We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern & clean - lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspen Court Taihape
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Certificate of Excellence
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Modern & clean - lovely!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

On route from Wellington to Auckland we stayed one night here. The unit was very modern and clean - wonderful and way above expectations for a provincial town motel. The only thing that was a slight negative was being on State Highway 1 means there was a bit of truck noise throughout the night, but otherwise a great place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello VictoriaS, thank you for your review.

We are glad you left overwhelmed by our motel. Whilst Taihape is provincial New Zealand that does not mean it cannot have first rate accommodation. The State Highway has always presented a challenge and we have tried to mitigate any road nosie by way of extra insulation in the ceilings and walls and noise glass. We look forward to you returning one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    116
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
135
172
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We looked after our 3 grandsons while son and daughter organised shift from Waiouru to Ashhurst. Lovely unit but fridge and tv need updating. We were informed by the very friendly proprietors that was on the cards in the new year. The kids loved the spa bath and the play area!
Would definitely recommend this motel - wonderful views from the park across the road was a bonus.

Room Tip: Unit 8 was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeemerBoyF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you BeemerBoyF650 for your comments.

Yes we agree our original units which are now ten years old are due for a refurbishment. That will be happening very shortly. Glad to hear your grandkids made full use of our facilties. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Traveling north from Wellington to Hamilton we decided to break the journey halfway in Taihape. We phoned ahead at 7.00pm and requested a room and advised that we would be there in approx one and a half hours. Nothing was too much for the relief managers (on the night) and they arranged everything as if it was an everyday occurrence. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ideally book one of the rooms at the rear of the complex and away from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmckain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you davidmckain for your glowing review of Aspen Court Taihape. It is really pleasing to hear that our managers (and relief managers) are going out of their way to make guests feel welcome and treasured. One of our goals is to increase repeat business and by having a good experience will hopefully mean you will return again. We look forward to seeing you next time you are driving north or south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had booked eight rooms here as our family were getting together for a birthday celebration. George couldn't have been more helpful and two in our party were upgraded to bigger rooms so they were happy! Myself, I was in a studio unit and it was lovely. We specifically stayed here as we knew how noisy SH1 could be but the units had double glazing - and it was awesome! We arrived back at the units at 11pm and it was very cold outside but the units were incredibly warm - and we had no heating on. Great sized bathrooms. Lovely little grass area and playground which we used. Very handy to town. This place was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello famadven, many thanks for your positive review. It is great to hear that everything worked out well for you and your family. The grassed play area and rockery at the centre of the complex is great for kids/families as well as people sitting having a quiet drink at the picnic tables provided. The rooms are well insulated and heated so are always nice and toasty inside...Taihape can get cold at night! We look forward to seeing either you or any of your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This motel is always spic and span, exceptionally clean and the large rooms give a feeling of very economical luxury. The newer rooms have flat screened TVs and good reception. Wonderful relaxing pastoral views from some of the rooms with sheep and cows. Beds are very comfortable. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks Viaggio46 for your great review. You are probably aware that we run a hygiene program and pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the complex. Our studio units are much larger than the average motel room and as a result people feel much more relaxed having the extra space...there is no cramped feeling. It will be great to have you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This motel markets itself on its cleanliness and it really is spotless. Good sized room with small kitchen area (fridge, sink, microwave, crockery), very comfortable beds, immaculately clean bathroom with good bench space and nice shower. We had a room near the front of the motel and on the second night this was a problem as the trucks on the highway (the motel sits between the highway and the railway) were non-stop and while the rooms are stated to have been fitted with sound proof insulation and noise glass these features simply did not cope. It was better on the night when the trucks were less but there was still no possibility of having the windows open. The motel is a little way from the town centre, but there is a cafe/takeaway, the Gum Boot two doors down the road, which serves nice plain food in quite enormous quantities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you SMTas for your review.

We are pleased that you could not fault our cleanliness and facilities. I am sorry the trucks did not play their part in your stay. We have again approached the local police and asked that they monitor traffic speed along Mataroa Road more regularly. Whilst the noise glass in the windows works well, when we refurbish the rooms we will be adding to the insulation levels in the ceiling to further quiten the road noise.

Glad to hear you enjoyed Taihape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Heading from Wellington to Otorohanga on our motorcycle and after a few sightseeing stops, realised we would be very late home, so decided to break the journey. Whilst having a very late lunch in the Mothered Goose Cafe in Bulls (excellent by the way) we used my smartphone to check out Trip Advisor accommodation on route.

This place had so many rave reviews we just had to try it and we're glad we did. After a cold day on the bike the hot spa bath was a dream.

We generally stay in Qualmark motels graded 4+ or 5 as we find the grade 4's a bit hit or miss. We can't understand why this is a 4*? It is easily 4+ and not far from a 5. We will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFLUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaniwi, Owner at Aspen Court Taihape, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello JohnFLUB

Thank you for your rave review! That is great feedback and you are correct in affirming the benefit of Trip Advisor. Without it you most probably would have overlooked Aspen Court Taihape and we would remain a secret to you.

We agree with your Qualmark comments. Whilst we have attained a solid 4 Star rating there are aspects we feel should be rated more highly eg: cleanliness and bed/sleep quality. Qualmark take into account things we lack such as conference facilities and drying rooms.

The other great thing for us is how much you valued our older units. These are now ten years old and due for their refurbishment. This was going to happen this year but we have been very busy building our new flagship property (Aoraki Court Motel) at Mt Cook Village. We will be refurbishing these original units March/April 2013.

We look forward to your next stay with us. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taihape
0.0 mi away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
13.3 mi away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mairenui Rural Retreat
Mairenui Rural Retreat
#383 of 1,259 in North Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Taihape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Taihape

Property: Aspen Court Taihape
Address: 27 Mataroa Road | State Highway 1, Taihape 4742, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Taihape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspen Court Taihape 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOK DIRECT - BEST PRICE. Strategically located between Wellington and Auckland, Aspen Court Taihape provides a comfortable and pleasant break for an affordable price. It is an ideal place to break your journey or use as a base to explore the beautiful Rangitikei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aspen Court Taihape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing