We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”
Review of Chows Eating House

Chows Eating House
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Parkgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $64
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Chows Eating House, formerly known as Mr Chows. Situated on Parkgate front, overlooking River Dee with a panoramic view of Wales.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“room with a view”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good Chinese banquet, friendly staff, view of Wales, reasonably priced, equally as good at lunch time as in the evening, early doors available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joycemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    79
    34
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caldy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

As a new reviewer I have been tempted to go out more and more to try different places i have not been before, Parkgate has always been one of my favourite places to go and as I'm not a huge fan of Chinese cooking we have always decided to give Chows a miss, the wife persuaded me to come here last night though and i must say it was very nice I only ordered the soup and a selection of starters and Duck but i was pleased with what i had.

Very nice

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summersavior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Clean, fresh and crisp Chinese cooking in well run family Restaurant”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We always enjoy Chow's food the standard the of cooking is high.
Although the prices are slightly more than other Chinese restaurants they include Prawn Crackers,fortune cookies and fresh fruit dessert.
The crispy duck is the best ever and they always give a generous large standardized portion.
Occasionally I have found that the food can be little over seasoned and bit too tasty for my palate.
I am not a lover of sizzle platters and find these annoying in any Chinese Restaurant as they pollute the entire atmosphere for other diners.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STRADMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Busy Chinese on estuary front”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Most people seem to go for the banquets, and it also caters for large parties so think on if you are hoping for a romantic table for two.
The food is fine, and they managed to cater for the veggie on our table. It was a busy night so the service was brisk. One young waitress could certainly go to charm school for the odd hour.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exceptional”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My first visit to this restaurant for many years. The menu and the food were both exceptional. The service was excellent and attentive. The setting was superb.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chows Eating House also viewed

 
Parkgate, Cheshire
Bromborough, Wirral
 

Been to Chows Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing