We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aspen Court Taihape
Nearby Hotels
Coachman Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
$59
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marton Motel(Marton)
$78
$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
345
131
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
131
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathexcellent motelheat pumpstayed heregood sizelarge unitthe main highwaygreat place to staypleasant staycomfortable accommodationconvenient locationmanor restaurantideal stopoverstate highwaystay there againdouble glazingfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 487 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stopped overnight at the Aspen Court on our way south. We can certainly agree with all the positive things said by others about this accommodation. We too found it spacious and spotlessly clean. The only aspect that we noticed but it may have been a one off was that the shower temperature fluctuated during use and got very hot. Overall we think that this is an excellent, restful place to spend a stop over in Taihape

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you Allan O for your nice review.

It is always nice to see somebody like yourself take the time to write positive comments about our property. The hot water issue worries me though as that should not be happening.

We have a reticulated hot water system whereby our gas fired hot water cylinders/boilers supply the entire motel complex and are all set at the same temperature....keeping the standby water at around 59 to 62 degrees celcius. Each motel unit has a branch off this reticulated line with a temepering valve to reduce the water temperature to say 55 celcius degrees as it enters the motel unit. There may well be an issue with your units tempering valve but without knowing which unit you stayed in makes it hard for us to look further into the problem. Are you able to let George know which unit it was? Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Aspen Court Motel once again on Saturday 25 January 2014 and found the room to be spotless and well equipped for our needs.
This motel is always our first (and only) choice when staying in Taihape as the rooms are clean and spacious, and the motel is very handy to the township.
The thing that impressed me most was the notice advising that all the beds and linen are sanitized to the highest standards, and inspected regularly by an independent company. With all the recent publicity about bed bugs and various other ghastly findings in some motel accommodation, it was enormously reassuring to know that Aspen Court has such concern for the well-being of their guests.
Thank you, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you thejos for your positive review.

It is great you noticed that we have a pro-active policy in respect of bed bugs and other nasty's that do pervade many establishments these days. We fully encase our bed bases with zip locker Protect-A-Bed covers that prevent any bug making its home there. Furthermore we have sniffer dogs frequent the property every three months to ensure we are free of bugs. This is in addition to the sanitising of beds, mattresses, pillows, carpet etc that we do as a matter of course. It is a costly program to be part of but it provides us with an insurance policy and gives guests such as yourselves quality peace of mind.

We actually run this program in all of our motels ie: Aspen Court Taihape, Aspen Court Kaikoura, Aspen Court Franz Josef and Aoraki Court Mt Cook Village.

We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The motel is modern, clean and well appointed. The owners let themselves down however with their attitude regarding the portacot. The woman helpfully put it up in the bedroom for us. But when we decided it would be better to have our toddler and baby in separate rooms, we tried to move it and were unable to dismantle it ourselves. Because we didn't want to damage it or the paintwork on the doorframe we went to the office to ask the owners to move it to the other room for us. We were given a lecture by the gentleman in the office about how mothers often change their minds about where their babies should sleep. The owner said we would have to move it ourselves, which we did. We also found it odd that the woman suggested we hang soiled nappies outside in a bag rather than letting us use our judgment. Due to this poor service we stayed at Taihape Motels on our return trip where we found the service much better and more family friendly even though that motel was much more old fashioned.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you Anon A for your review.

I am disappointed to hear of your experience with our managers in respect of the portacot supplied to you. I understand they were both busy with other guests when you requested it be moved but that is no excuse for perceived poor customer service. Your comments reinforce the need for all of our guests to be treated to the same high standard we aspire to.

We are pleased you had no issue with the amentities provided.

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent price for top quality room. Great beds! Taihape more a stop over town, not much there or in the near vicinity. Great atmosphere for BBQ dinner outside in the well presented grassed area. Kids area visible from most rooms too

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyhump01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you Ladyhump01 for your review.

It is great to hear your expectations were exceeded and that you feel you received great value for what you paid. Yes we are more of a stopover rather than a destination but next time you come through stay two nights with us and explore the area. There are a lot of stunning localities surrounding Taihape which most people never get a chance to visit....and of course nice cafes in the town.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Twice now we have stayed here on our way to Auckland. From Wgtn it is enough of a distance to put a big dent in your travelling time with still being able to leave home later in the day. The rooms would be up with the best for cleanliness and comfort (we travel a lot and are very fussy). The resident cat Charlie is a purrrfect addition to the friendly welcome and we will certainly stay there again and recommend other to do the same!

Room Tip: No need - they are all great as is the cooked breakfast
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter and Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you Peter and Mary G for your review.

Our staff are dedicated in providing super clean rooms in addition to our Hygiene policy which is independently audited by Pro Tek Systems. Its great to hear you appreciated this and took the time say this on Trip Advisor. Thank you.

We look forward to you staying again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews