We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Ritz more like The Pitts”
Review of The Ship

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship
Ranked #1 of 1 Parkgate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked a double room at The Ship hotel for 1 night as i was attending a wedding in the area . On arrival i had to wait 20 mins in reception to book in. I had requested a room on the first floor as i have problems with too many stairs My room was on the second floor accessed by the steepest and narrowest set of stairs i have ever come across. Upon entering my room i was greated by damp and mould on the walls . I called reception and waited 25 minutes for the manager to arrive at my room . This lady was abrupt , rude and aggresive in her attitude . I was given the option of like it or lump it. This is no way to run a hotel .

Room Tip: Dont book a room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 411 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had been invited to the evening of a wedding in the area and had The Ship in Parkgate recommended to us. We looked on their website and decided to book, especially when we realised the wedding party venue was literally around the corner. We chose the Lord Nelson Room as it cost fractionally more than the standard rooms and, as it was on the front of the hotel, had a lovely aspect overlooking the estuary. The room had a four poster bed( frame ) and was spotlessy clean with a ` shabby chic` sort of feel and decor, with plenty of storage ( for those staying longer than 1 night ) and tea+coffee ( both with decaff options ) and drinking chocolate- which I always appreciate ! The bathroom was in total contrast to the room itself as it was totally modern and again spotlessly clean - gleaming in fact- with really good complimentary toiletries. As we were going out for the evening we had a late lunch/ early tea in the pub restaurant. The choice on the menu was really good and the food was excellent- large portions excellently presented ( piping hot too ) and the service was friendly and good. Also, there is a good choice of ales- well kept as well, and there was a relaxed, friendly atmosphere in the pub. In fact, if we lived in the area we would be really pleased if this was our ` local`. Breakfast was also very good with a good choice of ` cooked to order`hot food .The only comments we would make, and these are hardly worth mentioning, is that our room had a cracked window which didn`t affect our comfort, but gave a slightly ` run down `appearance, as did the flaking paint outside. That said- don`t let this put you off- this is a well run, pleasant hotel and pub which we would gladly recommend and will stay at again if the need arises. We may even make a point of going there especially for lunch one day!

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the front of the hotel that overlooks the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

In the north-west to visit my mother on t'other side of the Mersey, we were treated to a high level of hospitality by the staff who, though fraught with an exuberant Saturday evening clientele, catered to our modest needs in a friendly, professional manner. There is a well-worn aspect to the place, most welcome compared to the concrete efficiency of many of Europe's finest. The location, an expanse of marsh looking over to the Welsh hills, invokes a feeling of tranquility. Next morning, a hot and freshly cooked breakfast prepared us for well for the rigmarole of the M6/M1 southbound. If we're spared, we'll return with no hesitation....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnclePaulCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my fiancée in The Lord nelson suite, the room was spotless and had the most fantastic views. Obviously this is an old hotel but the bathroom was very modern and the bedroom was very romantic. Couldn't fault it at all. Was very impressed with the bar as it has almost everything you can think of and is warm and cosy. Woukd reccomed this to anyone as its was just perfect in every way. Missed breakfast as the bed was too comfy to get out of. Fantastic value for money. Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soundproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for one night in the Lady Hamilton Suite as we were visiting relatives in the area and combining our wedding anniversary all at the same time. To manage expectations, I should make it clear that this is not a flashy 4 or 5 star hotel with spas, saunas and all the bells and whistles but we really enjoyed the comfortable room, the nice setting, friendly staff and we thought the food was excellent.
The suite had a large bed (actually two zipped together), two chairs, table, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, large bathroom with separate shower unit and bath, his and hers sinks, plus the usual kettle, tea, coffee etc, hair dryer, good lighting. All clean and comfortable with a lovely view over the Dee estuary towards North Wales.
We had dinner in the bar - this is a top end gastro pub type menu. It was Saturday night and it was very busy - a recommendation I think as many people were turned away so book ahead. The food was excellent - we especially loved the potted shrimp, prawns and crab starter which was a meal in itself. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and the hot food cooked to order.
Parkgate itself is well located for visiting Chester and Liverpool areas. It has past its heyday I guess but it's not run down and has a handful of nice pubs (the Ship included), cream tea shops, fish and chips, ice cream ..... you get the picture.
The staff were busy busy busy but very helpful, friendly and pleasant.
The best bit was paying the bill! I double checked it as I thought we had been undercharged. Character accommodation with great food at a great price. It will be where we stay when we travel to the Wirral in the future.

Room Tip: Pay for the view over to Wales if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Visited with friends on Friday evening for dinner. Starters excellent especially the ribs. Although 3 scallops for six quid is a little mean. Mains where decidedly ok. Fish and chips came with very soggy tasteless greasy fish and the pork chop I had was very fatty with hardly any meat. Our friends had hake which looked good. Drinks service was very very slow but the staff where friendly and attentive.

This is a lovely pub with a great atmosphere. Food presentation is superb but quality has a way to go on some items.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mcravenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Popped in for a last minute lunch yesterday and we were welcomed by very friendly staff, the food was great and it had d really nice and bright atmosphere, with a view over to Wales across the estuary.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamV54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship

Address: The Parade | Wirral, Parkgate CH64 6SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Parkgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parkgate
Price Range: $103 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ship reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Parkgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing