We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Quaint”
Review of Gasthof Hirsch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gasthof Hirsch
Ranked #2 of 7 Gengenbach B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We made Gengenbach our home base for 5 days, taking day trips around the Black Forest. This family-run bed/breakfast inn was charming. I had requested a room in the main house, as someone had mentioned in a previous post of being housed in a flat down the street. Our room was at the very top (3rd floor attic). The room was cozy and clean; the only thing I didn't like was the bathroom. It was SO tiny, consisting of a toilet, sink, and tiny shower (I couldn't even shave my legs). Beware: the water adjustment for the shower is very touchy. You think you have it just right, then turn around in the tiny shower, bump the lever with your elbow, and now the water's too hot or too cold. Also, the hot water handle itself became too hot to touch.

Breakfast was always awesome, with a variety of rolls, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts, cereals, etc... One thing I did notice was that if you came near the end of the breakfast time, there wasn't too much left to choose from; they didn't replenish the trays as they do in other hotels. So come early for breakfast.

We also ate three times at the inn for dinner, which was always wonderful.

The hotel was within a nice walk to the train station, where we took the train each day to somewhere different: Triberg, Strasbourg France, and Offenburg. We also spent a day walking around Gengenbach itself; the architecture was interesting and some nice little shops....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alidoremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Gasthof Hirsch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We found it a bit strange when the hostess walked us down the street to our room, it was situated in a block of flats away from the restaurant. However, this meant that it was very quiet. Breakfast was good though we did have to walk back up the street to eat it.

The room clean with a nice touch of apples accompanied by a poem. However we don't know German :-)

Car parking is not assured though we did manage to grab a spot.

It's central as it is within the old town.

The town is stunning!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las del ultimo piso son románticas, pero son dos pisos por escalera (tener en cuenta). Es una casa c...
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eur0nauta15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Porzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satruspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L3576MGpeterv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gengenbach
0.0 mi away
Die Reichsstadt
Die Reichsstadt
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach
0.1 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
#2 of 5 in Gengenbach
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pfeffer & Salz
Pfeffer & Salz
#4 of 5 in Gengenbach
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Hirsch Berghaupten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hirsch

Address: Grabenstrasse 34, 77723 Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Gengenbach
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gengenbach
Price Range: $111 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hirsch 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Gasthof Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing