We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Pfeffer & Salz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pfeffer & Salz
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hotel is situated next to a farm, about a mile from the village center. Younger travelers could walk to the center in about a half-hour, but older folks would need to drive. However, there seemed to be plenty of pay parking on the village streets and in nearby lots.
The hotel is built on a hill with a restaurant on one level and the rooms on the second level. However, you have to go walk up about two sets of stairs just to get to the restaurant. Our room was very clean, bright, and fairly spacious with a small balcony, a large armoire, and a nice bathroom with a good-sized shower. The room looked out over a field with trees and sheep grazing on the hillside.
Parking is in a small lot on the front side of the hotel, but when the lot is full, you must park farther away along the road into town. A typical German breakfast was included and guests were offered an egg cooked to order. The fact that the hotel had a restaurant was a plus because there is nowhere else to eat nearby.
The few members of the staff were always hustling, especially in the restaurant, which seved townspeople and catered parties in addition to the hotel's clientele. Julia, the manager, speaks English well and was very accommodating, even to the point of driving us into town to the railway station one day. She also went on the Internet and found some tourist information that we requested.
This is a nice, pleasant hotel. If you don’t mind being out of town and having to carry luggage up a couple flights of stairs, it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palehose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, BE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Cute little hotel in small town in Germany. Went to see the world's largest advent calendar, and LOVED it so much more than what Colmar and Strausbourg had to offer. Hotel itself is spotless, with an affordable and delicious restaurant below it. We tried every bottle on their wine list, and for 15 euro per bottle, it was a no brainer. Our room had a large balcony, which would probably be used more in the summer. Funky shower with multiple heads - a modern touch in an otherwise cozy hotel.
Note some reviews mentioned walking to the Xmas market. It was our experience that walking is possible, but would take more time than we had. Instead, we drove from hotel to the town center. It was easy to find street parking. That might be the only drawback. As we have a car and GPS, but unfortunately limited time, walking wasn't an option for us.
Overall, excellent hotel. Am tempted to return during the warmer months as the balcony offered views of the forest and the restaurant served deer I still can't erase from my tongue's memory. And you get a very cute, small town Xmas market on top of it all. Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewbieTubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

I don't write reviews for hotels often but this one really deserves one. In this hotel they still know what meaning of service and quality is for a low price.

The hotel rooms are perfect. Nice quality beds (2 mattresses of approx. 80cm wide forming a double bed). The bathroom is clean and very nice. The view of the balcony is spectacular into the open nature. You can walk from the hotel into the woods or to the nice village Gengenbach which is a 10-15 minute walk. Beware that the way back has a steep hill which is difficult to climb if you have had some German beers ;-).

The restaurant has a big variation on the menu and the quality is excellent. Fish and meat with the local mushrooms Pfifferling. The dessert with hot raspberry is highly recommended. And for a small price. Compared to what we can have in The Netherlands for that price this is more than worth it. They even asked if I wanted more Spätzle on my plate while in other restaurants you have to ask and wait half an hour for more fries.
The restaurant has an outside place to eat and also have a pizza oven next to the terrace to make flammenkuchen (kind of pizza).
One major thing to remember is to make a reservation each time you want to eat there because the people from the village are also eating there.

The staff is excellent, they are most kind and friendly and always see the work what needs to be done. They never stop running and it looked like they were living there based on the time they were working there. Only on Wednesday they have a day off.

The only minor point of the hotel which I can think off is when we were there the temperature of the outside was 31 degrees Celsius and the room had no air-conditioning. Closing the windows in the morning helped to keep the room cool.

Thanks for the perfect time, Pfeffer & Salz. I hope to visit you again.

Martijn
The Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martijn192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We couldn't have been more delighted with this excellent hotel.

Let me explain. On this our first visit to the Black Forest we wanted to base ourselves in the highly attractive town of Gengenbach but our web searches didn't produce what we thought of as an attractive hotel right inside this small town. But the Pfeffer & Salz (which is either under new ownership and has changed from its old name or is simply a very recent 'rebranding') looked to be the most attractive However, we were put off by its description as an 'eventhotel'. We thought it might be all a bit brash I guess one would say.

We couldn't have been more wrong. Whilst traditional on the outside it is a truly delightful modern hotel on the inside. Our room was excellent with modern furniture and a flat screen TV (not that we used it) and the spacious modern shower room was among the best we have ever encountered.

The staff were thoroughly delightful and the food was good but was nothing out of the ordinary. By this I mean that in most of the restaurants we visit in the Black Forest the menu was more or less identical.

As you will gather from the hotel's website, although the address is Gengenbach it is slightly away from the centre of the small town. As it happened we always went in by car because we were going on elsewhere but I estimate it would be about a 10 minute walk (but please don't blame me if I'm wrong about this!)

The one thing that made this hotel just short of total perfection for me was the lack of comfortable chairs in a shady garden. It was around 30ºC when we were there and although it has a delightful terrace on which we took our meals, an easy chair with a good book under a tree in the garden would have been bliss. It had a garden - two, in fact - but one was equipped only with children's slides, etc (and no child was ever in it during our stay) and the other, although pleasant enough, clearly wasn't intended for the purpose I had in mind. Maybe one day they'll get around to it. In the meantime, however, they are doing an excellent job and my wife and I haven't the slightest hesitation in recommending it..

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gengenbach
0.6 mi away
Die Reichsstadt
Die Reichsstadt
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
Hotel Restaurant Sonne
#2 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Schwarzwald-Hotel Gengenbach
1.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Hirsch Berghaupten
5.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rebstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pfeffer & Salz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pfeffer & Salz

Property: Pfeffer & Salz
Address: Mattenhofweg 3, 77723 Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Gengenbach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gengenbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pfeffer & Salz 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pfeffer & Salz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing