We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night, but quite dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forgotten World Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Not a bad motel by any accounts, but quite overpriced compared to other motel rooms of similar price but superior quality. Rooms are incredibly dated, which is not too much of a problem, but you can normally get modern, comfortable facilities for the same price or cheaper. Again, not bad, but in future I would look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesNZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 79 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Hilton is a good basic motel in Taumaranui's Main Street, and having stayed at most of the other motels over the years would have no hesitation staying here again. Yes it is ageing, and basic, but the facilities are acceptable and good value for money, bed very comfortable, shower great, parking at the door (for lower units), and a great breakfast is available. Lovely touch was the owner bringing us freshly cooked pikelets not long after we arrived, very tasty. Also discounted for Super Gold Card holders - very good value all round.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billJE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hilton Motel is on the main road in Taumaranui and convenient to shops etc. We chose a studio for our 2 night stay. Facilities were basic but very clean and welcoming hosts. Price was good and so offered good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Clean, tidy room but furniture and concrete block walls definately of an age. Limited facilities ie kettle and toaster and some dishes plus a plastic bowl for washing up. Shower was old fashioned aluminium tray and shower curtain style however, pressure and temperature good.
Not the quietest of motels- could hear TVs of other units and voices of contractors etc in carpark as they set off early in the morning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank forans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in the 2 bedroom unit for a night on the way back to Auckland. The unit was very spacious with plenty of beds etc.
The bed and bedding were comfy and the playground and back grass area was very handy for the 2 year old!
Seems to be a little dated with a few new touches, in need of a microwave and a lock on the bathroom door.
Other then that it was a clean, quiet, pleasant stay, great location by new world and lovely friendly owners :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This motel was our next choice from the previous motel where we had the door slammed in our face. The man who welcomed us was nice and friendly. The rooms were functional and warm given the time of year. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room and a small container of bikkies was a nice touch.

The pleasant and friendly hospitality, and the warm and cosy room made this motel a really nice place to stay.

ps. I slept like a baby for 12+ hours! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to Auckland. We stayed in studio room. It was clean and functional, but the painted breeze block walls made it feel a bit like a prison cell. No shower gel, shampoo or other bathroom provisions other than a small bar of soap. The shower worked well. There were basic provisions of tea and coffee in jars and a small jug of milk plus 2 biscuits in a plastic container. The room was extremely cold initially,and took a few hours to warm up. We had to run the electric fire, which was positioned underneath the desk, well into the night to keep ourselves warm. It was the cheapest motel we stayed in during our month in NZ and setting that against the basic feel and provisions, could probably be considered value for money. The fact that the room was at the back of the motel (as I think all the rooms are) meant that we were sheltered from most of the traffic noise from the main road on which it is situated. The phrase 'Cheap and cheerful' probably best describes this motel. If we had inspected this room before paying, I doubt we would have stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SajW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taumarunui
0.1 mi away
Kelly's Motel
Kelly's Motel
#2 of 3 in Taumarunui
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander Spa Motel
Alexander Spa Motel
#3 of 3 in Taumarunui
56 reviews
21.4 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mahoe Motel
Mahoe Motel
#1 of 4 in Taumarunui
10 reviews
4 mi away
Grandad's Cottage
Grandad's Cottage
#6 of 6 in Taumarunui
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Central Park Motor Inn
Central Park Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Taumarunui
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forgotten World Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forgotten World Motel

Address: 9 Hakiaha Street, Taumarunui 3920, New Zealand (Formerly Hilton Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Taumarunui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Taumarunui
Price Range: $61 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forgotten World Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forgotten World Motel offers very clean, warm comfortable accommodation with free WiFi throughout and generous off road parking. It's just a couple of minutes walk down town to restaurants and cafes and we have a supermarket over the road! Let us help you find other activities to enjoy in the area while you are staying with us. What about walking the Tongariro Crossing, cycling the Timber Trail, jet boating or canoeing the Whanganui River or enjoying a round of golf. We are only 45 minutes drive from the Whakapapa ski fields. All units feature electric blankets, TV's, tea and coffee making facilities and toasters and we have a drying area to help get your gear dry ready for your next activity. Find us at the north end of Taumarunui's main street, 9 Hakiaha St - the gateway to the Forgotten World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Forgotten World Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing