We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in an amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Guglielmo Albergo Diffuso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vignacastrisi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in an amazing place”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 9 days in the Palazzo...i cannot speak too highly of it. We started our holiday having flown to Bari and driven down. We spent the first afternoon relaxing in the shade of the orange trees and just couldn't help relaxing which set the tone for the rest of the holiday. Mauro has extremely helpful and always around to answer any questions and recommend beaches and restaurants. The rooms were delightful and highly individual...we stayed in a suite which had extra beds so our daughter came to join us. Christina's cakes at breakfast were lovely and we started everyday sitting by the pool eating cake!

We tended to drive to the beaches at Alimini which were sandy and on the adriatic coast as the nearest beaches were rocky but this wasn't a problem and returned early each day for a few hours be the pool. The pool is surrounded by a herb garden which smelt lovely in the early evening sunshine. There are lots of little sitting areas to sit reading a book or drinking a glass of wine before going out to e

I would really recommend the Palazzo and could not fault it...its is a very individual, special place to stay and totally charming. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
178
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
389 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Not quite sure how we found the Palazzo but geez are we pleased we did. The place itself is just over an hour from Brindisi airport.We had a small difficulty in finding it at first as it is hidden behind a huge door... Once you pass the door it just opens up into a wondrous place with sweet smelling gardens and neat pool as well. The Pallazzo consists of just 7 rooms and a 3 bedroomed appt. We stayed here twice in one week ( long story ) suffice to stay we were fortunate enough to stay in both. The Appt was amazing ..huge rooms and high ceilings .. wonderful ! There were kitchen facilities too ..fridge ..cooker ..etc if you wanted to cook yourself.Its been mentioned before but the breakfasts were terrific. The highlight being the freshly bakes cakes and pastries.. gorgeous. Mauro was a superb host and helped us many times for beaches restaurants..etc. This really is a hidden gem and in my opinion very reasonable for what you get. Beaches are close by so no excuses for not staying here. Can i give it 6 stars ??

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We loved staying here! Mauro was so lovely and helpful and the place is beautiful, comfortable, clean and friendly. We had delicious breakfasts to start each day, read under the orange trees with the scent of herbs everywhere, met wonderful people who were also staying there and relaxed completely. The area is beautiful and it was easy to get to many different places from the town. We had fabulous dinners nearby and it was hard to leave!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fabby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Well where do I start?! My husband & I came from Lecce and unfortunately missed our stop where we needed to change trains (for any of you doing this journey we had to change at Zolina for either Spongano or Poggiardo). I rang the Palazzo & spoke with Lucia who was very sweet & spoke with our train conductor (he spoke no english & our italian was limited to ordering only food & wine) so that she could tell us where we went wrong & to translate the instructions from our very helpful train conductor. Lucia assured me that all was fine & that she would be waiting at Poggiardo when we finally arrived. Both her & Christina from the Palazzo were there and they both greeted us like we were old friends.
On arrival to the Palazzo we were given the tour with some information on local amenities and then left to our own devices.
We immediately changed into our swimsuits and took to the pool which is at the back off the Palazzo where breakfast is taken, set amidst a small orange & lemon grove. An idylic setting.
Living at the Palazzo for 3 days was bliss (wished we had planned to stay longer). Mauro, Lucia & Christina treated us like we were part of the furniture which made my husband & I immediately feel like we were at home. We were also able to use the vespa on 2 of the days, exploring Castro Marina (really worth a visit & a swim) and all along the coast as far up at Otranto.
The atmosphere at Guglielmo's was laid back and languid which is precisiely what we wanted. It was our little haven that we retreated to at the end of the day after biking all over the place. A glass of Rose (from the honesty bar) in one hand and a good book in the other. Ah thinking about it makes me want to go back right now!

Room Tip: We had the Bukowsky Room which was lovely & big. Amazing huge bathroom with a jacuzzi & sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Husband booked this as surprise break for my birthday. It is truly an amazing place - stylish, elegant rooms, amazing rooftop jacuzzi, wonderful gardens with lemon & orange trees, fragrant herb gardens next the pool. Attention to detail in this place is incredible! Breakfasts delicious, staff friendly & nothing too much trouble. Had wonderful birthday dinner cooked by local chef - all arranged by Sergio. Even given a jar of homemade marmalade as leaving gift which was a lovely touch. A truly memorable holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We spent 6 nights recently at this beautiful boutiquesque accommodation. It was everything we wanted. The style, the gardens, the staff. Very tastefully and thougthfully decorated. I loved the lounge areas. The pool with its herb gardens surrounding it was a great way to stimulate the senses whilst chilling around the pool. We hired a car, so we were able to frequent nearby Castro, and drive the coastal route to S. Maria di Lecua, and the many beautiful beaches along from there.

We will definately stay here again. The village Viagnacastri is very small, so I would definately recommend you hire a car to expore what this part of Puglia has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent 6 nights at Palazzo Guglielmo in September. From the outside, you'd never guess what lies behind the wooden door. With only a handful of guest rooms but extensive gardens and lounges (inside and out) it feels less like a hotel and more like your own palazzo with plenty of places to relax or snooze. All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, with a particular mention for Cristina who creates the most amazing homebaked cakes for breakfast every morning.

Vignacastrisi is incredibly sleepy and untouched by tourism. The locals are really friendly despite our limited Italian (it does help if you have some, outside the hotel we didn't come across anyone in the village who could speak English which was just what we were after so not a problem for us). It does help if you have your own transport to explore the wonderful Salento area, however Sergio at the Palazzo is very happy to lend you a Vespa or there were also bikes you could borrow. All in all absolutely perfect for getting away from it all. The only thing I would say is to take some mosquito repellent with you as they can be ferocious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vignacastrisi
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tesoretto
Hotel Tesoretto
#1 of 2 in Poggiardo
449 reviews
11.3 mi away
Furnirussi Tenuta
Furnirussi Tenuta
#2 of 2 in Serrano
195 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tenuta Centoporte
Tenuta Centoporte
#7 of 38 in Otranto
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Callistos Hotel & Spa
Callistos Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tricase
431 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Masseria Bandino
Hotel Masseria Bandino
#1 of 38 in Otranto
483 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#1 of 6 in Torre Dell'Orso
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Guglielmo Albergo Diffuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Guglielmo Albergo Diffuso

Property: Palazzo Guglielmo Albergo Diffuso
Address: Piazza Umberto I, 73030 Vignacastrisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Vignacastrisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vignacastrisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Palazzo Guglielmo Albergo Diffuso 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Guglielmo is just one of the many aristocratic medieval palaces located in the Terra d'Otranto area, all witnessing the economic power of this land during the historical period from the late 17th century to the birth of the Kingdom of Italy. At that time, the ground floor was used for the offices and the warehouses to put the olive oil, the wine and the food coming from the fields. This floor was crowded by the housekeepers, workers and farmers that since early morning worked in the garden or in the lounge. The present breakfast room was originally a horse stable, while the swimming pool area was full of chickens and rabbits. Food was stored inside the wells located on the left of the lounge, while one of the rooms was used as a garage for the only car that was present in the town. Granaries and storerooms were located in the cellar. The rooms where our guests stay, used to be the kitchen and the laundry. Here the housekeepers washed the laundry with hot water and ashes or prepared the cheese using fresh milk. Workers, shepards, men and women were involved in different activities, among which were the maintenance of the palace and of the warehouses. At the beginning the main sources were corn, oil and wine but when the tobacco was introduced, the palace was enlarged in order to include the new product. The new part of the palace included the tobacco warehouse (Via Napoli), where during many years the local women worked. The palace became the economic and social centre of the village and its importance grew during the years, especially after II World War, when the family started to deal with politics and administration. In some special occasions the palace was also used for popular and religious festivals. One of these occasions was the celebration of the festival for the Saint Protector (the Virgin of the Holy Rosary), that takes place in October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Guglielmo Albergo Diffuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guglielmo Albergo Diffuso Puglia/Vignacastrisi, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing