We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Thrilling"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gravity Canyon

Gravity Canyon
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Taihape
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can experience the most extreme flying fox (Zip Line) in New Zealand. Imagine being launched from a canyon ledge 175m above the Rangitikei River before racing down a 1km long zip line at speeds of up to 160kph! This amazing adventure activity quite literally takes your breath away!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Thrilling"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had the best time. If your looking for a scenic drive with a thrill at the end then "Gravity canyon" is the place to stop in. So go and see "Tomo" and the gang for the time of your life. They have a flying fox, a bungy jump and a bungy swing all as mad as the other, plus a great café. So drop in and have an experience you'll never forget. See if you can only do one

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joeale13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome, thrilling, and well-run adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I started the day not planning to jump at all but after seeing a few jumps from the viewing platform, decided to take the plunge, so to speak. Tried out all three activities (Flying Fox, Swing and Bungy Jump) and loved them all.

The staff were all very helpful and kind (especially when I almost chickened out on the bungy jump) and were very precise with strapping you into the gear and performing two rounds of safety checks.

The location is spectacular even if a bit off the beaten path.

This has been the highlight of the trip so far and well worth the time and expense.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oldblue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape
2 reviews
“Wohoo!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Flying fox was brilliant!, Really fun I enjoyed it so much its quiet beautiful when your going 160kph , Scary thing is coming back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaihapeTroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Adventure Activity for the Older Person”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Gravity Canyon has Bungi Jumping and the Giant Swing, but one for the less adventurous try the Flying Fox. Given as a gift by the family we, with lots of trepidation, did it. It was fantastic travelling about 1km at about 160kph down a canyon. The hardest part was climbing up the hill to the topmost point and then the waiting, Once we were harnest up there was no backing out. Two other couples about our age did it before us. The only young ones there were the staff and members of our family. Even if you don't take part in any of the activities it's a drive through interesting country to an interesting spot. Watching others leaping, falling or whatever is interesting. Light meals available. Only 20 minutes from State Highway One.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 538AlanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level Contributor
172 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

You have got to give it a try, bit of a drive but worth it. Plenty to do, nice café and great fun. Not as well known as the queens town bunjies but in my opinion better value and a better jump

Helpful?
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gravity Canyon also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 

Been to Gravity Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing