We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aspen Court Taihape
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spacious, with a large bathroom, excellent water pressure, and very comfortable bed. Good cooking facilities for a studio unit. I see some reviewers complaining of noise but considering the Aspen is in between state highway 1 and the rail line, I found the room to be very quiet. Perhaps this was because I was in a middle unit. Overall, if I was to stay in Taihape again, I would stay at the Aspen.

Room Tip: Choose a middle unit if you want a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveBevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks DaveBevin for your positive comments.

All of our units contain sound glass and noise reducing insulation so it is pleasing to hear that you did not notice the road or train noise. Yes please do stay again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 461 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was an excellent motel. I would recommend this motel to anyone. The manager was very accommodating and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and very roomy. The spa bath was just what we needed after a long drive. The motel was on the main road but it was so quiet. The rooms were also very warm. Thank you very much Aspen Motel.

Room Tip: The Executive room with the spa bath was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarleneandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks DarleneandRichard for your lovely review.

You were a long way from home and it was a pleasure having you both stay with us so that you could break your journey. We look forward to seeing you again one day in the future. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Handy to everything (although Taihape isn't a large place!). Room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Extra pillows available to boost up to what ever comfort level you are use to. Reasonable selection of TV channels. Some traffic noise with the State Highway on one side and the railway on the other. 100MB of free WI-Fi available via zenbu.

Room Tip: First time here so I don't know what other options are available.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Hello Jim W

Many thanks for your positive comments. We look forward to you staying again with us next time you are passing through. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Even with the train tracks behind the unit - the room was peaceful, very clean and roomy. It was a rainy night and I had a cold so was grateful for the electric blanket
Room could have been warm on entry and has a spa bath - not built for comfort. We thought it a great motel - well priced for overnighters and a welcome alternative to Taupo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah and David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you Sarah & David H for your review.

Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to you staying again with us. We do have other studio rooms that do not have a shower over spa bath ie: they have a traditional shower. Also the Heat Pumps are normally switched on before people check in but maybe you caught our manager George by surprise as you were a Walk In.

Yes we are much better than Taupo in that we are easy to find, affordable and good quality. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Clean, comfy and friendly. Great room layout for families. Was able to put the kids to sleep and watch tv/talk without distirbing them. Fantastic water pressure and a cool playground :-)
A relaxing place to break a long trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0Baldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you J0Baldwin for taking the time to write this review.

Great to see you made use of all the amenities and were able to get the kids to sleep early and easily!

We look forward to seeing you again with us one day soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our attraction to booking this motel was initially purely because they allowed dogs - we have no option but to travel with our dogs, kennelling not being an option (I'm always surprised by how few hoteliers have any allowances for animals - do people with animals not ever travel or go on holiday?)
This is the perfect rest stop on any drive up north/south. The motel is on SH 1, spacious, very clean, high build quality and generally very pleasant. Good service & polite staff. Essentially, it is a very well run motel that I would describe as high end at a moderate price.
I would heartily recommend this motel.
I would doubly recommend this motel if you have your furry best mate with you.

...So why didn't it get 5 stars? There was a bunch of young hipsters with too much money travelling around Oceania in the motel room next to ours. I know all about where they are from and what they had been doing for the last couple of weeks as they talked about themselves and their oh-so wise and worldly views quite loudly. They sat outside and started to play the guitar at 10pm. I asked them to pipe down, which they did for 10 minutes. The reception is unmanned at late hours, which is understandable. So I had an option of kicking up a stink with our hoodlum neighbours (and no doubt find the car with slashed tyres in the morning), getting the motel owner out of bed using an emergency contact number, or calling the police (erm, yeah right). None of these are great options. So we just put up with it.
So my only criticism is some kind of enforcement of the quiet period that is supposed to be in place. Having said, I have no idea how to go about it or what the motel owner can do about it. Even motel owners are allowed to have lives! - so I don't think a 24/7 reception is realistic.
Unfair it may be, but a criticism nonetheless. I'm sure you won't have the same problems we did!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotorcycleTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you Motorcycle Trippers for your positive comments.

Please do tell us there and then about other guests that are causing you problems. If we do not know then we cannot do anything about them. You are more than welcome to call reception at any time if you have noisy neighbours. We want all of our guests to have a good nights sleep and we certaintly do not condone idiots keeping other guests awake with their noise. Don't put up with it and let us know.

We appreciate your other positive comments. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very family friendly 2 bedroom unit, we had 3 kids under 5yrs and they went straight to sleep it was brilliant - not noisy we are country people so not used to noise but found it very quiet. Extremely clean and at a great price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCoast710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thanks WestCoast710 for your nice words.

Always good to get those under 5's to sleep as soon as possible so glad we could accommodate. Those large 2 bedroom units with three single beds in the 2nd bedroom work well for families such as yourselves so thanks for the feedback.

Happy and safe travels.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taihape hotels
0 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
62 reviews
0 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
55 reviews
13.3 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gretna Hotel
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Taihape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Taihape

Address: 27 Mataroa Road | State Highway 1, Taihape 4742, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Price Range: $92 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspen Court Taihape 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Strategically located between Wellington and Auckland, Aspen Court Taihape provides a comfortable and pleasant break for an affordable price. It is an ideal place to break your journey or use as a base to explore the beautiful Rangitikei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Aspen Court Taihape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing