We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable room that is convenient to the border crossing”
Review of Hotel St. Bernard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St. Bernard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were getting to border late and wanted a room just past the crossing in Canada. This hotel is right on the highway about 1/4 mile from the border crossing. Perfectly convenient. We had a room in the back and left the window open without any disturbance from highway noise. (There was very little traffic - maybe a sigh of the times). The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was nice and comfortable. The restaurant had closed when we got there - but there is a truck stop restaurant on the other side of the highway. A nice full breakfast was included in the rate. All in all we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is extremely convenient to the border crossing. It is very clean, comfortable and an excellent value. Our rate included a delicious cooked breakfast. We also had dinner on our arrival in the evening and found it to be surprisingly good, although the menu is very limited. This is a great stopping off point if you have a long drive and need a respite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelfiendNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My family and I traveled from Brooklyn, NY to Riviere Du Loop (for Whale Watching) and this was our stop over - I didn't think it would be anything great - but the front desk employees were perfect - nice and inviting - then the outdoor pool was beautiful - even though we didn't use it - I would have liked to if we had the time- the room was clean and comfortable - and the restaurant (we arrived around 8:30 and they closed at 9) welcomed us and made whatever they could - alot of things were out - but the waitress gave my young son extra chicken nuggets which was perfect - it was a great start to a family vacation - loved the location right over the border - the next morning the breakfast was perfect - eggs, toast, meat, coffee, juices, cereals, fruits - everything you could ask for- I love this hotel and would recommend it to anyone-

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Best Western hotel on August 1 - 2. 2011, on our way to visit Fort Lennox. My expectations were low as this hotel sits right off the highway and is a pit-stop for families on their way to the States. I was really impressed with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The bed was also very comfortable. Our room was at the end of the hall on the ground floor, facing the pool and away from the highway so the noise level was quite low. Breakfast was included in the rate and was more than adequate. The staff is bilingual and very accommodating. The exterior (heated pool) is open until 9 pm. Good family hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris_on_a_budget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed three nights and used the hotel as our home base to explore the Québéc wine and cheese trails. The distances were far greater than the tourist trail maps suggest. However, the hotel was what we needed and we really enjoyed the pool after hours on the road exploring the region. The complementary hot buffet breakfast was fabulous and varied. Be aware, as others have said, that there is nothing near the hotel - it really feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, but it suited our purpose as a home base for a little agritourism. A great find on the wine trails was the apple-based cider products. We are familiar with hard cider (more like a beer) but the region has developed wine ciders that are delicious. The dairies have incredible cheeses, meaderies offer interesting products, and butchers serve up fine maple-cured hams and smoked salmon - delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Really nice room with confortable bed. Nice TV screen, Internet service is excellent.
The rooms always kept very clean and quiet.

The restaurant offers nice choice of menu, the food is really good and nice service too.

Very nice hotel and pleasant.

I suggest you to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre une chambre qui n'est pas coté route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
881 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur...
#1 of 5 in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
230 reviews
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
Holiday Inn Plattsburgh
#8 of 14 in Plattsburgh
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Albans
Hampton Inn St. Albans
#1 of 5 in Saint Albans
106 reviews
22.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Plattsburgh
22.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Plattsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Bernard

Address: 115 Chemin Guay, Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle, Quebec J0J 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
Price Range: $92 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Bernard 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 28 standard rooms and 11 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel St. Bernard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Bernard Saint-Bernard-De-Lacolle, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing