We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfy place next to home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beach Side Chalets

Lounge To Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge To Front
Lounge To Back Door Lounge to Kitchen and Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Lounge To Front
Lounge To Back Door
Lounge to Kitchen and Dining Area
Kitchen Area
Kitchen To Lounge area
Shells
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom to Window
Star
Bedrooms From Landing
2nd Bed Room
Shower Room
Chalet, Outside Front
Chalet, Outside Rear
The Longhouse Café, Bar/Restaurant
Path Down To Freshwatereast Beach
Freshwater East Beach
View From Above Freshwater Bay
View From Freshwater Inn Beer Garden
Freshwater East From Trewent Head
View From The Cliffs Above Freshwater East, Towards Stackpole
North Beach Tenby
Manorbier Beach
View Above Shrinkle Haven
Broadhaven South
Marloes Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Freshwater East, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tigerlill...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfy place next to home”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

beautiful place, near to the beach unfortunately hardly get an internet connection. just in case you need to look for a place to visit better to have a list of places, its post code. im a bit lucky as the owner has already a list of places and contacts to look at that really help.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy place
Liked least: .....internet connection
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We have listened to what you and other guests have said and now provide free WiFi at the Chalet for our guests.
I can't do anything about the poor mobile phone signal though.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarzinho
1 review
“Location location location”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a nice comfortable chalet equipped with everything you'd need. quiet surroundings with a quiet beach a short walk away.The onsite restaurant was shut during my stay but the freshwater inn, which provides a nice lunch and a lovely sea view is just a short hike through the dunes.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We feel the location is almost unbeatable which is one of the reasons we bought the Chalet. You can lie in bed some nights and hear the waves on the beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edparry13
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic chalet, simple booking process, brilliant weekend!”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our short weekend stay at Beach Side Chalets was fantastic! The chalet itself suited us perfectly, with everything that we needed and more available. The layout and facilities of the chalet were great, with more than enough space for just my girlfriend and I, and certainly enough for a family of four.

They certainly don't like when they say there's no signal or WiFi available, which was actually a bonus for us as we were looking for a weekend to disconnect from the outside world - this made absolutely sure of it! :) Having said that, it's nice to know that there are other chalets nearby should you need any assistance, but otherwise it is the most peaceful and quiet place to stay.

The location was superb, with a few minutes walk to the gorgeous sandy beach, and a 15-minute drive to Stackpole Quay which provided a great starting point for a 20km round-trip walk along a section of the Wales Coast Path, followed by a 20 minute drive in the opposite direction to the beautiful seaside town of Tenby. There's so much to explore in Pembrokeshire, with this chalet location proving to be a great starting point. We're already looking forward to a return visit!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again. We really value our regular guests and consequently offer a 10% reduction off our advertised rates for anyone who rebooks with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol K
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The chalet is light and airy which makes it feel very spacious. It is well appointed and every conceivable item that you might need is provided with clear instructions for everything included in a manual which had been carefully thought out and presented. It was well maintained nicely decorated and furnished with everything in excellent order and very clean. There was excellent communication from the owners who dealt with the booking speedily and efficiently and provided clear and precise instructions. The park is ideally situated for walking the coastal path and touring but a car is essential as there are no shops within a reasonable walking distance. I would have no hesitation in recommending this chalet as it represents excellent value for money in a most beautiful part of the country.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, good furnishings, well equipped
Liked least: Nothing it was all lovely
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Chalet is very much our home and we spend several of the school holidays there. As we stay there so much ourselves, it is easy to keep on top of any repairs, or purchase something that is needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetbrut...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday at Freshwater East”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We found the chalet to be very clean and well appointed
Needed nothing except for having to go in search for bread and milk off site, as the only restaurant and shop on site was close during our stay
A very quiet site but very close to the basic beach of Freshwater East
The position of the site is central to south west Pembrokeshire allowing easy access to visit many places of interest in a short stay

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location, easy access to beach ,a quiet site
Liked least: No shop on site and speed bumps
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely feed back. One of the most important factors in owning a holiday home is cleanliness. We have the most amazing cleaner who is worth her weight in gold. She takes as much pride and pleasure in all our good reviews as I do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leekybob
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great chalet - home from home!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you're looking for a good base in the Pembrokeshire area then you can do no wrong here. Chalet was extremely clean, with ample furnishings and space for our family of three, and even if we had an additional one or two with us!
The park was very empty in the period we were there, but I expect that if every chalet had people in them, for example over the school holidays, I imagine it could potentially become noisy and overrun with cars, with the car parking outside the front doors and many chalets within the same area. This was not a problem for us though as no neighbours were around whilst we were there so it was lovely and quiet with hardly any cars around.
Location is about 5 minutes walk to the local beach which is a nice place for a walk or a swim, join the coastal path or just do some moon-watching. We never visited the on-site bar but this looked closed/totally dead whilst we were there, with a sign on the door saying they couldn't serve food, but this didn't affect us anyway.
Another 'slight' gripe is that having no phone signal is fine (we were warned of this) but no access to any wi-fi instead was a wee bit of a pain, as when we're away somewhere new we do like to explore online what is in the area whilst we're actually there. So if there was any way to add this it would be very useful and gratefully utilised I'm sure!
We were there with our 18 month old who is literally in to everything, and although there were great touches like a baby travel cot (just took our own mattress but this saved us taking his cot), a travel baby gate and a booster seat, we found that the stairs open to the living room made our life quite difficult, with us constantly stopping him climbing the stairs with the gate only fitting the top (and the bottom too wide to affix the gate). So perhaps if we had any suggestions it would be to have a couple of baby gates available, or just people to take another themselves. Another impracticality (only in terms of having young children around, otherwise it wouldn't be a problem at all!) is that in the colder months when the fire needs to be put on (or perhaps even the storage heaters) a guard would be required. We 'made-shift' guarding by moving furniture around to stop him getting to various bits - like I say, only a consideration if you have young kids/toddlers with you.
In the area, Tenby is worth a visit, also Barafundle has some lovely long or short walks, and Pembroke castle was a nice attraction when the weather wasn't good, but I wouldn't expect too much by Pembroke town itself (we were disappointed). Carew karting was good fun too if you fancy a quick outdoor spin in a new kart!
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this chalet for anyone looking to book accommodation in the area, with the owners being both polite and helpful during any correspondence required beforehand. In the summer holidays, with its vicinity of the beach this would be a great place to stay with the kids too!
Highly Recommended!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Amount of space and freedom (over a hotel room!)
Liked least: Probably no data connection
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review. We have since provided free WIFI for our guests.
Your 18 month old does sound like he is into everything. We have tried to make provisions for children by providing a travel cot, a booster seat and a stair gate for the upstairs. Unfortunately, the Chalet isn't really big enough to put any more child friendly/safety features in it. A fireguard is a good point, but there isn't really anywhere to store it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernhard...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Thank you for your excellent review. It is so good to be appreciated by such lovely guests as yourselves. Do please come and stay again and take advantage of our 10% discount for our regular guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing