We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Parc”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pierrefitte sur Sauldre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Alicourts Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed in June 2011. It's a little hard to find but once there it lives up to expectations. The pools tend to be crowded but there is a lovely beach beside the lake - they have roped off fishing and swimming areas and the water was very warm in June for swimming. Shop very good with English papers and enough to keep most people going. Did not use the restaurants as barbecues provided.
We went with Thomson al Fresco which provided an excellent service on site.
The area is heavily wooded but the roads are good and the Loire chateaux are in easy reach. Local wine, Chevernay is good but try the Cave Co-operative at Montlouis on the outskirts of Tours.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomson Al Fresco
3  Thank tum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Customer Service at Les Alicourts Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thank you for your reply. We hope you enjoyed your holiday with Al Fresco. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope to see your custom again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 390 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

A great destination; horse riding, kids club, free family entertainment every evening (circus, plays quizzes) a fantastic five pool swimming complex with excellent lifeguards, and slides for all the family. A library with books available to borrow, a massive lake with a raft in the middle for swimming and jumping off, a fantastic 18 hole golf course, crazy golf, mini golf, bike hire, go kart hire, frizbee golf, gift shop a takeway which makes the best pizza in town, a theatre, a bar with a games room .The supermarket was reletavely expensive, but after trying baguette's from other bakeries in the region we found that the bread on site was the best (baked on site twice daily!) free canoe hire and fishing. The staff were all friendly and spoke english. We stayed here for two weeks; and were never bored as there was so much to do onsite.
We stayed with eurocamp, and were greeted by a friendly courier upon arrival who showed us to our accomidation (a mobile home) the accomidation was basic but satisfactory, with basic facilities such as a microwave, cooker and fridge freezer, but we found that if you find the camp you want to go to from the eurocamp website and then google the campsites name, and find the campsites website then it is much cheaper; £ 2000 for a 5 bed caravan from eurocamp, £1200 from a 5 bed caravan from Parc des alicourts.

Room Tip: Go direct from the 'Parc des alicourts' website to get the cheapest, and best value accommad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelGuru42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here with Eurocamp for a week in June 2011 with a 4 year old, and were very impressed. Caravan quality and the surrounding pitch was excellent.

The site itself has a wide range of facilities including: takeaway, restaurant, 2 shops (food, leisure items), library, kids club, baby room, spa, bar, all of which are centrally located together. The site is located in a rural area and is a good 10 mile from the nearest town for a supermarket (salbris), but with 2 villages within 5 miles. It is advisable to visit the supermarket and stock up before you arrive unless you want to head out again after a long journey.The rurality however does mean that there are a lot of forestry paths and quiet country roads for cycling, walking etc.

Kids are well catered for on the site with a site-run kids club for ages 4-12 running most days between 1000-1200 and 15.30-1800. This included a number of different activities each day, both inside and outside. Our 4year old loved this, and kept wanting to go back. At times, however the club did seem a little manic, and seemed too much work for 1 person. We also observed 4-year-old kids being banned from the club for apparently not behaving, although from what we could see they were only behaving as most 4 year olds would! Each evening there is also a mini disco for the younger kids at 1930. Other facilities include 2 outside play areas, go karts for hire (good fun for both adults and kids).

There is a very good outside pool complex catering for all ages. The main wave pool is not heated and was therefore particularly cold during our stay. The kids pool is however heated and was reasonably warm. There is a very good slide in this pool which was safe for kids to use alone without any supervision. The larger slides were also based around a separate heated pool. We found plentiful sun loungers around the pool during our stay, although this may be different in high season. The one issue we had with pools was that the inside pool is actually completely separate, within the spa complex ~200m away. Also, this was only accessible to kids during a short period of the day (10am-12.30pm) for a charge of 3Euro each, and during busy periods this was also split into max 1-hourly sessions. During wet afternoon kids could therefore not use pool facilities. The pool complex is also near the lake and beach. If you want some shade on the beach take your own parasol, or be prepared to lie on the hard grassy area behind the beach where the fixed parasol are.
Overall we were very happy with the site. It is situated slightly out of the way in terms of getting to and from the ferries, and several people advised us not to follow sat-navs via the Paris autoroute, as this seems to take much longer than you might expect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DPW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had a fab week with Keycamp staying in a Villanova caravan with deck (2 bedrooms). The previous reviewers have given loads of detail on the facilities and I'd agree with pretty much all of it, the park was absolutely great. Full of families with toddlers and babies so there was no noise late at night. The size of the park was perfect too as nowhere really was too far a walk (unlike some of the larger sites where you can be miles of a trek to the pool).

The pool area was lovely, although as has been mentioned, the water was FREEZING bar in the toddler pool. In saying that we had a bit of a heatwave our first few days with temperatures unusually reaching 40 degrees so the pool was exceptionally welcome given a lack of aircon, we found it the only way to keep our 3 and 1 year olds cool! It was ultra busy though with the usual problem where people seemed to put down towels on loungers at 9am head off for the day and come to claim their loungers at 3pm so it was tricky to get anywhere to sit around the pool and very hard to get shade! We were able to bring the buggy in though so there was somewhere for our little one to get out of the sun and the mushroom in the toddler pool casts great shade!

I disagree with the description of the indoor play area (maybe it's been done up since last year) but it was immaculately clean with some lovely toys. Our kids loved it first thing in the morning as we walked up for fresh bread, while it was still relatively cool. It probably would be too hot at midday but there's plenty of outdoor play options.

Our caravan was great, we did Keycamp/Eurocamp holidays as children and this was my first return since having my own, I wasn't disappointed! The reps were helpful when we had a problem with our boiler, coming round at 9pm to take a look and back round at 10 the next morning to check everything was now okay. My only complaint was that Keycamp texted me to give a number for the couriers and said to text if we were going to be late or needed help. Our 2 and a half hour journey from Paris (according to Keycamp routeplanner) took us 4 and a half hours meaning we weren't getting in until nearly 11pm, despite a couple of messages to the text number asking what we did there was no response. We were lucky enough to pull up as the security man was locking the gate and he had our caravan number and a map but had he not been passing I don't have a clue how we were supposed to get in! Relatively minor but after a long journey pretty irritating!

The kids "Mini Disco" was super, on each night at 730 so we fed our kids then brought them up and they had a ball. All the kids lined up with "ents" staff leading them in funny silly dances in a few languages (Dutch, French & English). Lovely.

The vast majority of the people onsite in June were Dutch with the remainder equally split French/English. All the staff speak a number of languages making it really easy.

We visited Chateax du Chambord - absolutely stunning palace just under an hour away, well worth a visit, even with little kids. We were surprised how much our 3 year old loved looking at "the prince and princesses castle". Good value for money. We also visited the Museum of Witchcraft nearby, a bizarre little collection charting witchcraft, sorcery and wizardry through the ages, it was actually quite interesting and the gardens have some fun statues.

Beauval Zoo was absolutely huge and had some brilliant animal collections including as diverse as white tigers and koalas. It was a great day out (I'd agree with others who mentioned bringing a buggy (an absolute necessity given the size) and a picnic) but be aware it is very expensive, something we didn't find out until we travelled the hour to get there €22 for adults and €16 for children from age 3!!!! Not sure we would have gone if we'd known that in advance!

All in all we had a fab holiday and I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuzieSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed at LES ALICOURTS (which is its correct title) at the end of May 2011 for 10 nights and we were not disappointed. We stayed as a family of four: 2 adults, a toddler and an 11 year old.

We booked our holiday through Canvas Holidays and stayed in an eight birth static caravan. The vans are well equipped and comfortable and you have enough mod cons to get you by. This site also houses similar accommodation from Keycamp, Eurocamp and Thomson Al Fresco as well as chalets and cottages that belong to the site itself.

The park also has lots of pitches for touring caravans, motor homes and tents. As a camper myself I was impressed with the size of the pitches which are very big. Most of the pitches have ample shading by trees should the weather get to hot for some.

If you have young children there is a large lake on the site which has a gently sloping beach which is just perfect. The lake is safe to swim in and has an area roped off for the young ones to paddle.

Facilities on the site include a great swimming pool complex, with water slides and a wave maker. Albeit we found the outdoor pools very chilly and the kids got cold quick. Personally we were in the lake more often than not which was warmer than the outdoor pools. There is also a health spa which has an indoor swimming pool, usable for a small charge. The only down side is that men must wear Speedo style swimming garments, the staff enforce this rule rigorously, if you are not wearing them you will not get in!

The site also houses kids clubs, a takeaway which is reasonably priced, a shop which stocks items above the basics but is not that cheap, there is also another shop the buy your inflatable’s, buckets and spades etc for the beach and lake but I would recommend buying and bringing you own from home, it's much cheaper that way. There is also a restaurant on site which looked very nice and prices were ok, as for the food we never used it so I can’t comment.

If you need shopping and groceries there is a Super U and Carrefour in the nearby town of Salbris about a 25 minute drive away. There is an Intermarche in Lamotte Beuvron, again about 15 minutes away. The Super U at Salbris is better than the Intermarche for choice in my opinion though.

As for the location of this site that is it's only downfall. This site a fairly remote, never underestimate the site of France, it's huge, you will be putting a fair few miles on your car it you want to visit Chateau's etc, but hey, with all the facilities this site has you won't need to leave it as it will keep you busy and has plenty enough to do to keep the kids happy.

We crossed from Dover to Calais. It took around 7 hours to drive the 300 miles to the site from Calais. This obviously included 4 stops on the way as were travelling in a group with 4 young children in. I think it then took 6 hours on our return journey with only 2 stops as we left very early in the morning so the kids slept in the car.

I can’t recommend this site enough, it’s just fantastic for families. We thoughly enjoyed ourselves. You have to go there, you won’t regret it………..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We arrived about an hour before check in time and was given keys/directions to our chalet very quickly and the receptionist's were very friendly and helpful.

The chalet was very clean and we had all the linen and towels that we requested. Only gripe was that the high chair was very old and rickety and i didnt feel it was safe to use. We didnt bring along our travel chair because we had paid for one but really wish i had as it was diffcult at meal times. It would have been nice to have a refund as we were unable to use it.

They may as well not advertise the fact that they offer wifi as it isnon exsistent and the receptionist were very proud to say that it is "always like this". Ah well we brought a pack of cards and got some beers in, once the kids were in bed we entertained ourselves ;)

The swimming pool is well laid out as the childrens pool was separate from the faster slides and deep pool there is 2 lifeguards on at all times. Our little ones really enjoyed the slides. It did feel overcrowed at times and it was very hard to get a lounger as it is quite a small pool for the size of the resort.

However the lakeside beach was our favourite spot for the week as there is a pirate ship park right beside it so you could let your children run around and play while you soak up some vitamin D.

The weather was great with only 1 or 2 rainy days, so we chose to visit De Beauval Zoo. This was a great day out and i would recommend to take a buggy and a picnit as it is a huge park and very few eating areas that were not always full to the brim with very long queues..

Overall this was a great place to go as it is value for money. I would recommend that you shop for groceries outside the park as it is very expensive in the resort shop. Also the restaurant and takeaway pizzeria was not overly priced and very nice food so mum can have a night of from cooking.

What we like best: Childrens outisde playareas and the evening entertainment was great.

What we liked the least:- Inside playarea / ball pit was very dirty and all the toys were old and broken. It really need airconditioning.

We do like what siblu have to offer and have booked our holiday for this summer already with Siblu again but in a different region.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guernseycowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank 665marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Alicourts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Alicourts Resort

Address: les Alicourts, 41300 Pierrefitte sur Sauldre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Pierrefitte sur Sauldre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pierrefitte sur Sauldre
Price Range: $65 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Alicourts Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best family campsites France has to offer. Our entire team has gone all out to make sure you have a relaxing holiday with lots of tempting treats for you to enjoy.This French campsite offers quality services and installations, spacious camping pitches and fully equipped Loire Valley rentals. For self catering in France, camping and caravanning and chalet holidays, you couldn’t do better. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parc Des Alicourts Hotel Pierrefitte Sur Sauldre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing