We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GoodAcces...
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Have just returned from spending a lovely week in Weymouth, being a wheelchair user it is not always that easy to find accommodation suitable to meet the needs. The Barn at Tidmoor did all this and what a great location. The rooms were light, well appointed with plenty of room to more around . You own private garden to relax in and a secure courtyard for parking. Very peaceful without feeling you were in the middle of no where in fact for places to visit you were no more than 35 to 40 mins away, so plenty to do.
The Barn has an upper level so if like us you bring along someone else space is not a problem. You don't have to be in a wheelchair to use the Barn it is ideal for a family holiday and would highly recommend it to one and all.
We were made to feel very welcomed and nothing was to much trouble, so a big thank you to Sarah and we wish all future users a very pleasant stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald W
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tidmoor Stables and Barn - both offer ideal accomodation”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a great holiday in excellent accommodation on our first visit to Tidmoor we were greatly looking forward to our second visit and renewing our friendship with Sarah, Alan and family again. This time we occupied the Barn for two weeks and were delighted with the excellent facilities and comfort it provides. These are only matched by the warmth of our hosts with Sarah as ever always on hand to offer whatever help or advice were needed.
My wife and I together with friends who were with us have no hesitation in recommending Tidmoor Barn or Stables as the perfect holiday destination. We look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
360Sights...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Tidmoor Cottages (The Barn) over the Half term holidays. The cottage is very well appointed, the high point being the reception and balcony on the first floor overlooking the bay. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the one on the first floor has skylights, so we woke up to see the blue sky on a bright day and raindrops on a wet one...both outstanding. The location makes it very easy to get to the Weymouth beach and surroundings within 5 to 10 mins with several good pubs close by. Sarah, the owner, was very helpful in guiding us on the local area. We went by her recommendation to take the local bus to Weymouth to avoid parking queues which worked very well. Overall, we had a very relaxing and chilled out break, waiting to revisit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Amazing Tidmoor Stables!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Tidmoor Stables this Spring Bank Week and had a fantastic time. The Stables are absolutely gorgeous. They are very spacious, spotless and clean and have everything you need for a self catering holiday. Booking the holiday was very simple, checking in was easy in fact there was nothing difficult about the entire holiday. Sarah is amazing, very friendly and has loads of info on the area, where to go etc. I holidayed with my husband and 2 children aged 8 and 5 the enclosed garden was great for the kids to play in and as the Stables are behind security gates you felt very safe letting the kids play outside. There is a nice walk down the lane at the side of the cottage, we took our bat detector out in the evening and found a few bats! I would definitely recommend this holiday cottage to anyone. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of accommodation
Liked least: No Wi-Fi available
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelin...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Stables: Excellent accommodation for the less mobile”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The Stables is a very well equipped and comfortable cottage particularly suitable for the less mobile with its downstairs bedroom and wet room. Very well situated for visiting the whole of the Dorset coast. Lovely welcome from Sarah, who could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharfedal...
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The Stables at Tidmoor Cottages - wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed a wonderful holiday with fine weather, the Stables is well equipped, comfortable and clean.The downstairs ensuite bathroom has excellent facilities for the disabled and there's a private garden with table and chairs to enjoy a sundowner too! Great base from which to visit this beautiful area - enjoyed the coastal drive to Burton Bradstock followed by lunch at The Hive right on the beach, the sub tropical gardens and Swannery at Abbotsbury, Weymouth, Monkey World, The Tank Museum and more! Sarah was very welcoming and recommended some great places locally to eat.We really enjoyed our stay here , first class!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, ideal location for the Sailing Academy”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We would recommend the barn, clean and smart, plenty of space and close-by parking. It was ideal for the week where my daughter was sailing at the National Youth championships at the W&PNSA. An ideal spot for parents to come back to for some rest and relaxation while the youths were racing. Equally good in the evening for eating and chilling out. Two TV's so the oldies can watch something different We will definitely consider this again for future events.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, clean and bright, good views
Liked least: the shower temperature was difficult to control
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing