We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul cafe equals slow cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of soul food

soul food
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Taihape
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kiwi
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Soul cafe equals slow cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stopped on a Sunday morning for coffe and a bun. The mini date loaf was stale and I do not know about the coffee as it never arrived before I had to leave.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great place to stop if driving between Rotorua and Wellington.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Since there isn't much option between Rotorua and Wellington, this is a great place to stop as it is right near the half-way mark. Very cool laid back atmosphere. Very creative array of sandwiches and breakfasts. Our sandwiches were delicious.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurocarpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Childrens meals are a huge hit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We went back twice as the meals are so good with many different choices-great breakfast-my kids enjoyed their soul food kiddie bags with ham sandwich, freshly cut apple, yoghurt and a small choc bar.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank gjm299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapiti
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food. Freezing cold place to eat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The food takes a while to get there but worth the wait. Steak sandwich: huge, fresh, chutney delicous and all looked great. Nachos which the kids had, they said were the best they ever had and at $10: a huge portion. Unfortunatly the kids nachos arrived ten minutes after our meals. Most annoying. The place was freezing. There was fire but they hadn't put it on and hadn't bothered to find a heater. Just becuse you're hot working in the kitchen, in the middle of winter your customers need to be warm.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBeasley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed soul food also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 

Been to soul food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing