We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$51
$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Country Resort(San Fernando La Union)
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islandia Hotel(Alaminos City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Aureo La Union(San Fernando La Union)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
91
139
60
36
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
139
60
36
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmansion villalow tideinfinity poolland tourbreakfast buffeti highly recommend this resortfriendly and accommodating staffbody massagebahay kubopatar beachtwo thumbsoverlooking the beachbreak waternice poollong travelsecurity staffbeach resort
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 368 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Beautiful landscape and layout is what we expected, but unfortunately praises stop there.

We were not greeted by the front desk personnel when we arrived; she only asked for my reservation receipt. They were not friendly and courteous-- they need to put smiles on their faces. I think they lack training and experience in dealing with guests. I made reservations for two extra beds and reminded them about it as soon as we arrived at around 1pm. It was only after I complained about it (at around 8pm) that it was set up, and the front desk personnel named "RONA" seemed irritated about my complaint. I also told her that the phone in the room was out of order and she told me that it cannot be fixed. However when I told the housekeeping personnel (OMAR) about it, he was able to have it fixed. There was also no front desk personnel on duty during the night.

The beach front was dirty when we arrived, with plastic bags and all sorts of trash scattered everywhere. It was only cleaned up late the next morning. Despite a "no pets allowed inside the resort", stray dogs, all seven of them, were frolicking in the beach and wading in the water--

Tap water is salty. The thermos bottle in the hotel room is empty and you have to call room service for hot water.

Food in the restaurant was decent enough. Bangus (milkfish) dishes are good. However, you have to be patient as service is really slow.

Over all, it was a not-so-pleasant stay in puerto del sol. It's not worth the long drive and it's not worth our hard-earned money. We are definitely not going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manilagirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We just came back from a three-day stay in this resort. What we wanted to be an enjoyable and relaxing vacation turned out to be a nightmare! The only thing good about this resort is the room service. Everything else is terrible! You have to wait for so long for all other services. We could have just gone home after the first night instead of getting all stressed by all the unpleasant experiences we had in this resort. We thought we were the only ones who were complaining but when we checked out, the others were also very upset. Imagine having to take a long drive and not get your money's worth?

The lady at the front desk is just a monster. Does the owner of the resort even know they even have a staff like that who does not show courtesy to guests? She was even irate when guests complain. They don't call you back when you want to arrange a tour. And when they don't have their only van available, they don't make an effort to arrange outside for you. The food in the restaurant takes so long to be served. They don't have hot water for coffee and the water in the shower smells like the sea.

DON'T BOTHER TO GO TO THIS RESORT! IT'S NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apple_evans72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We went to Puerto Del Sol on the first day of 2010 and stayed at the mansion villas. Having only seen the rates through the internet, we had second thoughts if our money was worth it because we arrived sometime late in the afternoon and had only a few hours of stay before we leave before lunch. The front desk helped us out by finding the best rates for a group of 12 and we were given options. We occupied four villas and thanks to the front desk personnel because we did had our money's worth. They only had to smile more though. Breakfast was not bad but you have to bring extra money if you dine for other meals. Their food was pegged at an average of P300 but they suggested to serve us family style which was better than the per person order. Be sure to make an advance order at the resto because it took them almost an hour in preparing. Also, come in early for dinner because our waiters were already nowhere to be found at 9PM when we were about to finish. They should take care of the customers even if they were the last ones because it took us a while to bill out. As for the accommodation, our villa had enough space and a veranda overlooking the pool and with a view of the beach. If you're willing to splurge, go to Puerto del Sol. Remember not to bring in food and drinks though because they charge corkage fees. Over-all, it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed for 3 days at the resort. The grounds were immaculate! The best i've seen in a while. We went right before the the flood so it was raining the whole week before we got there but it was sunny the whole time we were there. They were picking up the pieces of the huts that were torn away by the rain and wind. The beach perhaps would have been nice...the tide was low and walked out far into the water. The food was delicious! We got the catch of the day and it was so good. I'm not use to Philippino food, but this was delicious.

I got a manicure and pedicure, but i wouldn't reccommend it unless youre ok with them not cleaning their tools. Also, the jacuzzi didn't heat up even with all the heaters on.

The room was a bit below what I expected and lacked hot water...which i guess is expected since it's in the middle of nowhere. We had to drive almost 2 hours to get to a Hundred Islands, but definitely go there and enjoy the scenery! Breath taking island views!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyBreezy717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

we went there to attend christening of my officemate's son.we decided to stay there for 2 days.The place is nice but their beach is not good....so don't expect too much(sand color-just like light brown sugar).There rooms are okay but quite small to pay for high price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dezya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews