We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oldwalls Gower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oldwalls Gower
Ranked #1 of 1 Oldwalls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CARMARTHEN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We got married here June 2013. It was the first and only place we visited when looking for our perfect venue. It is absolutley stunning and I fell in love with it immidiatley. Debbie our wedding planner was adorable and extremely helpful throughout. We were even lucky enough to recieve a free nights accomadation the night aftre our wedding so we really could enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The day itself was perfect, staff were helpful and friendly throughout the day! Nothing to fault at all.
If any brides and grooms are looking for an ideal place for their wedding then this, hands down, is the place! 5 star treatemnt!

Room Tip: Book your wedding here! Perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEMMA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Gemma C,

Thank you so much for your comments, every wedding we host is very special. The whole day revolve's around you and your husband.

It is wonderful that so many magical moments are created in Oldwalls and I hope you and your husband will remember, very fondly, for many, many years to come your wonderful day with us.

Don't be a stranger, why not come down and visit one evening - it will be lovely to see you again. We are now offering bed & breakfast in between weddings, check out our website for details.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    54
    27
    18
    5
See reviews for
87
125
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous wedding at Oldwalls earlier this month. Beautiful and romantic setting, especially when the sun started to go down and twinkling lights around the lakes and trees came on.

Food and service was excellent. The reception took place in a large marquee that offered perfect lighting for photography.

(My only gripe was the bright blue light at the top of the TV that shone a beam into our faces and lit up our bedroom! We covered the TV with a towel in the end but discovered the next morning that there is a switch on the right edge.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillieMooWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear MillieMooWiltshire,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - it is comment's like these that motivate us.
We have to agree, Oldwalls is located in a magical setting, the grounds are such a perfect compliment to our magnificant marquee.
I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all our staff, all our staff work very hard to ensure every detail our Bride & Grooms requests has been carried out.
We've been hosting weddings for a number of years and each one is different but very special.
We welcome and value your feedback.

Thank you, again, for your lovely comments.

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

What follows is a very picky commentary on what was a fabulous stay - giving you the dirt, though rest assured the overall opinion is sparkling!

You feel like you have 'arrived' as you drive down towards the accommodation! Very fancy.

Had a fabulous welcome from Jo, and shown to the Ivy Cottage/suite. Very impressive, really lovely finish to the interiors (though a couple of tags on items demonstrated how new it all was!).

Since the location has moved from self catering cottages to contained apartments, there is still a bit of feet-finding... the only way you can contact reception is by going there (walking across the courtyard); breakfast is served to the room which whilst quite a treat, is a bit awkward and there wasn't a dining table to serve it on; there isn't any way of indicating 'do not disturb' or 'please service the room' - indeed, I wasn't sure whether to expect the room to be serviced (though I think the intention is that they are)....

Things I would have liked... fluffy robes, since where we were, the bathroom wasn't next to the bedroom.... a bigger sofa (the one we had was rather fancy, but not designed for comfort)... bathroom treats (shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, shower cap - there were a couple of things, but a bit more in this area would make a big difference).... a shelf in the shower (but what a lovely shower it was!).... a coat stand in the living space..... not to bang my head so much on the sloping ceilings.....

But as I've said - I'm being picky. This was very high standard accommodation. The TVs were MASSIVE (and have give my husband ideas... doh!), little touches like colour coding, a lovely bean bag in the corner, a seat in the bathroom, beautiful decor... all made this feel really quite fabulous. Service was really friendly and helpful. The grounds look spectacular, and I'd have liked to have wandered more if I'd felt confident enough to. Wish I'd known about the hot tub and sauna!!!! (another reason for fluffy robes!!!).

Ah... I really want to book it all out for friends and family and have a party there.

Plus - the Greyhound Inn local matches this place as an equivalent local pub. Great atmosphere, fabulous service and amazing food. But that's for my next review... :)

Thanks to all the team at Oldwalls. I do hope to see you again.

Room Tip: First floor suits have sloping ceilings for added head-banging!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shepski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for putting some suggestions to us, we seek to improve... and as a result of your feedback we have now increased the number of toilettries we provide... we have introduced bath robes for a mini breaks in our luxury suite's and offer the ability to have breakfast in our rooms or in our Oak Room.

We have also replaced the modern sofa bed for a more traditional sofa bed added extra comfort.

We have some amazing Summer Deals available, keep an eye out on our website - it would be lovely to see you both soon.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went for 2 nights on a Living Social deal. The long driveway is an attractive introduction to Oldwalls driving past the horses and alpaca (a sheep that thinks it's a giraffe or vice versa).
The whole complex is delightful with plenty of potential - weddings, fishing, tennis and dog walking. They are very dog friendly. Our accommodation in Willow Cottage was very attractive - the bedroom was a little small but had a comfortable double bed, wardrobe, dressing table, bedside cabinet and flat screen TV though not big enough for an armchair. There was a small seating area with 3 settees in the adjoining cottage available for our use. The bathroom was large, beautifully tiled with a very large bath, hand basin, toilet and shower. The heating is underfloor. Wifi is available on site though my mobile reception was not great.
The staff were exceptional - very friendly and efficient and went out of their way to be helpful - when I asked for the Sunday papers one of the staff offered to collect them on her way into work.
Breakfast only was provided and there is no restaurant, at present, on site. The full breakfast was first class - bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, eggs and hash brown. We were given a hamper of 3 delicious local cheeses and a bottle of Californian Zinfandel as a welcome gift,
Oldwalls is now specialising as a wedding venue with accommodation for guests which might reduce availability particularly at weekends. If you are thinking of planning a wedding give it a look.
Close by are two excellent pubs with good food - The Greyhound at Llanrhidian and the King Arthur at Reynoldston. Both are worth a visit though I suggest booking - they were very busy on a very cold weekend in March.
Oldwalls central location is ideal for exploring the Gower - an area full of beautiful beaches and coastal walks.
If we can find a slot between the weddings we will certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - it was lovely to meet you both and I am glad to enjoyed the grounds that available with the accommodation.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

A truly great experience. Fastidiously clean and warm cottage with modern decor that had every creature comfort that one could wish for. Excellent Welsh Breakfast on both days. Staff very welcoming and attentive at all times. We look forward to visiting again. Jeremy and Andrea Wakelin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Jeremy & Andrea,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed! I agree with you, Willow is an exceptionally lovely cottage, the recent renovations obviously agree with you. We have 3 other equally lovely suite's!

We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was really excited to stay here as was a gift for xmas. On arrival staff were friendly and showed us to our room.

Room was tiny, no fridge and no where to sit. We were supposed to have cheese and wine in our room. Had to go to get it ourselves from reception. Lots of cheese but no knives, plates or bottle opener! Took us 3 visits to reception to get everything we needed and staff made us feel we were being an inconienience.

Customer service lacking in all areas but we noticed the staff were all sweetness and light to various couples who were there to book weddings. Felt that because we were on a living social deal that we werent important enough.

Tried to have a bath...water not hot just tepid. Complained and nothing was done.

This deal cost us £99 which is a discounted price. So glad we didnt pay full price and strongly feel this was way to much. Had bigger rooms in a travel lodge! Wont be staying here again thats for sure.

We are getting married in a few weeks and came here to destress before the big day. Was concerned before arriving here that id regret not booking the wedding here. I dont! Oldwalls sells itself as rustic but furniture looks like its from Ikea! Deal also advertised as a cottage but we had a small room with no facilities as described.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yllekdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you found elements of your stay with us disappointing and I take on board a number of the points we discussed the morning after your arrival.

All visitors to Oldwalls are important, it doesn't matter in what capacity they are visiting us. We were hosting a wedding tasting lunch on the day of your arrival and the staff you approached were in the middle of a busy service but they did refer all your concerns to myself - straight away. The hamper was due to be delivered at 5pm but I should have explained this when you checked in. This is an oversight on my part and as a result you received an incomplete hamper for which I am very sorry.

As a result of your feedback we have introduced new checks, procedures and are in the process of updating our venue profile at various websites to ensure an accurate description is portrayed. We have recently undergone an renovation which led to your stay being in a room rather than a cottage. I hope you will take the opportunity I offered your husband to-be and visit us again and be able to write a more positive review.

I hope you have an amazing wedding day and best wishes for the future.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went to Old walls for a long weekend (b&b basis) - deciding to try out the place before a family wedding later this year.
From the point of checking-in We were made to feel really welcome by Andrew & all the staff that we met.
The room was all that we needed - really comfy bed and lovely ensuite facilities.
The only thing that could have made the room even better would have been a mini fridge!
Breakfast was really good too - Having a wide choice from the traditional full english to Welsh lava bread.
The weather could have been better, but hey - thats what its normally like in Wales!
There was no open bar on site - but the local pub was nearby and very good...
We're looking forward to the wedding even more now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonic176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to your next visit!

We are looking for ways to improve and your feedback has prompted us to place fridges in some of our rooms. Thank you for that tip.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldwalls
1.3 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.3 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Llanelli Central West Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldwalls Gower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldwalls Gower

Property: Oldwalls Gower
Address: Gower, Oldwalls SA3 1HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Oldwalls
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oldwalls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oldwalls Gower 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldwalls Gower a beautiful complex comprising of 17 luxury rooms and suite's. Set in around 50 acres of picturesque fields, trout lakes and unspoilt woodland. Oldwalls is located in the centre of the Gower Peninsula giving equal access to all of Gower's amazing beaches. This location puts our guests at the heart of village life in rural Gower, within walking distance of award winning restaurants and welcoming village pubs. Oldwalls Gower has been rated a 5 Star Guest Accommodation by Visit Wales and combine's luxury range of accommodation with superb corporate facilities. With our Marquee and Oak Room overlooking Oldwalls lakes and grounds, the views extend up over Cefn Bryn, it is also the perfect venue to host your wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Oldwalls Gower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldwalls Gower Hotel Oldwalls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing