We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a clean and comfortable hotel. Our room was a good size and nicely furnished, although better pillows would have been appreciated, and despite booking a double room we got two (very small) beds. In my experience this is pretty standard for Germany.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is just a few minutes walk from the extremely picturesque town of Gengenbach. Breakfast (which was included in our room rate) included everything you'd expect of a German buffet. We didn't dine at the hotel but did enjoy some excellent German and Italian food in the town. The bar staff are young, numerous and entertaining in their lack of cocktail making experience (which is hardly an issue with decent Pilsner on tap). We didn't use the spa so can't comment on that.

This isn't luxurious accommodation but it exceeded expectations for the rate and we'd stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
28
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September. The hotel is fine, but it lacks character and could do with some renevations - it looks quite nineties inside and there were stains on the carpets and walls (in our room), it didn't really feel like a 4 star hotel. Staff were really nice and friendly though and helped us look up train schedules etc.

We got a room on the top floor, it was spacious and had a good balcony. Again though, the rooms could do with some updating. It felt a little bit like an old peoples home or something. We went to the pool that day as well which is quite small, but the hotel wasn't that busy so it was fine.

We quite liked the location of the hotel, it's not right in the centre of Gengenbach but it's just a short walk away. We didn't go to the restaurant in the evening, but breakfasts were nice.

This isn't a bad hotel or anything, it just didn't quite live up to our expectations. This hotel would be so much better if they just updated it a little bit inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed this past weekend in the Schwarzwald Hotel. It was more than I expected. Rooms were spacious, clean and had a huge balcony. The location was close enough to the town. It was a short walk over a pedestrian bridge and then across the rail track. It was everything you need to enjoy exploring Gengenbach. We travelled with our Yorkshire Terrier and they were very accomodating. No extra fee and the staff loved playing with her. Very pet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJZielinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel is conveniently placed at the edge of the smallish town of Gengenbach, which is idyllically pretty in a traditional German style. The building is modern, with spa and massage facilities, and the rooms spacious and bright. Bathrooms were also equipped to a high standard, with an efficient shower over the bath and heated towel rails. There were also rooms available with wetrooms for elderly people unable to use a bath. All the staff were friendly, cheerful and very willing to be of help. Food was good local German fare, so there was a lot of pork and veal, but we had several very good buffets so that guests could consult their own tastes. Breakfast was of very high standard, with fresh pastries and fruit every morning and plenty of other options. Our only criticism would be that the (very young) bar staff seemed inadequately trained and had difficulty dealing with orders other than beer. It was also quite a feat to order a bottle of wine with one's dinner, but with time and more visitors this will presumably get better. I had the impression that the hotel was quite new. It would be a very good place for travellers visiting the Black Forest. At the moment, young people might find it rather quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at the Schwarzwald Hotel which is situated on the opposite bank of the River Kinzig to the main town of Gengenbach.It is a short walk into the town, either across a nearby footbridge (no steps) or the roadbridge a bit further away.The footbridge also takes you to the rail station.The Hotel was chosen by our tour Company Treyn Holidays by Rail and we think it was an excellent choice.The public areas are spacious as are the rooms.Everything was very clean.Many of the staff spoke good English and were eager to please. The food served was of high quality and good variation/choice. We had a room which overlooked the entrance to reception and found it peaceful. Others in our group who had rooms above reception overlooking a car park were disturbed by delivery lorries in the early hours. Gengenbach is a lovely small town with very pretty and interesting architecture. Local wine is excellent. A good base for touring the Black Forest and not too far to Strasbourg for a day in the city.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Londoner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gengenbach
0.4 mi away
Die Reichsstadt
Die Reichsstadt
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
#2 of 5 in Gengenbach
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pfeffer & Salz
Pfeffer & Salz
#5 of 5 in Gengenbach
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Hirsch Berghaupten
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#1 of 1 in Ohlsbach
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach

Property: Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach
Address: In der Boersiglache 4, 77723 Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Gengenbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing