We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop-off on SH1”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of soul food

soul food
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Taihape
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stop-off on SH1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were really pleased with Soul Cafe as a stop between Wellington and Taupo / Rotorua on the SH1 drive. Good selection of homemade foods - both ready to go and made to order. Good gluten-free range. Friendly people. And a cozy fire in the winter.

Oh - and a kids area too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast after doing Taupo Enduro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stopped off here after I'd completed the Taupo Enduro 320km cycle event the day before. I was so tired after the Eunduro, I feel asleep before eating anything so I was ravenous the following day.

The place has a real personal, family feel to it have the breakfast was magnificent. Large, well presented with a good choice of ingredients.

Service was a teeny bit slow but the place was buzzing and the lime shake was awesome. Soul food owners - well done guys a great little place you should be proud of yourselves.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickmeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland,
1 review
“A Must Visit in Taihape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you're travelling through Taihape, you've got to try the Soul Food cafe/restaurant. The food is wonderful and the servings generous, the staff are friendly, courteous and super-efficient and the service is second to none. Twelve cooked breakfasts served in record time, all came out at the same time, and still hot. If you're a chocoholic, order one of their hot chocolates. A week's worth of chocolate fix in one delicious mugful! I hope they somehow see this post. They well deserve the accolade. Thanks guys!

Norma

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A regular road trip break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Taihape is about right for a dinner stop if you leave Wellington after work heading north - which for us Is mostly skiing. The place gets our repeat business. We mostly go for the really simple things on the menu. The fish burgers are only $5 and come out pretty quickly. The bowls of fries are huge. We want somewhere fast to stop which isn't super expensive and isn't KFC. We tend to avoid the more proper meals because they take longer. I like how the place is obviously run by locals. They sell some art. They're friendly. This brings its own charm. The counter selection for lunch is appealing.

Helpful?
Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Soul cafe equals slow cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stopped on a Sunday morning for coffe and a bun. The mini date loaf was stale and I do not know about the coffee as it never arrived before I had to leave.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed soul food also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 

Been to soul food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing