We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Holiday Home”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan N
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Home”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend in The Barn - will definitely return for at least a week next time.

Sarah was very welcoming and hospitable during our stay (including sending us a text telling us about a firework display on the beach one evening). She recommended local places of interest, restaurants and walks.

The accommodation itself is immaculate and very well equipped.

There is absolutely nothing negative to report. We highly recommend The Barn. Our whole experience was wonderful and we really hope to return one day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, cleanliness, location, views - everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen R
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage and immediately the children were excited to have a look round, It was beautifully clean and spacious and had everything you could need.
The view from upstairs was lovely and we were surprised to find there were two living rooms. Perfect if you have kids that want to watch something different on TV at night!
Unfortunately, the weather that week wasn't good but the owner told us some good places to go and we were able to make the most of our stay.
The owner was extremely helpful and welcoming and made it clear that nothing was any trouble.
I've stayed in some good hotels but I can honestly say that this place is top of my list and we will definitely stay again,
Fabulous place!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeGeeTee
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Stables. As soon as we walked into this lovely property, we knew we had got it right.”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a two week stay at The Stables, Tidmoor Cottages and we have had a wonderful time . We arrived on a very wet Friday after a long journey from Staffordshire but as soon as we walked into this lovely property, we knew we had got it right. It is beautifully presented throughout and has high quality facilities which helped to make our holiday very relaxing & comfortable. It is the perfect base to explore this part of Dorset & inearby there are great restaurants & pubs. You must try the Turks Head as it has superb food and is
great value too (worth booking in advance as it is very popular). We will certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: South facing lounge with patio doors opening onto a very private garden.
Liked least: Cant think of anything we didn't like.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrizzi-8...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and out”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family found this place beautiful!! It's so peaceful and the views are amazing. The barn comes with everything you need to look after your family. We had a high chair and travel cot provided which was a great help. I was very impressed with the washer dryer which came as a big help with young children. The girls loved having there own bathroom and loved the big corner bath upstairs. They also loved the rainy day games and DVDs upstairs. Sarah and her husband are lovely and couldn't do enough to help. We definitely recommend this place and we will be back very soon x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage, can't waIt to return in 2016”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had the most enjoyable holiday at tidmoor barn.
An immaculate conversion with secure parking behind electric gates.
We were made very welcome by Sarah on arrival.
The barn was set out to suit our disabled son perfectly downstairs, with the large wet room and open plan living quarters.
Upstairs we had an amazing view across the fleet (see photo) and had many a night having a drink relaxing.
We had fantastic days out at west bay and Portland and a great meal at the local Turks head in chickerell and many a good day at Weymouth harbour side.
We look forward to going back next year for another great holiday and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purpleaub...
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very well-equipped accomodation”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There are 2 cottages to rent on the site: the barn and the cottage. We stayed at the cottage during the first week of July 2015. It was the best equipped self-catering accomodation I have ever been to! Everything you need is present and the different rooms in the house are very spacious and accessible. One person in our company was less mobile and could sleep in the bedroom on the ground floor with ensuite bathroom, which was a plus. There is also a small garden to enjoy the last bit of sun of the day. Next to the accomodation is a small road leading down to the sea, which has beautiful views over the Fleet. The properties themselves are located next to a main road, but don't let that put you off! The location is ideal for visiting Dorset to the west or the east- everything was within an hour's drive. So basically, a top accomodation I would really recommend. Keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good access for wheelchair user”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from The Barn which provided excellent holiday accommodation for my daughter who uses a wheelchair following a stroke. The place is very clean and well equipped with great views from the upstairs lounge across to the Fleet. The Swannery at Abbotsbury is wheelchair friendly and a great place to visit. Local pubs offered good food at reasonable prices and Weymouth is just 10 minutes away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing