We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stopover!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Reichsstadt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Die Reichsstadt
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice stopover!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were on our way to Italy and stopped here, about 9 Km from the highway. It was a very nice surprise! The village itself was lovely, old and pitoresque. The hotel was in a very narrow street in the old part of town. Dinner was served in the garden, which was good! We had 2 rooms looking out to the garden. We would definitely stop here again the next time, even might stay longer. Friendly personnel too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    28
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
122
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel everything was just perfect .the location could not be better and parking was easy.
The staff were a breath of fresh air the customer was made to feel very welcome in their home.The restaurant served excellent food and the garden was just perfect,this is one time I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We picked this hotel based on some Internet reviews, but they really didn't do it justice! It is located right near the heart of a truly delightful town that is really well-geared up for tourism. The hotel has a heritage dating back some centuries, but the rooms have been upgraded with high-quality furniture and fittings of the sort typically only found in the most luxurious hotel chains. We were welcomed with a complimentary drink, and on both morning's enjoyed chatting with the proprietor as he did his rounds of the breakfast tables. Personalised service was excellent, and tips for things to do proved most rewarding and made for a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all of the rooms have been rennovated - could be worth asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The exterior is old and in keeping with its location (Gengenbach is a picture postcard village) but the interior has been completely modernised. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Parking at the hotel is confusing. On arrival I was expecting to find a car park space reserved for us but when I asked the receptionist where it was she found us a place in the adjacent public pay and display area by getting one of the hotel employees to move his own car. Because of the limitations of my German I wasn't able to find out if this was the normal arrangement or just exceptional service !
The hotel restaurant is also excellent - superb breakfast. The evening meals are "fine dining" with prices to match but there are cheaper options available (first rate in our experience) and good local wines are available by the glass.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is in the middle of the old town SatNav is not a lot of use - ours led us to a dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I honestly can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights and were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. Our room was wonderful - modern and clean. And I really appreciated the little touches like bathrobes (for the wellness suite we didn't have time to use), the fruit bowl, a kettle and fridge. The breakfast, which is included in the price, is outstanding. And I love that would could make our own fresh juice. The staff were helpful and friendly and at both breakfasts the owner came over to our table to see how everything was and have a little chat. I will definitely return here if I'm lucky enough to return to the Black Forest, Both my husband and I were really happy and heartily recommend staying here. For us it was reasonably priced for such exceptional accommodation. Definitely a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel that is being completely refurbished. Decorated with excellent taste, very well situated and a warm welcome was given by the staff. Sauna and wellness available, which were very nice after a long day's drive, are included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank So C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is currently refurbishing and modernising the hotel but keeping the traditional German style I prefer.
Hotel will be beautiful.
Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly.
Gengenbach as a town is great all year around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDoorenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gengenbach
0.0 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
#2 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pfeffer & Salz
Pfeffer & Salz
#5 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Ritter Durbach
Hotel Ritter Durbach
#1 of 4 in Durbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Hirsch Berghaupten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Reichsstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Reichsstadt

Property: Die Reichsstadt
Address: Engelgasse 33, 77723 Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Gengenbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Reichsstadt 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Die Reichsstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing