We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elena Studios and Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Avithos Resort(Svoronata)(Great Value!)
$113
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astra Village Hotel & Suites(Svoronata)(Great Value!)
$77
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sotiris Studios(Svoronata)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Irinna Hotel(Svoronata)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studios Erietta(Cephalonia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
46
24
11
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
24
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of sunbedsolive grovescar hirewaitress servicewell worth the effortcoming downpot plantswithin walking distancepool barsky sportscheapest carsteep stepsthe ground floorsmall supermarketlooking forward to returning next yearfamily run placeevery other day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 85 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed in July 2010 and had a lovely time. The hotel was mostly filled with couples with a few grown children. It's not a posh place, and the self catering facilities are minimal - best to think of it as an apartment with breakfast and lunch-making facilities but you need to eat out at least once per day.
I loved the island - so undeveloped. We were woken one morning by the noise of goats being herded along the road outside!
Spiros, at the local shop, was far and away the cheapest car hire place. He was about a third the price of the Avis cars that our rep recommended.
We enjoyed hiring bicycles - I can't remember the name of the place that we got them from but the hotel staff would know.
Despite everyone else recommending Muses, we were really impressed with Esperides - go past muses to the crossroads and turn right. Its open air, set amongst an orange plantation and really a cut above the rest.
The other place that we really would recommend for food was up at St Georges castle - you need a car, but it was a spectacular place to eat, with the sun setting.
Morning coffee and lunches at Avithos beach were nice too. Seeing the turtles' nests in the sand was quite a bonus. Avithos is about half an hour's walk and it was quite tough in the heat so go by car unless you're fit.
All in all the apartments were pretty basic, but utterly adequate. They attracted a civilised clientele, which was nice. The only slight disappointment was that it cost quite a lot to hire the key to the room safe and also to run the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rob1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We had room 2 in the old part. On the main floor there is a small kitchen, bathroom and two beds. There's an addic with an additional two beds. The kitchen is very basic and has a fridge, water heater and stove with two cooking tops. The shower is just a corner of the bathroom with no curtain, so the floor easily got wet when showering. Beds were pretty hard and not too comfortable, but it wasn't a big problem. Overall the room was nice for the price. Pool area was nice, with a small bar that served drinks and english breakfast (7 euro). Very helpful staff.
There are 4-5 restaurants /taverns within 5-10 minutes walking. Muses being the closest and the best of them. There is also a small food store and car rental up the road.
Ai Helis beach is the closest and is pretty good. A lot of stairs to down there. It took us about 10 minutes to walk there. Avithos is roughly 25 minutes walking. That is also a good beach. If you want some privacy there, go to the right when entering the beach, walk about 150 meters across the rocks, and when you get around the corner the beach streches on and hardly any people there. Didn't go to Ammes, just drove past it. Looked alright.
We rented a car for 3 days at Greekstone (smallest car they had, 106 euro, free milage). I would recommend renting a car to explore this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
2  Thank ldisaksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Perfect place to relax and unwind. visited the island 9 times - 8 of which have been spent at Elena's. The family want your stay to be a good one - nothing is too much trouble. Rooms cleaned daily, towels & bedding changed alternate days. Spiros at the supermarket will get you anything you need - he does stock all the basics. Fav Tavernas - Fois and Dom Spiros - least liked Acropolis,cold (frozen in the middle) food and Muses, overpriced. We like Avithos beach (about 30 mins walk) or Ammis ( by the airport). The taverna on Avithos beach does home cooked food. This is not a busy village, we never had a problem sleeping - in fact it is the best place in the world to recharge. Bus to Argostoli is at 10.30am and back at 2pm - if u miss it a taxi costs about 15e. We always said we would never return to the same place twice and haven't for any other holidays, but if we miss a fortnight at Elena's it as tho we haven't had a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJGCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

we stayed at elena for a week and traveled around the whole island. we had a fantastic time! the location is perfect, nearby the airport so you dont have to waist a lot of time whwn you arrive and go back. you have a lot of nearby beaches that are beautiful( recomend avithos beach). rented a car at greekstones and traveled around the whole island.
we like to travel on our own and had very little do with the hotel staff but they were the only dissapointment at our trip. they are not very serviceminded( althoug we are definitely not the demanding type of guests) the father at the hotel seems very little interested in helping vif you ask for something. we needed a cab when we were leaving and asked them to book a cab 2 hours befor leaving. 20 minutes before we where supposed to leave he told us they haven reashed a taxi for us.....( this should be an easy service for a hotel to offer their customers) and wasn`t very interested in helping us.
we got the feeling that they just care as long you are there and pay money.
so if you want to have more proffesional hotelstaff we dont recomend this hotel. but otherwize our stay at this island were just perfect:)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oslo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Helena studios and apartments are in a lovely and quiet location, surrounded by olive groves and only 5 minutes (by car) from the airport. The pool and surrounding area is very attractive and peaceful despite being next to a road and there is a pool bar where you can get snacks etc like pizza, omlette, chips, greek salad, toasties and you can get an English cooked breakfast.
There are 3 small blocks of apartments - 2 older ones and a newer block which I haven't stayed in yet. The rooms are quite basic but clean with a small twin hob with integral grill and oven.
There is a small supermarket a couple of minutes walk up the road which stocks lots of the basic necessities but for more choice the town of Lassie is only a ten minute drive away also there are several restaurants (Muses, Acropolis, Fois and Dum Spiro's) only a walk away .
Our bathroom was cleaned everyday and our towels and bed linen every other day

Helena and Joseph who own the apartments along with daughter Maria who runs the bar are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble and I cannot praise Helena enough for her assistance when my sister fell and broke her ankle - the lady took us to the hospital and stayed with us for hours and even helped us buy crutches from a mobility store which was re-opened just to help us!!

This is not the place you want to go if you want a frantic nightlife or lots of bars but if you want to chill out completely and have a good base from which to explore the island (car hire recommended) then this is the place for you - I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sistersuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews