We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never let me down”
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Parkgate
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With magnificent views of the Dee Estuary its no surprise that Parkgate has a reputation as somewhere to eat whilst enjoying the beautiful British coastline. As could be expected, it’s our fish and shellfish selection that we take a particular pride in, the offerings extensive, the produce fresh and the preparation lovingly cared for.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never let me down”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Food gorgeous home cooked unpretentious. Service first class and lovely relaxe atmosphere plus great deals on!! Fish pie a winner!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beauhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    201
    64
    57
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Fantastic location overlooking the Dee Estuary. Food is of excellent quality and service is always good. There is a cheaper light bites menu at lunch time as well as the main menu. Views are best from the restaurant section. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location Nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Can be fairly expensive but food is good and location great a pleasant experience. Spectacular at the Spring high tide when the marshes are covered and thousand of birds visit

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank EricL194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley On Thames
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“you will pay for the view”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

very expensive, especially the food, not a good selection of ales. food below average quality but above average prices £16.95 for a lamb shank

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great views, huge portions!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tried to book another restaurant which was full and then ended up here as our second choice - I am so glad the other one was busy!! This restaurant is absolutely fantastic - I only live locally and have been here numerous times for drinks but cant believe I have only just discovered the restaurant.
Had a seat in the conservatory at the back of the restaurant, with beautiful views of the Dee Estuary as the sun was setting. The menu was pretty extensive with an abolutely wonderful choice of fish dishes, something which I find sorely lacking in many restaurants in our local vicinity.
I ordered a starter of whitebait and when it arrived I thought they'd brought a sharing plate but it was all for me!! Coming with bread too it could have fed two very hungry people!! Almost felt too full when my main course arrived, which again was an absolutely huge portion.
Prices are average really, some dishes a bit more expensive but definitely worth it considering the portion sizes and the fact that some of the dishes were a bit more unusual than normal restaurant fayre!!
Service was spot on too - can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squ1rrel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Parkgate, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Thornton Hough, Wirral
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing