We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taumarunui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pupuke
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This beautiful accomodation was a delight .. immaculate comfortable and so attractive !
Our lovely hostess was so
attentive & helpful going the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable! Her food was excellent & full of lovely surprises !
In addition the fantastic gardens were a real treat to wander through amazing us at the planning and work over 20 years !
We would unreservedly recommend this BnB to others .. have already done so !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Hi there Peter,
Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay...Im pleased to tell you the grass is growing! :)
It was lovely to meet you both on your travels and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Take care...kind regards
Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caruthers...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You wont want to leave”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

If you read the other reviews I can only repeat the praises of this extraordinary place. The hostess, Melana is perhaps the convivial host and wonderful cook my wife and I encountered in a long driving tour of New Zealand. The room is a tribute to Melana's refined and exquisite taste and is so clean and comfortable you don't want to leave and you regret departure. make sure you book more than one night. What impressed us was the attention to detail; the delicate crockery, the service of the food - make sure you book that ahead of your stay! The room is surrounded by hectares of magnificent gardens and at night you luxuriate in the spa which is all yours. Private, refined and an absolute destination. The town is a car trip away and not attractive to a tourist so Bradley's becomes the center of your world and has meditative and an almost spiritual restfulness about it. Thank you for letting us stay. Will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hostess and how she made us feel so welcome
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Hi David
Thank you so much ...I'm lost for words. Your comments mean so much. I get so much satisfaction when guests have had a relaxing peaceful stay and your kind words just makes everything so worth while. Meeting such lovely people like yourselves is why I love doing what I do. It was great to meet you both and would very much look forward to your return. p.S... am determined to send you a photo of the grass!... stay tuned! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marieke11...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection and luxury”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This bed & breakfast was absolutely wonderful and the best place we stayed at on our 3 weeks New Zealand honeymoon. Melana is the perfect host!

The cottage is stunning, perfect for just relaxing and enjoying the nature around but in a really luxurious way. You have a nice private porch and an outdoor Spa! So relaxing and warming especially after the black water rafting we did in the Waitomo Caves.

Melana provides a great breakfast for you that she brings by the cottage at a time that you chose. There is a lot of attention to detail here: the wonderful home baked cakes that Melana places in the kitchen for the guests every afternoon, small chocolates, the way breakfast is served, plush towels, extra pillows in case you prefer softer ones - just everything is made with such love and care!

Also Bradley's garden that you can stroll through is very impressive, never seen such an awesome private garden! Again you see the love and time that has been put into building this garden.

Melana also took me to her lamb that I was allowed to feed two times, and she took us over to the neighbouring farm so we can watch them shearing the sheep. I was so happy for those more private NZ experiences. For activities in the area: Lake Taupo and the Huka Falls (1.5 hours drive), and the Waitomo Caves (1 hour drive) are all easily reachable by day-tour, so it is a great place to explore the area.

P.S. late review because I didn't get around to it and really wanted to take some time to give this place the credit it deserves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury - Spa - Bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review...it was a pleasure to meet you and Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
best wishes
Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CookRE
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Faultless ”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Such a wonderful place, so peaceful and in a perfect setting.

The cottage is superb, with everything you could possibly need.

The gardens are enchanting and with so many beautiful birds it was captivating.

Melana was a superb host and the breakfast provided was just great.

Would highly recommend this to anyone travelling on the Forgotten World Highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddieandc...
S. Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special place”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Bradley's Garden is a piece of heaven on earth. We loved everything about it. Melana handled everything with calm efficiency and nothing was too much trouble. She deservedly gets all the best reviews

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing environment and top notch service
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
Such a pleasure having you stay...thanks so much and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay here in NZ
Kind regards
Melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Its the little things that make it special”
Reviewed November 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our wonderful accommodation at Bradleys Gardens was amazing and we were looked after by Melana who was just the BEST host. This place is a true hidden piece of paradise that we were fortunate to discover. It is well worth the little diversion off the beaten track and I highly recommend even visiting the gardens if you are passing through Taumarunui.
The accommodation was very well presented with everything spotless. Melana was very well organised and meals were always available as scheduled. The room was tidied while we were out and we came back to a nice presented cottage.
There were little things like the complimentary drinks, the chocolates, the cakes, the information about activities, and the interest shown in us, which made it all so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Cottage, Gardens, breakfast, and more!
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
Thanks so much Mark...you made my day!
melana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky V
Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil Paradise”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

WOW! what a wonderful place, Melana has thought of everything even a slice of freshly made chocolate cake awaiting in the kitchen. The property has immaculately groomed gardens and the room is faultless from its beautiful decor to the 5 star linen nothing has been forgotten in this little slice of tranquil paradise.
I can easily say its the most wonderful place i have stayed and would highly recommend traveling out of your way to stay at Bradley's B&B. Perfection!
Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing