We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of soul food

soul food
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Taihape
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Taihape is a great rest stop between Taupo and Wellington. Soul Food had a great feel when you walked in and large tables (needed when you have children). They had a great selection of food. They did forget my order but the food was pleasant and the drinks hot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tans3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Rip off cafe with average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My partner and I stopped off here on the way to Tauranga.

This cafe is well located on the main street of Taihape and it was easy to get a park outside.

We dined here on Good Friday which is a public holiday in NZ. What was the major disappointment was the price of the food and drinks here. This is not a place that offers value for money. We had to pay a 15 percent surcharge for our lunch. This meant that our lunch comprising very average food for 2 people cost over $50. This place was packed so I fail to see why this place would need to charge a surcharge as they would have had more customers dining here than normal.

I would recommend dining here if you like overpriced underwhelming food in a convenient location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
“Lunch @ Soul Food Taihape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Always a nice place to go and have lunch, their Butter Chicken is the best , better than any I've tasted anyway.
And their Smoothies are the bomb.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua NZ
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Regular sto off!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Whenever we travel to the South - Welly, we stop off at the Soul, this is probably the most 'looked forward' part of our trip! It is fun and good food. The girls are charming, cheeky and happy, as if they really enjoy what they do, The food - including my favourite milk shake - the best value for money around. It makes our trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chiliwilinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was OK but couldn't say more that that. The food was ho hum, but the staff were lovely. There were also flies hanging around the food cabinet, so I opted for a toasted sandwich. My coffee was lukewarm which is always disappointing. Perhaps I should have asked for another, but the staff were very busy as the Taihape A&P Show was on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed soul food also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 

Been to soul food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing