoronata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Superb, clean (thanks to MARIA!!!) welcoming, and totally relaxing. When writing a review I suggest people get their facts right. MARIA the cleaner is a lovely lady, Darius a brilliant bloke behind the bar on an evening when there is no need to provide food, and Vanna? She is a wonderful, skatty, dizzy, kind and loving person who will do anything for you................yes, you may have to wait for your food, yes you may have to wait for a drink (have you got a bus to catch? Are you in a rush? I sincerely hope not, you're on holiday, you're in Greece, you have to learn about GMT...................Greek Maybe Time!!). I LOVE this place, I will be down there at every opportunity and I can only HIGHLY recommend this place to put all your troubles to bed for the duration of your chilled out stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rewsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

we stayed here August 2012. taking two apartments, which were spotless and were kept as such during out 2 week stay , Anna the maid, was a diamond!! nothing was too much trouble, including wedding anniversary confetti!! which she had no problems with even when I demanded broom and dustpan, it was bad!!........Darrios we loved, just didnt see enough of him, due to his other commitments. and then there is Vanna, marmite, love her or hate her, we tried middle ground, its the onlt time staying in a 'family run' hotel with NO family, waiting over an hour to order a drink.........kid you not, or hours for food.............we really didnt want her trouble and woes and what a bad deal she has......only 2 rings to cook on, people in such a such apartment are ****** people in apartment, not professional or Greek. The Orange Grove top of the track is excellent!! Not an awful lot in svoronata, but thats the charm!!! only downside not very accessible if you are not FULLY mobile, other than that avoid poolbar if vanna is on and you will have an excellent time. PS Vanna doesnt OWN the place and IS NOT the manager

Room Tip: main block ............no sea views available too far inland, but less noise from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris-fred-jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Having been to the beautiful island of Kefalonia before, I knew exactly the area I wanted to stay and we picked the Olive Grove for exactly that reason. This place is a real gem purely for one factor. The fabulous manager, Vanna, who really does do everything in her power to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and looks after you as if you were family.

The property itself is a typical Greek apartment complex, fairly small with three lovely swimming pools and poolside bar, serving drinks and food in a quite road close to the capital and airport.

Vanna though is the friendliest host I've ever met and I was genuinely sad that my stay came to and end. Her kindness is incredible - culminating in her cooking for my family a traditional Greek meal (for which she would not let us pay for her ingredients) and sharing her wonderful stories and memoires of beautiful Kefalonia.

Fantastic stay and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The complex has a couple of two bedroom apartments, excellent set-up for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just spent a wonderful two weeks at the olive grove. What a fanastic welcome and stay we had. Vanna, Darios and Maria are just brilliant!!! Our son is in a wheelchair and we were a little worried about the facilities and accesibility. We however have managed really well and only found the shower cubicle difficult (next time we will have a studio with a wet room). Careful consideration had be given to the furniture layout in the room to accomodate my sons needs in his chair. Our family were given genuine care by all of the staff that far exceeded our expectations( very special people!!) Recommend the thursday BBQ which has wonderful fresh food and lots of it for the 15 euro price. I don't eat meat and vanna even arranged for me to have fish!!!( what a gem!!) Look out for the turtles in Argostoli and the friendly welcome and good food at Dum Spiro's. The beaches nearby not brilliant for wheelchair users so would recommend a car.(lovely beaches though).. White rocks beach near Lassi has a car park near the beach and even had wooden pallets on the sand making it easy to get to loungers with the wheelchair ( not sure if this will always be the case though). There is a couple of steps but we managed to help my son down and the lifeguard was always eager to help..will certainly return!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to The Olive Grove and it was still as lovely as ever. Vanna was a welcoming as usual. It was also great to see many fellow returning holiday makers.
The Orange Grove and Preview Taverna still serving great food in a lovely setting. Avithos beach still our favourite. A trip on the Sami Star to Ithaca is a must and very good value 30 euros each. Greekstones car hire is the best place to hire a car to se some of the island, Fiscardo and Asos are simply beautiful.
Hope to go again next year. !

Room Tip: We always pick a room in the old building as it it away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Let me start by saying having stayed at this venue as a fellow holiday-maker during the two-week stay of 'AndyGriff' and his obnoxious family I would have had more sympathy for his earlier so-called 'review' on here if it was not in complete and utter contrast to the 'wholly wonderful' written comments he placed in the 'Visitors Book' held at the venue at the end of his families two-week stay. Amongst many others, the word 'coward' immediately sprang to mind when I read his so-called 'review' on here - which was posted from the relative safety and sanctuary of the UK - some 3,000+ miles away from Svoranata...... Frankly his and his families behaviour whilst they stayed at this venue - which not only tested the patience of other holiday makers and staff - would have no doubt severly tested that of 'Job'. I'm all in favour of people exercising their right to complain, but for an adult to act like a spoilt child in the way 'AndyGriff' did over the 'pool' incident is totally unacceptable and it no wonder he received such short shrift from those responsible for the accommodation. In light of this, as a fellow holidaymaker, I would respectfully suggest to 'AndyGriff' that, rather than him wasting his and everybodyelses time by putting downright dishonest and unnecessarilly negative posts on here, he should instead spend his time more productively (carefully) examining his own appalling 'spoilt child' behaviour and that which was mimicked constantly throughout the two week period by his equally obnoxious son 'Ollie'.

Room Tip: Unlike 'AndyGriff' I suggest potential holidaymakers actually study the accommodation detail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PaulBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Let me start by saying we have been to a Greek Island on holiday for the past 22 years, give or take a couple, so I am not an amateur when it comes to Greek accomodation. In this place, quite simply, the accomodation is not adequate.

We had a so-called studio for 2-4 people (although we had booked an Apartment for 4, therein lies another story). This studio was one room with two double beds (they were comfortable to be fair) crammed together, and an extra Z-bed (there were two adults, two children aged 14 & 10, boy and girl,hence I guess the reason for the Z-bed), and a bathroom, approx 5 foot square, swing and cat come to mind.The 'Self Catering' bit comprised of one 'big' Hob and one 'small' hob, plus a Toaster and Kettle, and a fridge with small freezer box.. Not sure how you're expected to self cater with that. Fortunately we ate out 90% of the time.

The 'bathroom' contained a very small shower cubicle that had to be hand-held as the only shower head holder was at a height of about 3ft. Then there was the basin that got clogged up every other day, which I had to ask them to sort. The waste 'hole' in the middle of the room had a cover on it that kept disappearing down the hole if it was accidentally toched, not a pretty sight.

The balcony had wonderful views..of an Olive Tree. Nice as that tree was, it got a bit boring after a while.

The pool, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, was not clean. Having read all these reviews before we went, I had my suspicions, and they were well informed. Not sure why nobody mentions this, but the deep end of the pool was just not clear, you couldn't see the bottom, and it had a green tinge to it. While we were there, six people had ear infections to my knowledge, although being British, we just seem to accept these things. We had a stroke of luck, which didn't appear to be that at the time...a young child had a no. 2 in the pool. The owner turns up, really can't be bothered, and disappers saying it a part of a tree fallen in. After a lot of disgruntled punters actually spoke up (amazing) Vanna and the Thomas Cook rep eventually persuaded the owner to come back. He put the 'Out of Order' signs up, and promised it would be sorted that evening. They did sort it, and they actually cleaned the pool. Two days later we have a perfectly clear pool, the bottom can be seen as clear as day, as it should have been in the first place.

Vanna, the Jack(ess) of all trades, is a lovely woman, very helpful, but the food service was slow. But given what she has to work with in the kitchen, and lack of help, I have every sympathy. The un-written rule was order your food an hour before you wanted it!

The location is lovely, IF you like it quiet. It is a good 1km walk to Avithos beach (nearest) and 2.5km walk to Ammes beach (our favourite) where the water is so crystal clear. Good for plane spotters too, as they approach the airport literally right over Ammes beach (don't panic, very few planes!).

We found the tavernas to be much of a muchness. Couldn't honestly pick the best from the worst. Food for 4 (3 plus one chlld who only ate chips or Pizza!) came to between 50 and 60 euros generally, that was for a couple of starters to share, a main course each, and a drink - not cheap anymore. There are 5 tavernas within easy walking distance, a further 2 at Avithos beach, at least 2 more near Ammes beach. There is the local Supermarket within an easy walk, but if you hire a car, there is now a Lidl about 10 minutes drive away, where, as in UK, the food is so much cheaper, certainly that the local supermarket.

Look,we didn't have a bad time, we actually thoroughly enjoyed it, but this place could be so much better with just a little tlc.

Room Tip: The studios are all the same, the 2 bedroomed apartment, which we had a look round, was good. But A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andymgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Sotiris Studios
Sotiris Studios
#4 of 8 in Svoronata
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baha Ammes Apartments
Baha Ammes Apartments
#3 of 8 in Svoronata
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barbara Studios Svoronata
Barbara Studios Svoronata
#1 of 12 in Svoronata
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 8 in Svoronata
529 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lagoon View Apartments
Lagoon View Apartments
#1 of 4 in Lakithra
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Studios/Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Studios/Apartments

Address: Svoronata Kefalonia, Svoronata 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Svoronata
Price Range: $54 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olive Grove Studios/Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Grove Studios and Apartments is a small complex based in Kefalonia (or Cephalonia), largest and most beautiful of the Ionian islands, is one of the best places in Greece to enjoy a quiet, relaxed summer holiday. Here in the small village of Svoronata, close to the sandy beaches of Ai Helli and Avithos, you can discover the family run holiday complex called The Olive Grove. The owners, Maria and Kostas, together with their friendly staff will ensure that you and your family will have such a great holiday that you will want to re-book as soon as you can, so you can enjoy it all over again! The Olive Grove complex consists of 22 studios and 3 family apartments plus a private villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olive Grove Studios/Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Studios/Apartments Hotel Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing