We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to all at the Ship”
Review of The Ship

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship
Ranked #1 of 1 Parkgate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks to all at the Ship”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Only a one night stay but found the hotel warm and welcoming and in a great part of Cheshire. I was on a flying visit and arranged a meal that evening for my brother and good friends from the past, the meal was superb and the service was first class the beer's where good so what more could you would hope for; they made me feel special.
Breakfast was again a delight, everything you could want and more: again service was given with a smile, nothing was too much trouble. The bonus is the very reasonable cost
compared to some premier places. I was very lucky to find this gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    136
    57
    18
    11
See reviews for
89
153
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed the night here 18/1/13 - great place, lovely staff, fabulous food in the popular and cosy restaurant. Accommodation comfortable and clean with tv, tea coffee etc. Highly recommend and lots to see and do in the area. Take your bikes, some great riding! Thank you Ship Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiegal56_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been to eat several times, lunch time and evening and been very happy on each occasion. My mother rates the fish & chips as the best on Wirral. Good food, nice atmosphere and windows overlooking the estuary.

After a recent disappointing experience at the Sheldrake it's good to find a welcoming and unpretentious eatery we feel we can rely on.

And thanks to whoever shines up the copper piping in the Gents, making this necessary facility so attractive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Saronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After experiencing a rather un-reportable stay during our last visit, something we knew was totally out of character for The Ship .. my wife & I enjoyed another great stay at the hotel once again, with the hotel Manager more than apologetic for the disruption caused.
It is an ideal base for us to visit our Family who live about 15 minutes away, the rooms, the food, the bar & the Staff are right up our street! .. so I am pleased to be able to report yet another happy stay was experienced.

My only complaint was that the bar ran out of Brimstage Scarecrow ale whilst we were there!

We look forward to our next visit there in 6-8 weeks time .. all positive from us!

Room Tip: A room with a view over the marshes is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One_Devonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have always enjoyed going here for the friendly atmosphere.The bar/restaurant has been revamped in recent months and, last week, 3 of us met up for a late xmas meal. We each had a 3 courses and all of the food was excellent. The steak pie was full of meat (none of your sloppy fill that a lot of places seem to serve these days) and the deserts were yummy. At approx £24 each including drinks you can't go far wrong but when each course is good and the service can't be faulted you just know you will go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFussyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went with a large group of friends before Christmas for a meal. The quality of the food was great as was the quantity and service. Despite it being very busy and having to serve a lot of us together the meal was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stopped here for a quick coffee. We ordered three coffee's at the bar and 30 minutes later, after going back to the bar on three seperate occasions, they managed to "dump" them on the table in front of us - no apology for the delay, infact no communication from the staff at all. Absolutely terrible experience and nearly caused us to miss our appointment elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter8366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkgate
1.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,159 reviews
8.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
747 reviews
5.5 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship

Property: The Ship
Address: The Parade | Wirral, Parkgate CH64 6SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Parkgate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parkgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ship reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Parkgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing