We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Chinese Restaurant in the UK”
Review of Chows Eating House

Chows Eating House
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Parkgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $64
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Chows Eating House, formerly known as Mr Chows. Situated on Parkgate front, overlooking River Dee with a panoramic view of Wales.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“My favorite Chinese Restaurant in the UK”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This is a very well run Family owned restaurant in a great location in Parkgate on the Dee Estuary. The standard of food and service in my opinion is just about the best in the UK and this reflects in the fact that the place is always busy.
The staff are efficient and charming.The food is always consistant, crisp and fresh,the crispy duck is the best that I have ever had. The restaurant interior is "Chinese Designer" done with great taste and quality. All in all well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STRADMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    79
    34
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We visited Chow's last night for a family meal. We have visited this restuarant many times in the past and have always really enjoyed it. Last night's visit,though, was not up to the usual standard. As it was Bank Holiday we reserved a table.

On arrival in the restaurant we were given the menusand a drink order was taken. We were therefore suprised when the waitress came to take our order that we could only order a banquet and not individual dishes as that is their policy on Bank Holidays. This was a disappointment as we had perused the menus and selected some lovely dishes. We could also not order a 125ml glass of wine (one of our party was driving) despite this being advertised in the drinks menu.

Had it not been Bank Holiday and all the other restaurants in the area looking very busy we would have left at this point. We were able to negotiate 1 swap on the banquet menu which was helpful. Our food was pleasant but we would have preferred to have been able to select our own menu.Service was attentive and it made a pleasant change to have our glasses of water replenished without asking. I would visit again but not on a Bank Holiday and I would always telephone first to check what can and cannot be ordered.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helensuzanne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best Chinese restaurant in Merseyside”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Mr Chow's is a classy Chinese restaurant in the Wirral. The decor is very nice, making the atmosphere quite enjoyable. Service is very good. The menu is varied and has the typical dishes you'd expect in a Chinese restaurant. Most of all, the food is top quality. I've tried different meat dishes and have never been disappointed. It also has a take-out menu which is quite handy.

Overall, I don't appreciate Chinese food enough to give Mr Chow's 5 stars but have to say this is an excellent restaurant which I definitely recommend. Although there are other very good Chinese restaurants in Merseyside, this is the best.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jpnitya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Chinese, lovely interior and excellent food”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I always feel like ive been out when i visit Chows rather than just going for a meal. Lovely atmosphere and decor, friendly staff and excellent food. Prices are not too bad either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level Contributor
276 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“This is a top chinese- one of the best”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I loved this restaurant. Food excellent, service to match.
If there are a number of you a selection of starters for the group is a great idea, but if just a couple go for the ribs- they are fantastic.
Service was so good our waiter actually advised us very politely that we were probably ordering too much food at one point so we reduced or order- he was right as we still had more than enough.
This place is renown locally so booking is probably essential

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chows Eating House also viewed

 
Parkgate, Cheshire
Bromborough, Wirral
 

Been to Chows Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing